We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe at Luxor in Mara House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Safe at Luxor in Mara House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recently visited Egypt and spent a week in Luxor. While there I stayed at Mara House and was very pleased and welcomed. I loved the house and Mara's service was outstanding. I was there during the month of August and always felt safe and absolutely in no danger whatsoever. It was such an enjoyable place to visit. The temples, the Sook (marketplace) was a great place to find wonderful handcrafted items and great bargains.

Mara's House was so beautifully furnished and I enjoyed tremendously my breakfast every morning as well as the wealth of information that Mara could provide of Luxor and Egypt in general.

Room Tip: Beautiful and spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedheadedLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    53
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
159
69
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mara is a very unique hostess. Her determination and skills of matriarchal wisdom resound with dogmatic focus. The digs are very clean and, the building as a fortress is very secure. The neighborhood is another story. The House is located away from the hustle and bustle of hotel and history "strip." The breakfast is above par, and bountiful. You may arrange for tours along the other side of the Nile where the archaeology mainly abounds and, you may take a taxi to Karnak and Luxor Temple complex on the city side... With the affairs current as of 2013, who knows if the water runs, the sewers drain or the power comes on with the flip of a switch.....

Room Tip: Good Luck......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDFS333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I strongly recommend this hotel. Not only is a beatiful place, with a delicious and well served breakfast, but also its owner is a lovely person. She organized everything to me in Luxor. Tours, transportation, guide, everything. Mara made things easier. I felt like at home. I learned a lot. Visit LUXOR. Go MARA HOUSE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

a woderful experience. Mara is a great owner and she was able to satisfy all our desires. she provived food even if the restaurant was closed, organized a complete tour of luxor and was ready to respond quickly to our every request for change from our arrival to airport to our departure.
the b&b is clean, well furnished, quiet and in a neighborhood of the "real" luxor.
Mara, we hope to see you soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruno s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My son and I really enjoyed our short one-night stay at the end of June 2013. We were the only guests at the time as tourism has suffered so much since the Revolution but verything was calm - too calm - Luxor was like a ghost town everywhere - apparently only a 3% occupancy rate these days. GO TO LUXOR!!!

Everything in Luxor was just a short and inexpensive taxi ride away. We had no time for tours when we were there, but when I asked for info about a massage, Mara appeared with her cell phone and a spa on the other end of the line, and had negotiated a discount. Everything was just so easy.

The room was huge and clean - the suite had a separate airconditioned bedroom off a main sitting room which had a small kitchen as well. The price of the room was incredibly good value. The fridge was stocked with an assortment of drinks and snacks at extremely reasonable prices.

Mara is very engaging, and we spent a good amount of time talking about Egyptian politics, which were heating up again when we were there. She also described a very interesting project she was working on with the Souk vendors for a No Hassle shopping experience for tourists - something which will be very welcome.

We could have stayed anywhere in Luxor, but I wouldn't have changed places for anything - it was much more interesting at Mara House.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubakjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at mara house about three years ago if not longer and we will return without a doubt. Mara house is clean beautiful relaxed and charming and the owner more helpful than many i have seen before. One of my most beautiful memories of this place was sitting on the roof top terrace with a drink listning to the whistle of the old trains. What perfect nights those were looking up at the moon. Luxor itself is a must so please do go to this hidden gem
In the heart of luxor

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboop003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family of six stayed at Mara House for four nights. I am glad we took the tour package because other tour operators charge more or less the same, and they take you shopping and you probably get suckered into buying some thing or the other. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean with an included sitting area. The breakfast was simple and adequate.
There is an informational booklet in the room that gives you valuable advice and has a price list of items found in the fridge which we found fair and reasonable.
Mara and her crew - Amr the manager, Mohammed the excellent Egyptologist guide, Mahmood our taxi driver (his car can accommodate 6 pax) made us feel at home. Mahmood would change his music from Arabic to Celine Dion all four nights we took his cab to keep us entertained - which was nice of him :) Cost of taxi was about LE 25 per trip. Mara and her team can arrange and take care of anything that you need and this is what sets Mara House apart from the rest. Overall we had a great, great, great time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SyedCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Property: Mara House
Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing