We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“ALWAYS PERFECT....more than 5 STAR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sheherazade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sheherazade
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“ALWAYS PERFECT....more than 5 STAR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

As always even better than my previous stays....hotel, service, food and perfect extra tours and trips were created by a brilliant staff and team. Anything and everything you ask for is created. It is a brilliant base on the West Bank- my group of sixteen loved every minute. It just takes you right away from boring tourism...into a unique West bank experience to see more of real and authentic Egypt life. It was fantastic. I am visiting next month again...the kindness of the hotel is incredible..the service more than five star!

Room Tip: every type of room to suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACEYASH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    54
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
53
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel Sheherazade is a welcoming, clean and well looked after hotel, full of charm and efficiently run by a dedicated staff who are always happy to help. My room was spotless and I loved the fun ways my daily clean towels were folded like origami - an original design each day! Brilliantly located close to the river on the west bank, I loved sitting on the roof overlooking the Nile and listening to the call to prayer each day. A really wonderful stay and I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is truly stunning but not offered by mainstream booking sites - it has its own website and worth looking at - rooms are very clean and very cheap but the experience is way beyond anything you'd find in a faceless western hotel and it's also set on the west bank away from the main tourist traps on the other side of the Nile. Access to west bank is quick via local ferry and the hotel is 5 mins away from the ferry terminal.

The staff are friendly and helpful and speak excellent English - you'll enjoy this and can't recommend it highly enough !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritGirl617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have spent 3 weeks in this new West Bank hotel and felt at home and happy there. In summary: 1. Basic,clean and beautiful AC rooms with spacious bath rooms adorned with marble counters and huge mirrors, all twin rooms have high vaulted ceilings! 2. Green grounds with 100-old palm trees, birds and insects singing at evenings. 3. Daily cleaning and sheets changing . 4. Courteous attendance and laid-back atmosphere You can not find in a chain hotel. 5. Strategic location, 5 minutes from the ferry and the road to the Valley of the Kings. Actually it's a luxurious retreat for a group of like-minded travellers, friends, couples and solos. And the magnificent views from the roof! Serene and peaceful...

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if You a couple reserve the one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArinaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel on West side of the Nile, away from the bustle of East Luxor but also convenient for the ferry (1 LE). Really nice, bright, simple rooms with fan, aircon and good bathrooms around a lovely garden. Staff very helpful and courteous. Incredibly good value, absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longtalljohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

As a solo traveller I am always looking for places that offer basic and affordable yet clean rooms. At Hotel Sheherazade I got all that plus a 'local' experience. If you are looking for a place that's not touristy and puts you in the heart of a local community, definitely stay here on the West bank and out of the hassle and fuss that you get on the East bank whilst still being very close. You are actually very close to all the West bank sites and you can just take the ferry straight across the Nile and you are at Luxor Temple!
Mohammed, Christine, Nubi, Hasan and all the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home and part of the family. They were a great help in dealing with the airline when my luggage didn't turn up and also organized anything and everything that I wanted to do and see.
Everyone is really struggling over here at the moment with a lack of tourists, so if you were ever considering coming to Egypt, now is a great time to do it and you will be incredibly well looked after by all at Hotel Sheherazade.
Next time I'm in Luxor I will be coming back to stay at the Sheherazade and visiting my new found friends!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We can't find words good enough to express how wonderful the experience of staying in this hotel was. It is so warm and welcoming that you feel like at home. The staff was above all friendly and helpful, they treated us like royalty. Rooms are very clean and nice, equipped with AC, fan and fridge. Although we stayed out of season and we were only guests at the time, full service was given to us 24 hours a day. They really care about every guest and give all effort to satisfy you in your every need.
Location is very charming, because this part of Luxor is actually still a village starting to develop only in recent years. This gives you a chance to meet a lot of local people and their everyday life. Everybody on the west bank is really proud and happy to hear that you stay in their village and they all try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It is also more peaceful than the east bank so you can really relax and get a good night sleep. Another pro is that you are near the Valley of the Kings and other sights on the west bank which proves very practical.
When we come back to Luxor, our home will again be hotel Sheherazade! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina_zg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#18 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 58 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.1 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#17 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheherazade

Property: Hotel Sheherazade
Address: Gezira El Bairat | West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sheherazade 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheherazade is ideally located far from crowds & noise, an oasis of calm in a green & shady garden. The building, in the style of Hassan Fathy, reflects the designs evoked in The Book of a Thousand and One Nights, Sheherazade being the name of the beautiful storyteller. As well as local tours, the hotel is pleased to offer desert safaris and Nile cruises on its own sailing boat, Sindbad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheherazade Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing