We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and friendly staff”
Review of Philae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great value and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A great place to stay on the Corniche in Aswan - we were very happy to be upgraded to a Nile view room. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff very friendly. The only criticism was the slowness of the wifi which was only really accessible in the doorway of the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    127
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
120
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is such a brilliant place to stay if you find yourself in Aswan. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and are happy to help you out with anything you need, but we were never hassled with offers of trips like the other places. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable, and if you get a room with a Nile view, the view is spectacular. Breakfast is included and although not a buffet it is pretty good. It's such a pity that with the downturn in tourist numbers this place is almost empty. Next time I am in Aswan I will definitely return to Philae hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wjc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

i stayed for one night in march 2014 in an ac room with privat bathroom. the room had a good size and a very tasteful design with an egyptian touch (without over decorating!). it had a big and comfortable double bed with quality blankets and bedsheets. the nice and very clean bathroom had a window towards the bedroom and a bathtube. wifi was available in the room as well as a flat screen tv with a few international channels. my room had a balcony facing the corniche and therefore nile view. breakfast was served in the restaurant on the first floor (bread, butter, jam, cheese, boiled egg, falafel with tomatoe and cucumber slices, joghurt, fresh fruit, piece of packed cake, coffee/tea). the female staff at the reception was very friendly and a welcomed change for me as a solo travelling women. the hotel offers you cool mineralwater and fresh fruits at arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the Philae hotel and felt like home. The ladies at the reception were super helpful and friendly. We had a beautiful and clean room with view on the Nile. Also booked a trip to Abu Simbel at the hotel which was arranged very quickly and great breakfast boxes were provided.
Cannot think of any reason why not to stay at Philae.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Nile (and I have heard that not every floor has renovated, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marloesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vence, france
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had only one night at the Philae, but will be visiting Aswan again, and will certainly stay there. A pleasant spacious room, clean and comfortable, with a splendid view. Good restaurant, and very agreeable and helpful reception girls.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howard661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located and the room very clean and comfortable. The service was great - they were able to pick me up at the trains station and provided hibiscus tea and fresh fruit. They also provided a breakfast box for my Abu simbel trip. When my friend canceled going with me to Egypt, when I arrived, the staff offered to put me in the single instead of the original double to save me money, was definitely the only time in Egypt a hospitality service rep tried to save me money instead of upsell me. Also, when I forgot a power adapter for my electronics, the front desk worker was kind enough to run out and buy me one and wouldn't even accept repayment. I would absolutely recommend Philae to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a party of friends before boarding our Nile River Boat cruise.

As many others have said the quality of service is excellent. The staff were very helpful from before we arrived with handling multiple bookings and arranging airport pick ups. They were very charming.

The rooms are quite small and a bit run down - so fine for a night or so but if I was to want a base for longer I would choose somewhere else.

The breakfasts were an amusing and eclectic mix.

Overall it was a good budget hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.9 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philae Hotel

Property: Philae Hotel
Address: 79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#3 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Philae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philae Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing