We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute”
Review of Philae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Philae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Cairo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice family run hotel with a professional service. Owner is very friendly. Cool refurbished entrance and rooms, there is no elevator but long halls of rooms with a unique arabesque design. Nice location in the middle of the city so everything is just a nice walk away, nice opposite so you can just hope on a boat. Market/souq very close to visit.
I encourage to eat out and explore the picturesque nile city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaAbuElDahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    126
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
120
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I don't often write reviews, but I have not forgotten the fantastic Philae hotel in Aswan and believe it deserves a review since when researching Aswan accommodation I was fairly disappointed at almost everything I read about the options. We are a family of five, with very young children (at the time of our stay aged 5, 4 and 2), and Aswan was our last stop after a 5 day Nile cruise in April 2013.
From the outside, the hotel looks large and bland (as do many, if all in Aswan), and dusty! But inside it is very clean. We had booked 2 rooms online as they did not have one 'family' room big enough or two adjoining rooms. With children the ages of ours, hotels are always a bit problematic, but we had booked two rooms and on arrival the hotel manager immediately 'upgraded ' is to the ?presidential? suite plus the next door double room. This amounted to one very spacious and comfortable double room with and adjacent living room with TV and kitchen diner. This proved invaluable for us in terms of entertaining the children but also allowed for a late room service dinner (very good) pre-ordered before a night visit to the sound and light show at Philae and served on our return.
The breakfast was magnificent with lots of choice for the children. The staff were all very nice. And we had (small) balconies looking over the Nile for a beer with a view, once the kids were in bed.
The price for all this? About $150. Really very good quality and comfort for that price. I'm so glad we didn't splash out for rooms at the Old Cataract, which looked none too special anyway (unless you need a sauna).
The other great advantage of this hotel is that it's on the main drag, so you can pop out and trail the streets / visit a restaurant on the Nile without any need for a taxi etc.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A balcony looking over the Nile is worth the small premium. If you have kids, ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KZLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Took the train from Luxor to Aswan. It was about a 10 minute ride from the train station to the hotel. The manager was very nice. The rooms were ok. We had a Nile view although it was partially blocked by a ferry docked on the Nile. There were no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and the towels were beyond worn. Not great water pressure while attempting to take a shower with a nozzle. We had dinner in the small hotel restaurant. During the meal preparation the hotel lost electricity (Not specific to the hotel because the lights were off as far as you could see. I asked the manager how could the meal be prepared without electricity and he said not to worry they had other options. The meal tasted good but the next day my son became very ill with diarrhea and vomiting. We were on our way to another destination. We finally got there and our driver immediately took us to a pharmacy where we could get medication for our son.

While in Aswan we attempted to go to the market which was less than a block from the hotel but we were haggled too much so we had to go back to the hotel. It was unfortunate because we wanted to make some purchases but it was impossible. We had been all over Egypt and was able to overcome this but it was a bit too much in Aswan.

The Philae temple was not too far so we took the boat out to visit this site. This was very nice? Also, our driver picked us up at 3:30 in the morning and we joined the convoy on a trip to Abu Simbel. That was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to be accommodated last minute into Philae hotel as the overnight sleeper was cancelled.
We had a family room for 4 which was good. What was impressive was the lady owner, all the other ladies in the reception, kitchen etc, they were all so helpful. Best falafel we'd eaten anywhere in the world and the cakes at breakfast were so yummy!
They created such a wonderful memory through that one night for my children that just saying thanks to the team is not enough. I am sure if we are back in Aswan, we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandarKulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First, let me be clear and honest: we did not stay in the Philae. What we did do was have lunch here and start talking with the hotel manager. She helped us book a tour to Abu Simbel and later a felucca toward Luxor. She made sure that we were satisfied and happy. Really above and beyond the efforts of our actual hotel. Made us wished we had stayed here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mattf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Aswan is one of my favorite place in Egypt. My visit to Aswan i prefer to stay in Philae, and was very satisfied. The Staff is so accommodating, and helpful. The hotel is situated in the best view of Nile, where in the afternoon you will enjoy its tranquility and the horizon colors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was in a good location, had a very helpful staff, and a good breakfast. The air conditioning worked very well. The room had a lovely view overlooking the Nile. The touts in the area (throughout Egypt really) are very bothersome though you can't fault the hotel for that. Keep an eye on your money. Husband almost got pickpocketed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.9 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philae Hotel

Property: Philae Hotel
Address: 79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#3 Family Hotel in Aswan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Philae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philae Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing