We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, accomodating staff make this hotel special”
Review of Sara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sara Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Beautifully situated high on a promontory overlooking the Nile, Sara Hotel offers a truly relaxing stay, just minutes from Aswan center. The immaculately clean rooms, some with private balconies and stunning views, are spacious and comfortable, and there is a large, inviting swimming pool. The complimentary breakfast is quite good, as is the hotel restaurant, which has a terrace for outside dining. There is an hourly shuttle to and from town, or, if one prefers, taxis are always available at nominal cost. What makes Sara Hotel special, however, are the staff, from housekeeping to reception, more than helpful, hospitable, anxious to ensure a guest has a pleasant stay. Several reasonably priced excursions are on offer; or, for something further afield, magnificent Kom Ombo, overwhelming Edfu, inquire at reception - manager Helmy Mourad is very experienced in this regard. Again, the staff make Sara Hotel truly unique!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

Stayed here for a week while passing through Egypt - it was a very nice surprise to find very clean rooms in good order - bright, airy with air-con.
The cleaning staff do a great job and all of the hotel staff are really friendly, and the manager was especially helpful in assisting with some business we needed to attend to in our onward travel.
Our room had a nice view of the Nile, the swimming pool is spotless and large, there is a good bar and food - we were driving through Egypt and found the large guarded car park on site very useful. I would be more than happy to visit here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlewisBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

After 10 days in Egypt & some spotty hotels, we arrived in Aswan. Finding the Sara was a bit of luck as it was a bit out of town (but walking distance & with shuttle van). Great view-nice rooms-quiet and hassle-free-great breakfast-and no hustle-when we lacked a tour guide to the Nubian village (not a great place but worth seeing) Helmy Mourad, the hotel manager, took us himself. We were two single middle-aged traveling together and we were not hustled at all there-A great place, comfortable, safe, beautiful pool and poolside bar & restaurant-and very reasonably priced-Thanks-every at Sara's.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbjmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Location is perfect - great views over the Nile valley. Rooms are OK and clean.
But:... management is absolutely poor!
Seems that there is no supervision at all at the reception - may be intentionally, because of off-the-record payments going on.
Receipts for service one does not get: the receipt books are simply gone.
On check-in, I declared I would pay by credit card.
At check-out, the machine for the Mastercard payment did not work and I had to pay cash. "Coincidently" a man just walked around the reception - being the CEO of the place - who told me it must be a problem with my credit card...
Only after insisting hours, I was given a receipt for my cash payment: a typed receipt with no booking numbers of which I can only conclude it does not go to book-keeping and taxes.
Conclusion: this place, the Sara hotel, has problems with its bookkeeping. The only way to break even is with off-the-record-payments from their guests.
As a 3 day-guest, I do have problems with that and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiesAllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Me and my husband wanted a decent price hotel that will serve the deed for 2 nights in Aswan. Yet we wanted it to be clean and close to downtown.
Sara hotel might not be a posh hotel yet it's clean and the staff do their best to help you.

They were very friendly, each and everyone of them. We arrived very early in the morning and although they didn't have our reservation written down, they were more then fast to find us a room. When we saw the room, we asked to change it for a better view one. They were more than happy to show us another and another till we made up our mind. I just loved that.
The staff speak English but bare in mind it's not their first language so don't get carried away speaking too fast. They will help you by all means.

The hotel has a beautiful calm yet natural view. There's no much work done to the river bank in front of the hotel but you wouldn't ask for more than nature's work!

Rooms are good, clean and there's a huge terrace for some of the rooms.

The pool's size is very good yet the water was so cold. My husband and other people were okay to take a swim in it but it was just too cold for me although the weather was sunny, warm and beautiful.

Breakfast is good and has a lot of the Egyptian dishes that will fill you up.
We tried lunch there and it was really good.

There's a mini van the hotel provides that can take you downtown. It's scheduled to go downtown every hour but it felt like a private van for us and other guests. We took the drivers number and whenever we wanted to go back from downtown to the hotel, we'd call up the driver who would give use an estimate time to pick us up. That was AMAZING.

After searching the wen and before we arrived we have called the hotel up to ask about tour deals and they offered us a name and number of a tour guide. We called him up and his prices were pretty decent. We thought we'd try him for one day and then decide. He arranged a private car for us.

Day 1: The unfinished Obelisk, the high dam, Philae Temple, a felouka ride in the river nile to the Botanical Garden and the Nubian Village. He explained to us in English in amazing details, he was very nice and friendly and answered all our questions.

His name is 'Eslam' and his email is: [--]
You can also reach him on [--]
We decided to have Islam as our tour guide the rest of our trip even in Luxor.
Don't miss out on visiting Abou Simbel. It's 300 km away from Aswan but it's worth it. And with regards to Luxor, never miss the West Bank.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaksisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I booked our first Egypt accommodation at Sara Hotel, from a recommendation in the Lonely Planet Guide. During our 4 night stay, all the staff, including the manager, were warm and welcoming, always willing to recommend and arrange visits and excursions for us. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Aswan who wants a quiet, restful oasis away from the bustle of the central city. The view over the Nile from our room was stunning! - Dharan & Noeline

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I contacted Helmy Mourad at the Sara hotel who was tremendous at helping us to get a shuttle van to Abu Simbel. He went above and beyond in helping us.
Hotel was comfortable and provided transportation around town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.5 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.4 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Hotel

Address: El Fanadek Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range: $45 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing