We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Hotel in Aswan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sara Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Luxor, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel in Aswan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We recently stayed at the Sara Hotel in Aswan, while seeing the sights and waiting for space on the ferry to Sudan.

The Sara is about 2 km south of the centre of Aswan, so nicely out of the hustle and bustle but they do operate a regular free shuttle bus. The hotel is spacious and the rooms very clean. The pool overlooks the 1st cataract and the western desert, so a stunning position. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and made us all feel exceptionally at home.

Above all the general manager Mr Helmy Mourad is very well connected in Aswan and helped us significantly with his local advise. We would thoroughly recommend the Sara be it for a couple of nights or a more extended stay.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cartmel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
16
26
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed here on my own, being a lone mid 20s girl travelling can be difficult at times but the Sara Hotel was lovely!

The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful!

I started in a very small twin room but the manager upgraded me to a very large room over looking the nile and pool as there were not many guests staying in the hotel, it was such a nice gesture and I did not have to pay any extra money!

The pool was well kept, the food was nice and the shuttle bus to the town was very helpful!

There was also a computer with internet access and the breakfast included in the price was very nice!

Although The Sara is a small journey from the toen centre its a hidden treasure and I would recommend this to my friends and family! Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Love2Travel691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Arrived by car from Luxor and taken to room by a lovely guy. The room was great - lovely view on the Nile - obviously very quiet given that not many tourists. Had a lovely welcome from the local kids in the swimming pool ! Lovely lady at reception explained the shuttle bus - it worked fine. Had dinner in the restaurant - i was alone so got personal service - the food was delicious. I spent the night en route from Aswan to Abu Simbel - the people were wonderful and if i have the luck to go back to Aswan one day -will check this hotel - which ticked all the boxes for me. shukran ! xx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny75Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Recently returned from Egypt, we spent 3 night at this hotel. It was in a quiet location with a great view of the nile from the swimming pool. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff polite and helpful. Breakfast was very filling. The hotel was very quiet and the furnishings abit tired. However would def reccommend for a family as has a relaxed, informal feel about it.
The hotel runs an hourly shuttle service from the town centre, or we usually paid 2 pounds for all of us by taxi. Def recomment a trip to a bedouin village and a chill out on a felucca and some relax time on the sand dunes on the west side of the Nile.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

i enjoyed my stay in this hotel so nice view of the nile.and so nice staf really i like them way
because they make as friend not as guest . now write this spicaly for my best friend (Hossam) reception man as i told him i will never forget you hoss and also Mr mourad
the genral manger was very frindly with us

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Sara Hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms with balconies which provide great views of the Nile. The location, removed from the town center on the top of a hill, is a bit of a hassle, but the hotel does run a regular shuttle bus to town. The service provided by the front desk attendant and the hotel manager was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

friendly and helpful staff;
decent and reasonably priced food;
the reason for choosing the hotel is the view;
unfortunately the view is ruined by the mushrooming on the river banks of architectural monsters similar to the hotel itself;
every night of our stay was disturbed by the excessive noise of the nightclub by the swimming pool (just under the balcony);
hotel is similarly bad to other hotels in aswan at this price range;

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.4 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.9 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Hotel

Property: Sara Hotel
Address: El Fanadek Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing