We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great budget hotel, great service, very clean”
Review of Keylany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keylany Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Friendly staff, roomy, clean rooms and bathroom. A very nice place to stay. Great rooftop terrace for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooreczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Keylany Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2010

You can't beat the price of this place. We paid $24US per night for a double. The pros about the place are: it's in a good location, just off the corniche, the breakfasts was very good, there's a roof top lounge area to hang out on (breakfast is served up there) complete with 10 foot diameter above ground pool jammed into one corner. It didn't have any water in it, but I'm assuming they fill it up for summer. The front desk staff was very friendly. They have satellite TV in the room. The cons are: the place is about average on the cleanliness scale for the middle east but again, the price can make you overlook that. The towels and the bedding are not cleaned in between guests. Our bed sheets were not just stained but covered in hair from the last guy who slept there. The towels were moldy and smelt like a wet dog, one of them still wreaked of cologne from the last person who used it, definitely not washed before being reused on us. We opted to drip dry and use our own dirty t-shirts to wipe off. The price of the taxi to the airport the front desk arranged was expensive: 60EP, we got it for 40EP the next day on our own off the corniche. Our room had one tiny window, which, as it turns out was a blessing since it helped muffle the 5am call to prayer from right across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebruddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The niceness to price ratio is good here. Plumbing needs work, but that was true in every place we stayed in Egypt, so that's not surprising. Across the street from a mosque, so earplugs (to avoid being woken at 4:45am by the call to prayer) are important.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Some unacceptable trash on our bedspreads upon check in (including a sewing needle ready to stab someone if we hadn't spotted and removed it).

We felt misled as to where tours would stop and how long they would stop for. But, tours were still at the cheaper end of the pre-arranged game - and none of them are perfect.

Good location. Paid 136 LE a night in Jan 2010. Water at hotel was 2.5LE. Abu Simbel was 60LE, 70LE with some stops on the return trip (we got Philae, Aswan High Dam, and unfinished obelisk). 95LE bus to Luxor with shorter stops than advertised at Kom Ombo and Edfu.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJF1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Exceedingly personable desk staff bent over backwards to help us with rooms, left luggage and advice. The roof-top area provided an atmospheric spot for the delicious breakfast and general relaxing. Water available at reception!
Wifi works well in rooms, which are basic and reasonably clean - but the microscopic shower stalls ensure that the shower curtain will cling to you most unpleasantly.
Pleasant walk to river-side restaurants, and very close to the souk. Beware the vendors of Aswan as they are much more aggressive than Cairo and buying was twice as expensive and half as pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The hotel is very clean and friendly, the breakfast is very good and you eat it on the nice rooftop. The internet is free of charge with own laptop, and the position is ok. Excellent price for all of this!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Ok the towels do smell a little bit and the showers are really tiny... but the staff an hotel make up for this in other ways. The staff is incredibly friendly, and can speak a variety of languages! They also offer packed breakfasts (if you leave early for the airport or to Abu Simbel). In addition they sell beverages at the front desk which was very helpful! They have an internet cafe downstairs, so you don't have to go hunting around the city. To top it off, a great rooftop terrace that is completely covered and offers a hot tub (not covered). I wish I could have spent more time there! We had a fridge and TV in our room! There is some noise, but nothing out of the ordinary. It's proximity is lacking. It is close to a beautiful Mosque and has proximity to the main street. But besides that... there aren't' more than 2 restaurants in walking distance. Just a note- there is no elevator.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotaclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.2 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keylany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keylany Hotel

Address: 25 Keylany Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range: $21 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keylany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Keylany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylany Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing