We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Keylany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keylany Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Searsmont, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a basic place, but it is clean and comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop is very nice. And the staff at the front desk were great:Friendly, helpful, competent, knowledgeable and honest. It was a pleasure to deal with them. And we found it a convenient location: far enough away from the main road to avoid the traffic noise, but still within walking distance of most of the sites and restaurants.
A comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    116
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
27
112
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I've been traveling for many years. I've stayed at fleabag hotels, fancy hotels, medium hotels. This one is far and away my favorite. Here's why:

- Outstandingly friendly, helpful and knowedgeable staff
- Clean rooms, bathrooms, halls, reception
- Delightful rooftop terrace
- Nice breakfasts
- Free reliable strong wi-fi
- And did I mention the great staff?

Room Tip: Because the hotel is pretty much surrounded by mosques, I don't think there are any quiet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was at Keylany hotel ( recommended by my tour guide from Luxor) for few hours overnight sleep on the way to Abu Simbel, coming from Luxor. the hotel although it's very basic- more like 1 maximum 2 stars for European standards- it's very clean. for 2-3 hours sleep this is all I wanted. they offered us a packed breakfast, which is standard but without fruit being included. I paid 15 Euros which is definitely very expensive considering that I used the hotel for the Abu Simbel trip and I stayed only for 3 hours. another thing to bear in mind is that is very loud- the music from the next building and people's walks about do not stop until at least 0130 a.m.. at 0300 a.m. I had to leave the hotel, so I didn't get too much sleep that night.

something else to consider if people are traveling from Luxor and back to Aswan- the train strike whenever they want. I didn't have problems getting to Aswan but instead of arriving at 11 p.m. on the way back to Luxor I arrived at 0500 a.m.( left Aswan at 1945 hours) because of the strike. no prior warning and no help from tourist police. the train stopped at a very small train station that it's not even on a map, nobody either from the train station or tourist police answered in either Aswan or Luxor to send a bus for us, so lucky that locals arranged minibuses to take us to our destinations. it's not safe to travel either by bus ( a Chinese has been killed and 12 injured the day before I went to Abu Simbel trip on a road traffic accident- it has been believed that the driver was too fast and a tyre burst) or by train because of these incidents.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiacgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Keylany Hotel

The people that works in this hotel are awesome, they have great options in terms of tours, for example you can get a share bus to Abu Simbel for 70 EGP per person.. great deal. The accommodations are basic and clean. I think they can improve more in terms of maintenance the hotel, paint the walls, get a nicer furniture, and little details that can improve the hostel. Often when you arrive to the reception you will get terrible smell of cigaret. It seems it is something cultural to smoke everywhere but the hotel should respect the fact that a lot of their guest do not smoke and they could smoke out side. The life standard in Egypt is lot cheaper than in Europe. Most of the facilities all over Egypt cost the same as a Hostel in Europe but not the same standards so be prepared for that. We took the option of laundry and we though was a little bit pricy for the result, clothes having a smoke smell so I think it was not worth it to use this service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank galapaguito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was small but decent, bathroom really small, uncomfortable shower...overall clean.
Staff was nice and cooperative.
Beautiful terrace and good breakfast.
Very good location, few meters from Nile corniche and not far away from railway station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am surprised by the ratings for this hotel as it is very expensive for what it provides. The rooms are adequate as is the bathroom, but the cleanliness is only marginally acceptable. The services it provides in order to legitimize its higher price are not as advertised. The televisions did not work and when staff were informed, they merely shrugged their shoulders (I stayed multiple days so there was time for them to rectify this). The "pool" is an above ground suburban home pool that they have erected on the roof (I wouldn't use it if I had sense....) and the internet was intermittent at best.

Again, there is nothing "wrong" per se with the hotel and it is more than adequate for someone is who is traveling through and looking for somewhere to crash. However, for the price they charge, they do not provide the minimum of what you would expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plpotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The Keylany is exactly what it claims to be. It is a great cheap and cheerful budget hotel to stay in for a short while in Aswan. The exterior is quite bleak but the rooms are neat and clean and the roof of the hotel has a charming hang out area. Management at the hotel was extremely helpful, and booked us a tour to Abu Simbel that was far cheaper than what other hotels charged. My only feedback for them is that the wifi did not work in our room or on the roof, only in the reception area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nadacolada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.0 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
1.4 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keylany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keylany Hotel

Property: Keylany Hotel
Address: 25 Keylany Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Keylany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Keylany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylany Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing