We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grabby guide”

Monastery of St. Simeon
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Private Tour: St Simeon's Monastery
Ranked #14 of 37 things to do in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“grabby guide”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We rode camels from our guest house to the monastery so we got to see it rise out of the heat like it was straight from a movie. The monastery is pretty interesting but we found our young guide to be too touchy in our photo ops.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Different attraction”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

For a different trip from Aswan St Simeon's Monastery is a great place to visit, peaceful, interesting and ancient, yet an unusual Christian place of interest. I walked up the track from the landing place (too old for a camel) had a look at the outside of the Aga Khan's mausoleum (not open to public) and then to monastery, very interesting and extensive, even though I had been before, with lovely views over the river to Aswan. But the young guide who showed us round did not have very good English and was difficult to understand, even though he was polite and helpful. I note the comments of other reviewers and did feel that he was a little too friendly and touched too often. Perhaps caution required if you are a younger woman.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrecophileUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A short ride from Aswan takes you to this peaceful desert monastery”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arranged a boat to sail from our hotel, round the islands to the jetty from which camels could be organised to St Simeon. The monastery itself was peaceful and interesting. It felt a world away from Aswan which could be seen across the river. As at least one other reviewer has mentioned, I felt the defacto guide was trying to act inappropriately towards females during our visit within the monastery itself - wanting to hold hands and take photos. Without wanting to sound over the top or put people off, I would suggest a woman travelling alone keeps aware of her surroundings for this reason as it's a remote place. Personally I would recommend reading up on St Simeon or finding a good written guide and then exploring the ruins without a guide. We returned to the jetty to where our boat then returned us to the hotel. An enjoyable day trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sofarsogood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to visit on a camel”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Monastery provides a guide and it was a very interesting visit. Its quite substantially ruined so its good to have someone explain what there is to see. I strongly recommend going there on a camel and asking to return via the view point over Aswan. We had a very friendly Nubian camel attendant - taught us the essential Nubian for communicating with the camel. The whole package was really a wonderful afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“had a great camel ride”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

the camel ride to St Simeon was fantastic and really relaxing the Beduion guys are great to chat to as they lead the camel along.....at St Simeon it was nice.....the guide although at the monastery was not good.....he kept trying to hold my hand and wanting photos with us all.....very inappropriate...be careful

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastery of St. Simeon also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Monastery of St. Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing