We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important to see and understand why it was built”
Review of High Dam

High Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Aswan Day Tour Visiting Philae Temple, Unfinished Obelisk and High Dam in Aswan
More Info
$102.50*
and up
Private Tour from Aswan to Philae Temple and Unfinished Obelisk
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private Day Tour from Luxor to Aswan High Dam and Unfinished Obelisk and Philae
Ranked #9 of 38 things to do in Aswan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Supplying water and electricity to all of Egypt, this impressive two-mile dam was a 1960s feat of engineering.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Important to see and understand why it was built”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was an included tour from our Nile Cruise on RA 11 and very interesting to see and understand why it was built and the formation of Lake Nasser. You pass the old one which was built by the British. Again it is only made interesting by the information given by a good guide, ours being Osama. Also their are several information boards to look at telling you the history in diagrams.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank R P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    173
    210
    75
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A waste of time”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have no idea why it was on my tour. It took us a while from where our boat was moored just to look at a body of water and tourist police standing around with their machine guns.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Life-changing for Egypt”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Aswan High Dam forever changed life in Egypt downriver. It is a large dam, but there really is nothing 'high' about it - that refers to it's location on the river. Nevertheless, it is an impressive feat and the beautiful Lake Nasser behind it backs up hundreds of miles to the south. The result of the dam - the irrigation and flood control - are the real reasons it is impressive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjkupiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great view of Lake Nasser and a beautiful garden”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

You get a great view of the artificial Lake Nasser. If you have a guide with you (as I did) you can learn interesting facts about how the lake was build (how many villages where flooded in the process, what was the “price” the native folk paid and how Abu Simbel temple and Philae temple were dismantled and transferred to other locations in order to be saved). There is also beautiful garden with gorgeous trees and flowers. If you are into photography this is a good spot to take some nice pics.

My review is based on my visit in April 2010.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A must to see while in Aswan”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was on a Nile cruise therefore we were taken on a tour of the Dam . I enjoyed it very much, there was nothing about it that I disliked.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Dam also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to High Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing