We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$44
$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse(Gharb Seheyl)(Great Value!)
$28
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $37/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$40
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$34
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,583)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveler rating
921
429
141
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
429
141
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephantine islandpanorama barorangerie restaurantfloor restaurantsuperior roombotanical gardensboat servicetop floorthe riverkitchener islandferry boatroom serviceinfinity pooldinner buffetfree ferryhotel ferrynile cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,202 - 1,207 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Before a Nile cruise on the Oberoi Philae, I recently spent a few days at the Moevenpick.

The hotel is well located to visit the sites in Aswan, and the ferry service runs regularly. The other good point is the (cold) infinity pool in the garden. The rest I found mediocre, despite all the positive reviews on this site: recently renovated but average room with tiny bathroom, no fitness room and spa, uninspiring and very expensive food (more expensive than at the Four Seasons in Cairo!). Service was consistenly slow and poor and definitely not up to Swiss hospitality standards. I heard many guests complain about the service.

For now, this is probably the best of a bad lot in Aswan. I will return (the town is lovely and much more pleasant than ultra-touristy Luxor) but only once the Old Cataract reopens in a few years following an extensive renovation.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. It is in the final stages of a complete renovation and while not all of the restauarants were open and there was still some work going on in the garden, this in no way impeded our enjoyment. The rooms mostly in a 3-storey building linked to the public areas and anything above the ground floor has a view of the Nile. The self-service restaurant is good for breakfast but would get boring for dinner - though other restaurants will be re-opening. The pool area is spotless and very well laid out; the pool bar and eating area are good and offer a good selection. Service can be a bit slow so leave plenty of time.

Rooms are spacious and well-equipped with bath robes, water and minibar. Spotlessly clean.

There is a boat service to the mainland and town, available 24 hours and we never had to wait more than 5 minutes. It drops you near the centre of town, an easy walk from the soukh and restaurants.
Reception staff are pleasant and helpful, as is the concierge who gave us good advice on what to pay for felucca rides etc to help us with the haggling. She also offered to book it for us but the negotiation is part of the Egypt experience.

Once all the facilites are up and running, this will be a top-class place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is a fabulous 5 star hotel located on lush tropical Elephantine Island. My son and I recently returned from a trip to Egypt and this was the best place we stayed. It is very easy to get to as there is a free ferry that goes every 10 minutes between Aswan and Elephantine island. The hotel is gorgeous with beautifully decorated rooms and it sits right on the Nile. We had a corner room with 2 balconies and it was lovely. The food was fabulous. The breakfast ,which is included, was a buffet with lots and lots of choices. Better than any in the states. The swimming pool was magnificant and the grounds lovely. Check out the bar at the very top that has amazing views of the area. I would definitely return to this hotel. The staff were helpful but there was a small charge for using the internet. There are shops in the hotel and a bank and ATM machines though they were not always working. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

The Movenpick Hotel is heaven, an oasis in the middle of Elephantine Island in Aswan.

To get there, you must sit through a 2 minute motor boat ride to the island. When you get there and enter the Movenpick, you walk in to the most beautiful lobbies I've ever seen. The staff are friendly and eager to accomodate, they let me check in earlier. The facilities on the ground floor include shops, atms, concierge, storage room.

I made all my arrangements with the concierge before heading to my room. What-A-View!!! The room was spacious with a lovely bathroom with state-of-the-art mirros, shower and a window to the inside of the bedroom, which lets natural light in!

The room itself was all comfortable and the views of the river Nile were amazing.

The swimming pool was large and quiet (it was August, after all) and I even went for a Swedish Massage with Mohammed. It was so worth it! Then, we went for the buffet which was espectacular and later went to the 12th floor for the bar with amazing views from the top of Aswan. The Violinist, Minoud, was super friendly too!

All in all this is a proper luxurious hotel and from that trip I always see if there's a Movenpick wherever I go.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelgirl_873240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the Movenpick resort in mid-Oct 2008 in one of the new Nubian rooms which was very nice - interesting Nubian artwork and new furniture. Excellent new bathroom with modern features and good hot water pressure and an interesting feature where the mirrors swing out so that it opens into the bedroom, ha! Most rooms seem to have some kind of view of the Nile which I enjoyed. The pool and infinity pool looked beautiful, but we didn't go in. Tennis was said to be offered (for regular play and lessons) but we didn't see the tennis courts ourselves.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is fairly good with made-to-order omelets and variety of juices and fruits. There is a lounge on the 2nd floor with pool table (charge to play) and piano and TV and small bar and an outdoor ping-pong table. They are still working on the garden areas surrounding the resort where folks can presumably stroll around the grounds which should be pleasant when finished. Ferry service to and from Elephantine Island was very reliable and frequent.

The location was very good too if you are walking around the souks and restaurants in Aswan - fairly central - and the large-lit tower which doesn't hold any rooms which seems a waste serves as a good visual landmark while in town.

Overall, we were happy with the Movenpick, thought it was a good value and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank abqalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews