We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to chill out with beautiful views and lovely pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Aswan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out with beautiful views and lovely pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A little boat takes you across the Nile to this hotel on Elephantine Island.
Had a balcony with one of the loveliest views of the Nile. Dated but clean and comfy rooms with numerous English channels on the TV.
Almost empty when we there but found staff very friendly.
Had an issue at breakfast and it was fixed immediately so I did not "carry away a bad impression". Was very impressed with this attitude.
Pool a real delight and nice to hear birds singing rather than cars blowing their horns.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesisters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear our loyal and beloved guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your valuable review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

Many thanks for your nice words in favor of the hotel service and team. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and had a wonderful relaxing with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed hearing the birds singing in our resort as one of our breathtaking nature of our Island.

Lastly, we hope that it will not be too long to welcome you back again soon at our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.


Warmly,


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    282
    90
    25
    22
See reviews for
218
390
75
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Maybe the nicest hotel in Aswan and with internet special pricing, it was actually affordable. However, everyone assumes you have money to burn if you stay here and will treat you accordingly. For example, the only tours booked through this hotel are with Thomas Cook; they are all private tours; and very expensive. The feluccas on either side of the private ferry are similarly overpriced.

Ok, so ,yes, it's gorgeous, the pool is spectacular, and the beds are the best in Egypt, but everything else we did in Aswan we booked through another hotel that we just happened upon: Philae Hotel Aswan. They were much friendlier and genuine and didn't make us feel like impostors of the rich and famous.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mattf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear our Beloved Guest,

Please let me thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor site based on your recent stay in may 2013 at Moevenpick Resort Aswan .

We wish to express our sincerest admiration for the lovely comment in favor of our property.
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

We are extremely proud that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer our valued-guests the highest possible standard of services in friendly and professional ways.

Lastly, Many thanks for your wonderful recommendation to our property and we hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again soon for your next visit to Moevenpick Aswan or at any of our properties worldwide for long stay.


With best regards


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights, simply this resort must be awarded for its excellence and uniqueness. Particularly the exquisite location. All Staff were very professional and friendly(special thanks and appreciation to front desk/reception staff who were welcoming and helpful). Rooms and their amenities are outstanding yet rennovation shall add a lot, breakfast was very good, room service staff response was highly professional and friendly. Pool and landscape are awesome. Last but not least the view from the tower restaurant is outstanding. This hotel is one of the best with very attractive rates, highly recommended for any kind of tourism/stay. Ultimately i invite all tourists to visit Aswan one of the most beautiful charming cities ever; safe and friendly with best views for a river ever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlySotouhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear our beloved guest,


I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in June.2013 at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and hospitality.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we hope you will keep Aswan and Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts in your good memory.

We have passed on your comments to the whole team and especially reception team, who is sharing us and hope that it will not be too long to welcome you back again very soon,

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.


Cordially


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great location and easy access with boats running when needed. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are beautiful with most having Nile views. The Breakfast buffet is outstanding with everything you can think of. Stayed 2 nights with departure and returned for one night in April 2013. Wonderful swimming pool!
Stayed here in 2005. Very few guest so have closed down the main tower and only the Wing is open for guest

Room Tip: I recommend the second or third floor in the Wing. If you like lights and cruise ships stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear our beloved Guest,

We would like to thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor site based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Aswan in April 2013.

We wish to express our sincerest appreciation for the lovely comment and high scores in favor of our property.

We are delighted to know that you liked our international breakfast buffet. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Lastly, looking forward to welcome you back again for third visit to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.

Cordially,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nicely located on elephantine island, taking the launch across and back adds to the charm of being on the Nile. Very good room, service, food et al. Just wish they offered free wifi and even if not free, they need to make it available in the rooms too. For the rest, i would reccommend it to all who are going to that part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear our valued-guest,

Please let me thank you for having shared your review through Trip Advisor based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We wish to express our sincerest admiration for the lovely recommendation in favor of our property. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We noted your valued suggestion, as we believe that our guest’s suggestions surly contribute with us to achieve excellent standard of product and services to all our guests.

Lastly, we do hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you and your friends back again to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide for long stay.


With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a great time in the Movenpick during December, celebrating a significant birthday of my wife. The weather was lovely, a welcome relief from our Scottish winter, the sight seeing, particularly Kalabsha and the Nile Felucca trips locally, and Abu Simbel by organised convoy!
The Hotel was excellent, it's Island setting making for a more restful ambience than often found in main town settings in Egypt, the buffet food (we went half board) excellent, varied, and delicious. The room was well furnished, scrupulously clean, attractive and with a lovely view of the gardens and Nile. All in all, a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Gardens looking towards Aswan Town are good, and avoid the slightly dreary vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbloodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Our Beloved Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and hospitality.

Please allow me to send you our admiration and appreciation, on behalf of the whole Team, who read your beautiful comments and consider your warm compliments as an indescribable reward.

We hope it will not be too long before we welcoming you and your family back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.


With best regards,


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in Movenpick hotel in Aswan. The hotel in nicely located in Elephantine island; very close to downtown. I enjoyed shuttle boats carrying guests from Aswan city to the island [working around the clock]. The hotel has very nice and spacious rooms,all overlooking the Nile from different angles, I recommend either superior or delux rooms where you have direct view of the Nile. The room furniture is very good ;however,it is equipped with old- fashion TV sets!! I expected LCD or LED sets. Both breakfast food quality and assortment are nice. However, the dinner at tower restaurant is quite expensive, but you can still enjoy the spectacular view while having a cup of tea or beer.The infinity pool has a terrific view of the Nile.The staff are very friendly and welcoming. I consider Movenpick hotel to be one of best 3 hotels in Aswan, yet the room charge is very competitive.I enjoyed my lodging experience there and I will definetly return back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nile-Pharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Beloved Guest,

Please let me thank you for having chosen Moevenpick Resort Aswan to be your holiday destination.

We are delighted to read your comment on Trip Advisor, and we are so glad to know that
You’ve enjoyed your overall stay; we shall pass on your impression and the nice words you wrote to all our team members.

We do hope that you will keep Aswan and Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts in your good memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon for your next visit to Aswan and our resort or at any of our properties worldwide for long stay and we remain.

With best regards

Aiman Zaki
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.5 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Property: Movenpick Resort Aswan
Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Mövenpick Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing