We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, picturesque and refreshing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We arrived by overnight train from Cairo and after a short day of sightseeing, were anxious to get to our room and relax. What we encountered at the Moevenpick Resort was more than we hoped for. You get to the hotel via watercraft service which is available whenever you are ready to travel between the city and the hotel. The hotel staff were very welcoming and attentive, and the rooms and grounds were impeccable. But the real star was our room overlooking the Nile River, directly across from the botanical gardens and with a view of the noble burial tombs dotting the hillside on the other side of the river. The weather was perfect for sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view or reading a book. There are several restaurants at the hotel and the food was outstanding. There are manicured grounds and a large swimming pool with crystal clear water. This is definitely a vacation oasis. And I have only the best reviews for the city of Aswan. A great place to relax during the winter months. I am already planning for my next trip to Egypt and a very lengthy stay in Aswan at the Moevenpick. For those planning to leave at 4 a.m. to get to the train station for an early morning 3-4 hour trip to Luxor, the Moevenpick prepares the best picnic breakfast for you to take with you free of charge. I could not ask for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the Nile. The view of the botanical gardens and the burial tom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiku365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Our Beloved Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on excellent scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and products .

Really Words are not enough to express how much your comment is motivating our team and me, it helps us a lot to continue offering best professional services to our future guests when we find a good comment from loyal and decent guest like you.

We have passed on all your wonderful and delicate words to the whole team, who shares me in wishing that it will not be too long before we welcome you and your family anxiously back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.

With best regards,


Aiman Zaki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was here between a river Nile cruise and the early morning Abu Simbel trip. The room was spotless, room service reasonable and prompt!. Did not do much just watch the Nile pass by overlooking Kitchener's island. The resort is lovely, staff friendly and I received a great breakie package for the long journey.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Our Beloved Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and hospitality.

Really Words are not enough to express how much your comment is motivating our team, it helps us a lot to continue offering best professional services to our future guests when we find a good comment from loyal and decent guest such you.

We have passed on all your wonderful and delicate words to the whole team, who is shares me in wishing that it will not be too long before we welcome you and your family back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.

We remain.

Aiman Zaki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wow, it is worth staying in this hotel if only to access the Panorama Bar for the view. The birds-eye views of Aswan from the Panorama Bar are spectacular to say the least and certainly gives you a great perspective of this ancient city.
The hotel rooms are adequate if not a little dated, but most of the rooms have a stunning view of the Nile as the hotel is located on an island in the middle of the river.
Enjoy everything this hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor,

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to read your recommendation for our property and specially the Panorama tower.

We Hope you will keep Aswan and Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts in your good memory.
And we Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


With best Regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My recent holiday included a 4 night cruise on the floating Movenpick hotel "Prince Abbas" travelling from Aswan to Abu Simbel, plus an overnight stay at the Movenpick resort hotel on Elephantine Island. I have to say that this was the holiday of a lifetime and the sheer quality and elegance of everything that Movenpick provides makes them truly 5 star (paradise) in all respects. Recent troubles in Egypt have been exaggerated by international media: This was the quietest, least-crowded and most trouble-free holiday imaginable. Thanks to Movenpick for making it so special!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine any of the rooms being bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear our Beloved-Guest,

We would like to thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor, based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

On behalf of all Moevenpick Aswan’s team, I wish to express our sincerest admiration for the beautiful comment in favor of our property.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay at our resort, and we extremely happy to read Your wonderful expression “truly 5 star paradises “it considered as a great reward to whole team, who is sharing me in hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide for long stay.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

One night was not enough! We arrived late and left fairly early, so just didn't have enough time here. Huge room (loved the bathroom with the phone by the loo and a shower for those hard to reach places!!), wonderful views, excellent breakfast. In the evening we had cocktails in the bar at the top of the tower with wonderful views of Aswan with all the neon lights. We sat on the balcony and drank it all in.
In the morning after breakfast we managed a stroll round the grounds and a paddle in the pool - much warmer than the pools on the cruise boats! Aswan looked lovely, and we'd love to return one day. We also took a ride in a felucca which was great, and was the best shop of the whole trip - really nice gifts and no pressure.
Sometimes it's good to have a reason to return - we certainly will come back to the Movenpick at Aswan!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear our Valued-Guest,

We would like to thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor, during your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

On behalf of all Moevenpick Aswan’s team I wish to express our sincerest admiration for the lovely comment in favor of our property.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay at our resort and we hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you and your friends back again to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide for longer stay.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was fortunate to stay in this excellent resort during a recent trip to Egypt. The location on Elephantine Island in the middle of the Nile is stunning. There is a 24 hr free ferry to the city, a 5 minute journey. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and dressing area. The room contained a writing desk and couch and the balcony afforded us scenic views of the resort gardens and the Nile. The decor of the resort is well done with tasteful decoration in the rooms and a plentiful supply of paintings of Nubian scenes. We ate at two of the three resort restaurants, the prices were reasonable and the food excellent. The Sky Restaurant and viewing area perched on top of central tower offer panoramic views of the Nile Valley, Aswan and the tombs of the Nobles. As in most Egyptian hotels tea and coffee making materials were not supplied and a charge for internet usage applies. We paid 44 Egyptian pounds for an hour of wireless usage. There is a large outdoor pool with horizon view and smaller pool with waterfall for children. There are a series of shops and a tailor for those who wish to shop without the usual sales pressure. Across the road running along the Nile and a little to the right is a street that leads away from the river. The first intersection contains a great market with plenty of colour and charm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Our Beloved Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and hospitality.

Really Words are not enough to express how much your comment is motivating our team and me, it helps us a lot to continue offering best professional services to our future guests when we find a good comment from loyal and decent guest such you.

We have passed on all your wonderful and delicate words to the whole team, and specially Abdou, who shares me in wishing that it will not be too long before we welcoming you and your family back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.

We remain.

Aiman Zaki
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A quick ferry ride takes you across from the Main Street in Aswan to a tiny island on the Nile, which is home to this hotel. Although ours was just 1 nights stay, the hotel gives a guest many, options to spend more time n relax - it has a nice pool, games like giant chess, pool, ping pong, etc are laid out for use. One of the main features that is not to be missed is the Panoramic Restaurant on the 13th floor - grab a beer or tea and enjoy 360 degree views of the slow moving city by sunset. Overall the hotel is comfortable, and most rooms have great views too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor, Our team is motivated to continue offering best personalized services .

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and to know that you found our rooms Comfortable, and in excellent location. We hope you will keep Aswan and Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts in your good memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain

With best Regards,

Aiman Zaki
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.2 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#4 of 22 in Aswan
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
Price Range: $144 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on its own Arcadian island in the Nile and a five-minute boat ride from the center of Aswan and its ancient monuments, the Mövenpick Resort Aswan is a photographer’s delight. Nearby Kitchener’s Island is the setting for a mature botanical garden with species from all points of the globe. The resort is a 25-minute drive from Aswan Airport and then a 5 minute boat trip across the Nile to Elephantine Island. Opposite the city of Aswan, the Mövenpick Resort Aswan provides a tranquil environment of lush tropical gardens and magnificent views of the river ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing