We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,806)
Filter reviews
1,806 results
Traveler rating
1,429
225
67
48
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,429
225
67
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract nile wing winston churchill the oriental restaurant indoor pool new wing original building steam room old world terrace restaurant high tea winter palace stunning hotel elephantine island the river huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 1,806 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2017

Unfortunately we only had one day in this hotel and I think the low visitor numbers meant the hotel management had no problems in upgrading their guests to their best rooms.
We were fortunate in that we had booked a superior room in the Nile Wing but were upgraded free to a Palace Suite with a huge balcony overlooking the Nile. We were happy to stay on the balcony till the sunset before going to dinner.
We had dinner in the main restaurant, which has a dress code, and the food was delicious. It was classical French Cuisine with all the theatrical elements of table side finishing.
We had two courses each from the A' la Carte menu with wine and soft drinks and paid about £100 sterling which may seem expensive by comparison but it was certainly value for money.
This is definitely one hotel to which we will return for a longer stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
2  Thank Vince1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2017

If ever you wanted to experience the epitome of British imperialism, this is the place to stay. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are amazing, and the food is okay. Probably the most impressive suite I've ever stayed in, and the view was something I'll never forget. The room service was wonderful, including complimentary bottles of wine and decent food. The restaurants didn't seem to live up to the standard set by the hotel in other areas. While dining at the Oriental, the menu listed a full drinks menu, wine, beer, and spirits, but upon attempting to order they said they only served wine and beer. The restaurant service was spotty at best, and the food mediocre. Stay for the Rooms and amenities, but maybe look elsewhere for dining.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LucasG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

The hotel is spectacular, the hotel team extremely good and attentive. The views from the terraces, are amazing, you feel as though you are in another era.
The areas inside the hotel are very arabic very similar to the decoration of the mezquita of Cordoba in Spain. The decoration of the hotel in the lobby, bar area, is amazing. Well worth a visit to remember that Agatha Christie spent some time here to write Death on the Nile. Iconic hotel!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 735PLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

An absolutely beautiful experience. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The rooms were sumptuous, with new furnishings, a big walk in wardrobe. The rooms were meticulously cleaned and the bathroom was spotless.
The views of the Nile, Elephantine Island in front, the grounds and the main building from the balcony were quite literally picture postcard! The 1902 restaurant is where breakfast is served daily with an interesting buffet which included typical Egyptian dishes as well. One of the nights we tried to book for "The Kebabgy" restaurant but it was full so we ate in The Terrace restaurant, it really didn't disappoint as we tried some wonderful fish and seafood dishes!
The swimming pool - both indoors and outdoors are also a wonder - and a must for every visitor...
Even if your budget doesn't allow for staying in this hotel - try having afternoon tea in the terrace. No trip to Aswan should miss the Old Cataract!

Room tip: Stay in the new building as you'll have amazingly big rooms and views of both the Nile and the old hotel.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

Our family spent four days at this enchanting hotel in Aswan. From the moment we stepped foot into the lobby, we knew that we had found a slice of heaven. Our Nile-view rooms in the new building were perfect (#2501-02). The large balcony overlooked the infinity pool, the Nile and Elephantine Island. The sound of the boats traveling up and down the river was so soothing. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. We ate at all of the restaurants and ordered room service multiple times. This hotel is THE place to stay if you are looking for beauty, relaxation and elegance during your visit to this amazing country.

Room tip: #2501 & #2502 were extremely well-appointed, large and comfortable. The views were amazing.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OUBobcat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews