We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,807)
Filter reviews
1,807 results
Traveler rating
1,430
225
67
48
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,430
225
67
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract nile wing winston churchill the oriental restaurant indoor pool new wing original building steam room old world terrace restaurant high tea winter palace stunning hotel elephantine island the river huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 1,807 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2017 via mobile

The first thing that strikes you when you land in Aswan is the serenity and beautiful horizon. The drive from the airport to Sofitel is quiet and let's you enjoy the simplicity of the place. Once I reached the entrance of Sofitel Old cataract you cannot miss the grandeur of the building. Painted in nice deep Marsala with white borders, you know your stay will be exciting in the folds of a heritage hotel. The hotel staff was warm in their welcome and got us a hibiscus drink called Kerkerde which was refreshing. After a wait of 10 minutes we were given our room keys. I must mention that the key itself is unique and gives you a glimpse of things to come. I had the corner room on the first floor and it had a cozy, stately feel to it. Bathrooms were huge and well stocked with toiletries from Hermés The view outside wasnt much to rave about as I had a garden view however the rooms on the other side were breathtaking with the view of the beautiful nile river and the charming Feluccas(sail boats) on it. The hallways of the hotel were decorated beautifully with chandeliers and heavy wood cabinets. Hallways are decked with pictures of famous people who have stayed at the hotel; like Winston Churchill, Agatha Christie (Aswan inspired the book 'Murder on the river Nile'). You can sample some really good food at the multiple restaurant; my personal favourite was the French restaurant called 1902. The only grouse i had with the place was the wifi which was quite patchy. Although if you visit Aswan for relaxed getaway that should hardly bother you! Overall a charming idyllic hotel in one of the most beautiful part of the world.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank kashmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Had the most amazing experience, amazing hotel with breathtaking views the staff's really polite and helpful especially Mr.Hussein el Naggar the house keeping supervisor who made my stay much better than it already was.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Staying in this place is an experience in itself. The hotel is incredible and hangs on to the same luxury and charm it had when it was first founded. The views are amazing, the food is good and the service is excellent. Definitely recommended.

Room tip: Nile View rooms offer the best views
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fouad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

What can I say about this hotel? It is the first time i feel that a hotel has a soul and a story to tell. The old cataract was built in 1899 and through a century it accommodated a countless number of Kings, presidents, celebrities, politicians, etc
Each room, each corridor, each corner witnessed a history.
Although I didn't stay in the hotel itself but i spent almost two days there because of a wedding that was held in the premises. The view is like no other (the only competition is coming from the nearby hotel Movenpick).
Talk to one of the old waiters and he will tell you about stories he heard about King Farouk (last king of Egypt), Francois Meteran (former French president), Egyptian Celebrity Omar El Sherif, etc
The view from the pool area or from the rooms cannot be described by words... just check the pictures attached and let your imagination do the job
The hotel is reachable by car and by boat.
It is a a life time experience and you should not waste your life without spending at least one night in this expensive hotel.
Because of the exclusivity of this hotel probably you wont be able to make a reservation through the online booking websites; you need to book through the hotel website or through a travel agency.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEEDOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is just amazing i stayed there with my wife and 2 kids for 3 nights in a nile view suite and the view is just perfect i was in the nile tower and i had a lot of trips using boats from the nile using the hotel dock

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank mohamedy985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews