We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel, great view, service, welcome !
Don't miss the Old Cataract Hotel if you go in Aswan... and you should GO because the country is extraordinary. We travel a lot, and believe me, the hotel is one of our best place we discovered

Room Tip: Prefer the new wing because the view is wonderful, and if you can, choose a prestige suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
We feel like you that we working in the best hotel, therefore it is always good to see guest having the same feeling .Being a frequent traveller around the world your opinion certainly counts. We thank you and hope to have more tourist visiting Upper Egypt to check on your comments.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,289 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

I have the dream now to be there for my last days before I die... The first step to the paradies.
The place from the hotel is already incredible : view on the Elephantine Island, the Nil, the old famous Hotel himself.
The people in every corner are so nice and so careful.
An unforgettable place, where I'll go again and again and again.
THE Hotel from Egyptian Pharaons! WONDERFUL! <3

Room Tip: To be in the "new" Old Cataract let you have the best view on the Nil, the Elephantine Isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H06B71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
We hope to have you back a lot of time in the future staying to the palace again and again .Thank you for your review we are proud to know that we made you have a fantastic time in our legendary place.
See you soon.
Sincerely yours.

Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stay 4 nights in a palace cataract suite1218 and it was the best holiday for us we enjoy a lot the perfect Nile view from our room the service excellent in room dining amazing HK great the food is delicious all about Chef Waleed he make sure every day to see us and asking if we need any things and he make sure we are enjoying our tim,if you need special food you can ask him any time, the hotel have the best staff with best smile,
During our departure at 12pm very disappoint from front office agent on the right disk when we give him the key because we are going he did not say good bey or even thank you to us, but the club car man did very well done.
We love the hotel and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guests,
We are pleased to know that it was your best holidays. The cataract suite in the palace building is one of the most enjoyable room of the hotel the palace facing the Nile, elegant and refined atmosphere .I noticed your disappointment on check out ,it was not up to our standard because our colleague concierge missed totally this part. .As General Manger I apologize and can only say that the good bye is important for us because we want you to have a perfect stay .I believe that the other colleague of the club car recovered somehow. We hope to see you back to correct this important fact.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This famous old landmark, visited by Churchill and Agatha Christie and now stylishly refurbished, fully deserves its 5 star status, not something you can say about many 5 star hotels in Egypt. Memorably sited above small islands in the river Nile, the hotel induces calm and relaxation as you sit having breakfast on the terrace - the sun always shines here in Aswan - or lounge beside the pool. Whilst the recent renovation has preserved the character of the hotel, its décor has been enhanced by some bold fabrics and lighting. The flower displays you see on entering the foyer are spectacular. It is worth paying for one of the larger rooms which are equipped to a high standard, and maintained by meticulous housekeeping. Sofitel's excellent levels of service, characterised by personal and friendly attention, are well demonstrated here. What makes the Old Cataract special is the extra mile staff go to in meeting any request you may have, whether a particular food not on the menu, or in my case even the gift of a CD of classical Egyptian music specially assembled. Attention to detail is evident in the preparation and presentation of food. Breakfast offers tempting things, hot and cold, but its fixed price is rather expensive if you want only a light meal. There are three restaurants for dinner. The Oriental restaurant has beautifully-made Egyptian dishes with delicate flavours. I found the service here exceptional.The grand 1902 restaurant offers French cuisine amidst a marvel of traditional architecture. Not many hotels provide a welcoming cocktail party to meet other guests and members of staff, a measure of their desire to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Go for more than a standard Nile view room if you want to luxuriate in space and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guests,
You stay with us a few days and experienced the legendary service of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract .All guest is unique and the service is personalized * cousu main * for you .Our Managers cocktail party is to exchange with you and to know you better, our guest relation team is present interacting with you all time to anticipate your needs .We are happy to read such nice comment showing us that we were at the level of our reputation thank you.
Sincerely yours.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everyone knows that Egypt is having a dreadful time at the moment, and that the political troubles have decimated the tourist market, but that really means everyone needs to be operating at the top of their game to get the word out that it is safe to come and visit this marvellous country. Unfortunately that is not the case here. I don't want to point to specific areas, but I would suggest that the management of Sofitel send someone there to anonymously check standards of both staff attitude and food quality and service. The pool staff were the only ones who seemed to offer genuine smiles. We were disappointed, especially as we had found everywhere else in Egypt, people in the hospitality industry seemed sincerely glad we had come to their country. The "bones" of this property are excellent, but the people who work there are well below the standard expected of this calibre hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LizandAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to read that you had a bad experience in our hotel .I regret that I did not have the opportunity to discuss with you the reasons of your bad review. As Sofitel Legend (only 4 in the company) we must maintain a very high standard of excellent service we are regularly checked by the company either by mystery guest or quality control team. Actually our hotel is rated with a 92% score of high guest satisfaction .You can also see the review before and after yours .Reviewing the guest relation report I understood that you mentioned that you were not happy with the restaurant because we made a mistake with the cooking of your meat. I regret this incident which is not excusable, if this happens we apologize and adjust immediately. I don’t know if our reaction was up to your expectation. There is probably something else that I don’t know but I can assure you that we are taking all guest comments seriously and work to improve.

Sincerely yours.

Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stay at a lot of hotels normally for weekend/short breaks, but our stay at the Cataract Aswan has been truly memorable. While it is a truly wonderful property that Sofitel has done an amazing job renovating, it is really the personal care and attention by the staff that made our stay so unforgettable. The wonderful hospitality by GM Mr. Edouard and his team was truly appreciated. This started by the streamlined reservation thanks to Nevine, the reception at the hotel by Peter, and throughout our stay at the Cataract Aswan. We have to mention the wonderful and romantic dinner at 1902 as a highlight of our stay. Chef Walid’s creations along with the impeccable service by Mansour and Samah made it a truly memorable evening. Thank you to all the staff at the Cataract Aswan for giving us such a wonderful experience. We look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: Nile-View rooms in the palace wing have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibMoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and thank you for choosing our hotel for your weekend. We are glad that our team succeed to make your stay memorable and romantic, myself and all the staff will be happy hosting you again.
Sincerely
Jules-Henri Edouard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Old Cataract Hotel and enjoyed it immensely. We were up grade to a suite and had a magnificent view of the Nile river. The room was large, luxurious, well appointed and spacious. We were certainly spoilt for the view and location. It was unfortunate there were not more people there to enjoy the view and hospitality from the staff and hotel.
The staff were very obliging and even showed us through the
Agatha Christie room which is something to behold, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see through the Agatha Christie room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest,
Spoiling you is our way to show our gratitude to you, you have accepted to visit us when all Medias are showing a negative image of us. We thank you for showing how safe you felt and how you enjoyed the place .We are proud and propose to all our guest to visit the Agatha Christi suite and the Winston Churchill suite .We are available for our guests .
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
286 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range: $146 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing