We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$388
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$388
View deal
Hotels.com$388
eDreams$388
ZenHotels.com$439
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,225)
Filter reviews
2,226 results
Traveler rating
1,788
257
86
52
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,788
257
86
52
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract winston churchill nile wing the oriental restaurant indoor pool original building new wing old world steam room stunning hotel terrace restaurant high tea historical hotel elephantine island the river terrace overlooking the nile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,389 - 1,394 of 2,226 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was concerned that the refurbishment would lessen the charm of a former favourite hotel. Happily, it hasn't. There are some marked improvements - such as the Nile Wing suites and welcome touches like Bose speakers, coffee making machines in the rooms and flat screen televisions.

The views from The Nile Wing are breathtaking and rooms are comfortable with large bathrooms, walk-in showers and free standing baths. My preference is still for The Cataract Old Palace Wing - partly because the Nile Wing seems a bit dark due to its position. The balconies are magnificent though.

Our Palace Suite was large with a huge bath. Bed, sofa and seating were comfortable with good quality linens. Both balconies form a perfect panorama of The Nile and Aswan. Free wi-fi, I particularly like in Sofitel hotels now. The desk was large and well lit. Designers failed to think through electricity points and there is an unsightly tangle of adaptor and wires underneath. Overall, the suite was impressive with plenty of soft lamps and a chandelier of massive proportions above the bed. I'd like a better dressing area for women, particularly for drying long hair. Hotels so often neglect a good make-up application area, even in suites.

The pool is gorgeous to swim in in winter - warm with a jacuzzi/whirlpool at both ends. Swimming right into these was fun. The new Spa is located in The Nile Wing with a well equipped gym and attractive, small indoor pool. Service here is pleasant and treatments reasonable by western standards. Sunbathing areas around the pool are a bit squashed, even when quiet. If the hotel is busy, I would be concerned where guests would all go. Outdoor seating areas are plentiful and sumptuously cushioned. Views are idyllic from pool and gardens.

Hotel food doesn't live up to the decor, unfortunately. Breakfast was served on The Terrace, not The 1902 Restaurant (as it used to be). I gather this was Egypt has been short of tourists recently. The Terrace is always lovely but breakfast choice was less lavish than before. Tinned mushrooms are not what these hotel rates should dictate, especially when fresh mushrooms are available in Aswan and on other menus. The young women serving breakfast were helpful and efficient. I am not a fan of Afternoon Tea in The Old Cataract or The Winter Palace. My recent visits did nothing to change this view. The location is stunning but the sandwiches and fillings are mediocre. I seem to remember duck being offered - a little off-beat for my taste. Why is the tea never really hot? At breakfast too, tea was never hot enough, whatever pot or black kettle it came in. Food is not this hotel's strongest selling point. It is similar to most other hotels catering to tourists - it just dresses it up better in the menus. Portions are generous and it is possible to find value in all restaurants and Room Service. Vegetarian choice could be improved considerably and easily.

Overall, this is a very good hotel. I love the French feeling, charm and location. The best staff were Guest Relations and Front Office. Amira was particularly helpful and worked hard to accommodate our requests. Concierge was good too, with relevant information and a good attitude. Sofitel's managers have a lot of responsibility here and they have done a good job. The hotel has a romance to it. In the evening, the lighting is incredible. The Terrace and outdoor areas look inviting. Housekeeping could be better but the rooms are so big that this must take an army of staff. The Suites could have nicer toiletries and better offerings than the green apples and chocolates provided. There are lots of little things that could be better but The Old Cataract remains on our list of favourite hotels in Egypt. Thanks to the management and staff for a relaxing stay.

Room tip: I dislike the rooms and suites that have the Nile Wing visible from them. Top floor rooms in The Palace Wing, just up from the outdoor theatre have good views. Suites and rooms can vary quite a bit in size.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunrise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We are grateful that you took the time to write such a detailed review on your stay with us.

We are pleased to know you find the renovation to your taste and would like to thank you for the kind comments on the employees you have singled out.

We also took good note of your feedback particularly concerning the food & beverage and housekeeping which have been addressed to the concerned department heads.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a gem! The welcome at midnight was warm, generous and helpful. The room was superb: large, comfortable and well appointed with everything it wanted -- except an iron and ironing board. The bed was comfortable and bathroom inviting. The hotel itself has been outstandingly renovated. The position lends itself to stunning views of the Nile which can be enjoyed from the outdoor terrace where one can have breakfast and drinks. However all this comes at a not inconsiderable price! The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. Of note, most of the staff speak French for openers, but readily convert to English if appropriate. The French aspect continues with Le Monde and Figaro as the newspapers available. The only English language paper is the WSJ. This seems rather strange since the French papers were current, so appear to be downloaded and printed on site. Why not do the same for The Times (London and NY)? The food was perhaps less outstanding (even at the Oriental restaurant where the Egyptian style dishes might have been expected to be of higher quality) but the price was not excessive. Gladly one could also buy wine to accompany the meal at a fairly reasonable price (by London standards).

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godfrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for your valuable comments and positive feedback which I will share with the entire team.

Your suggestion concerning the English newspaper will be taken into consideration and your comments concerning the food quality of our oriental restaurant have been brought to the attention of our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a huge suite in the refurbished new wing overlooking the Nile. The balcony, really an outside room, came into its own for sunset unless, of course, you're in the infinity pool! As one would expect, the staff were excellent and breakfast was superb. We do have doubts, however, on the efficacy of the air conditioning in our suite; it could be an issue when it is hotter.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words; it was really rewarding and motivating.

We also took good note of your comment on the air-conditioning system and will make sure it is in perfect working condition in all the rooms.

Thank you for your compliments which I will share with my team.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was my partners Birthday and as a treat we went to the terrace here for a drink, while in Aswan.

Oh my, what a fantastic hotel, Sofitel should be so proud of the renovations they have done here they are fantastic. We were just sorry we couldn't stay.

The staff, the service and of course the cocktails were superb. Nothing though had prepared me for the view from the terrace it was breathtakingly beautiful at sunset.

This hotel is definitely a jewel in Sofitel's crown. As a regular traveller I have one or two reviews here on TripAdvisor but this place blew me away.

Room tip: Not about the rooms but if you go here for a drink, and you can easily walk to the hotel from where most of the Nile cruise boats moor, dress up,and make it an occasion. Also have a felucca ride by the hotel, another fantastic view but from the river this time.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nemesis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam/ Sir,

We are pleased to know that you visited Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your recent visit to Aswan.

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation for the services and facilities. Receiving such praise from a patron is very reassuring.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as a guest on your next visit to Aswan.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed years ago in the original building and thoroughly enjoyed the experience,but even better this time. Had a fabulous huge suite in the refurbished new wing,on the eighth floor with a lovely "outside room" from where the views were stunning.Better now that there is a more extensive menu on the terrace. Dining there whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner always truly special while watching the activity on the Nile. Lovely gardens.Staff charming but service leisurely even though there were very few guests. Good selection of books available in the small library.

Room tip: Upper floors in the new wing for the view
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynetteP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. It is always gratifying to receive such praise from loyal guest who visited us in the past.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the hotel after its renovation and your overall stay.

Thank you again for your compliments which I will share with the team.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews