We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,843)
Filter reviews
1,843 results
Traveler rating
1,463
227
68
48
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,463
227
68
48
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie old cataract nile wing winston churchill the oriental restaurant indoor pool new wing original building steam room old world terrace restaurant high tea stunning hotel winter palace elephantine island the river huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 1,843 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding there of a friend of ours over the weekend and what a delightful and memorable lasting experience this was. From the meet and greet at the airport till the final departure that we didn’t want to come everything was pleasant and sincere.
The hotel is a historical world landmark enriched with history. From the famous Churchill Suite to the renowned Agatha Christy Suite, everywhere you look and walk there is something that catches your eyes and make you feel delighted.
We had breakfast twice in the 1902 restaurant and the food was so fresh and nicely arranged. During the evening my wife and I decided to have a drink and soup on the terrace, the service was so attentive and engaging. The Nubians are very well known for their hospitality so mix that with the French touch hospitality and you have superb service.
During the afternoon the next day we decided to go on a felucca on the Nile for some sightseeing. The hotel was kind enough to arrange everything for us. They arranged the boat and catering, a really blissful experience that will always be in our hearts. That same day we visited the terrace again and had a burger, which was really juicy and tasty.
That same day we attended the wedding which was amazing. All the arrangement made by the hotel for the bride and groom and service that followed through the night was extraordinary. We drank, eat and dance till the sun rise.
Our entire stay was great and we will soon go back and visit as I promised my wife. We also meet a gentlemen there that is running the hotel Mr. Ahmed El Zomor. He welcomed us to the hotel, looked after us more than once during our stay, always smiling and attentive to all our requests. We have noticed him interacting with other guests as well, if you need something then call him.
Thank you for a your hospitality and attention and we will soon come and visit.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MK516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.
I am pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay and I would like to thank you for pointing out our "great service". This means a lot to us as we strive to provide the best service possible to all of our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel checks all the right boxes for anyone wanting to experience Egypt in true style. It offers the best of everything that is uniquely Egyptian:
- Overlooking the Nile. check!
- Genuine hospitality. check! (Noubians are known to be the most welcoming of Egyptians)
- Old yet new. check! (It's a recently renovated colonial-era palace)
- Historically significant city. check! check! (Pharaonic sites galore & the Aswan High Dam short driving distance away from from the hotel)

Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Aswan. It's a must-see!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YosraK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Bonjour Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We are delighted to know you had a magnifique experience while staying with us. I would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Have a Magnifique day.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Where do I start? Spent 2013 New Year's at this amazing hotel and what an amazing stay it was!
Our room was located at the Nile Wing of this newly refurbished hotel. The room was simply stunning! Overlooking the beautiful river Nile, out of this world bed and bathroom, our room was magical.
I personally can't wait for our next stay there.

Room tip: We stayed at the Nile Wing, which in my opinion had an amazing view of the Nile. Would definitely recommend a room on the 3rd floor.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaEiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team which will encourage them to continue their effort in this direction.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Gorgeous hotel with an almost poetic view of the river Nile. I would most definetly recommend to anyone going to Aswan. The hotel offers a taste of old Egyptian splendour. However my family and I were not staying at the hotel but had planned to enjoy a special dinner while we were in Aswan and were astonished by the concierge's welcome.
Noting that Egyptian tourism has been noticeable hit by regional current events it was shocking to hear that we may dine at only 1 of its 3 restaurants as the others were reserved for guests only. After some negotiating, we were escorted to the beautiful, historical and what is considered the hotel's flagship restaurant "1902" (one of the 2 restaurants initally off- limits) only to find that we were the only ones dining in a restaurant which had the capacity to cater for no less than 120 people. The meal was lovely and the hospitality of the local staff was truly genuine and heartfelt. However to this day we are unable to fathom why business for the hotel was being discouraged at the door??? This was especially shocking knowing that business for the tourism sector itself is at record lows. Unable to keep our silence we revisited the concierge desk again on our way out and asked why he had made it seem as if the restaurant was initially fully booked when this was clearly not the case. The initial lame response was, " this is peak season, we give priority to our guests". When this excuse was very easily challenged he resorted to the childish response of "I just follow instructions, as directed by the food and beverage manager."
I may understand this policy in exceptionally good times, perhaps guests in the hotel would have priority over visiting guests if the hotel was overflowing with visitors. As times are difficult, and this most definetly is far from reality, in all honesty, the hotel is very lucky to get any business at all. It is a shame for a hotel with this potential to shoot itself in the foot like this.
I would strongly urge the hotel's management to revisit their policies which at current, appear to be irrational, illogic and not aligned with the hotel's best interest.
This situation being placed aside the hotel is a true gem and a visit should by high on the priority list for any tourist visiting Aswan. A must-see.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irishegyptian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

I am pleased to know that you visited Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your recent visit to Aswan.

We really appreciate your kind comments regarding the hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your diner at the 1902 restaurant.

We nevertheless confirm your arrival experience is unusual and is not consistent with our hotel level of service.

Trust we shall spare no efforts to ensure the inconvenience you have suffered is not repeated.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel on your next trip to Aswan.

Yours sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Previously a palace this hotel is in a really magical spot and is wonderful. Our room had a fab balcony overlooking the infinity pool and the Nile. The room itself was one of the best we've ever stayed in - vast bed, beautiful linen and all the luxurious extras you'd expect in a top notch hotel. The bath was lovely and the stylish bathroom also includes double his and hers sinks, and big shower. The hotel is full of character and style and the terrace restaurant is a great place to combine dining with the great view. The historic formal dining room is incredible and well worth a look even if you don't dine in it- the architecture is amazing. We were staying during our wedding anniversary and received a delicious anniversary chocolate cake in our room! Really lovely.

Room tip: Pay for a room with a view and you won't be disappointed.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieB258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. We are very pleased that you appreciated the hotel after its extensive renovation and it is really gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team which will encourage them to continue their effort in this direction.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews