We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical moments....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Magical moments....”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Old cataract for three nights at the end of our Nile cruise – and it truly was one of the highlights. The hotel is set in beautiful gardens overlooking the Nile. Leaving the street and passing through the gate one enters a different world. A very elegant, luxurious and beautifully renovated property that has retained its old world charm – in fact it is the most beautiful colonial style hotel we have ever stayed at. We were upgraded to a suite with Nile view: very comfortable bed, great sitting area with large flatscreen tv, enormeous bathroom with seperate shower and toilet . It was just perfect with attention to detail and very tastefully decorated.

We had dinner and breakfast on the terrace. The food was good and well presented. The staff very attentive. Sitting there, enjoying your food and looking out over the water to Elephantine Island and watching the feluccas sail past – it felt somehow magical like being in a bygone era.. We had drinks at some of the bars, inside and outside, relaxing after days of sightseeing.

In the end we felt very sorry to leave. Given the opportunity we would go back immediately. It is a rather expensive hotel, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities as well as the service and food were up to your expectations.

It is really motivating to receive such positive comments from our guest and I would like to thank you again for your compliments which I will share with the team.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    159
    48
    32
    21
See reviews for
247
515
90
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent service, great view. You have to get a room with a balcony looking out on the river Nile....
Take a fellukah on the river at sunset and take a trip to abu simbel.. Nice terras too...............

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triathleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team this will encourage them to continue their good work.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent one day at the Old Cataract after a 5 day cruise on the SS Soudan. I was a bit wary when I booked (i) because of the high price (500 $ plus) (ii) because of the recent renovation, wondering whether the character of the hotel would remain. Well, our stay was worth every dollar paid; the rooms have been wonderfully renovated, blending modern amenities with arabic touches, the service is outstanding, the view to die for. Our room in the new wing was spacious, the bathroom (bath + shower) somptuous. We will come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words.

I am really pleased that you and your wife liked the hotel so much after its renovation and that the hotel facilities as well as the service provided was to your taste.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fantastic hotel the views from our 5th floor Nile room was just breathtaking. Service was fantastic no matter which part of the Hotel you were in, you really felt special. This Hotel is at the luxury end of the market , and is well worth every penny from the very Hermes soap, to the 1902 restaurant, which is the best restaurant we have ever dined at. We stayed for 6 nights and experienced all the restaurants for breakfast (overlooking the Nile) Lunch by the pool and Dinner, the standards and food were excellent in each. Sun set on the Terrace watching the Feluccas sail along the Nile has to be one of the most romantic places in the world. Where else can you have such luxury and historical sites on your doorstep. Thank you Old Cataract, we will be back!!

Room Tip: "Nile wing has the best views, and largest balconies"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean_lutwyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the facilities, view and service is a reward in itself.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team which will encourage them to continue their effort in this direction.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 998 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have been traveling since I was born around the world, and I do admit that I have never been to a hotel that is heart warming, friendly, clean, classy, luxurious and above all that ROYAL!
The staff is highly educated, always smiling, always helping and advising. The view on the Nile, the sunset, the quality of service, food and beverages make the stay at Old Cataract Aswan one hell of a stay. Outrageously recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SamehSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words on the employees, the service, the food and beverage and the hotel in general; it was really rewarding and motivating.

Thank you for your compliments which I will share with the whole team.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A magnificent hotel in a amazing location. Service for the customers was the best I have seen and experienced yet. I wished I could have stayed for longer. The decor was one of the most outstanding things of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for providing us with your positive comments on the service you received which will encourage us in our quest for excellence.

I am also really pleased that you liked the hotel facilities after the renovation and I look forward to welcome you back in the near future, hopefully for a longer period of time.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The views from the terrasse to Nile river, the quality of service, the old building smelling "Agatha Chistie", the terrific restaurants, the spa... At least, once in your live, you should visit this marvellous hotel

Room Tip: Nile views in new building or, if your budget is high, in old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for your feedback.
Exceeding our guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I have indeed shared your feedback with our team. Your comments will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing