We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel excellent, service and food below average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

After a trip on the best ship on the Nile river and the days before in Cairo we stayed with friends in this wonderful located, nicely renovoated and designed hotel.
we very much liked the rooms/suite and we loved the design and the quality of the bed and the linen and the silence in the hotel, the fresh flowers and the atmosphere are really great, the big dissapointment are the food delivery and presentation and the far too slow and unpolsihed service. ther was only a occupancy of 20% in the hotel but allone the check in took more then one hours( it was late afternoon) and another 45 min until our luggage has arrived in the room. later we received an appologize letter, but also here, we recieved the letter from our friends they received our letter, what shows cleraly no communication between the departments.
we requested a appointment with the GM, we got told he is out for some days and the meet with a young gentleman from reservation department and the manager of safety and security( ??) to place our experince and complaint about the service.
How ever, we did not understand in time like this what is for the country not easy and with this low occupancy, why does the managemnt not take time for traings and why is nobody available from the hotel management for us not a good sign.
By the end of the day, we enjoyed our stay, but with this quality of sevice we can not reccomend the hotel.
Food in the Mövenpick Hotel far far better and service very fast

Room Tip: We stayed with friends for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel and we liked very much the location, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdobritzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.

Your constructive criticisms have been shared with the respective department heads from the rooms and food and beverage divisions to eliminate such defects to avoid reoccurrence.

I am grateful to receive your comments which enable us to continuously improve the services we are offering. Customers care is our highest priority and we take our guests’ constructive criticism very seriously.

I am really sorry I was unfortunately not able to meet you in person.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited the Nubian Museum then turned up at the Old Cataract for a drink to watch the sun set over the Nile. We weren't staying at the hotel but the staff were very welcoming and invited us in. The view from the terrace outside the bar is fantastic. The drinks were expensive but great for a treat when travelling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Sir,

I am pleased to know that you visited Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your recent visit to Aswan.

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation for the services and facilities.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel on your next trip to Aswan.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My review is long overdue as we have stayed here for 4 nights over New Year's celebrations Dec 2011 - Jan 2012.
It certainly is a true legend, beautifully restored, full of character, history and charm.
We have booked last minute and had a beautifully designed suite on the top of the new building with fabulous Nile views. No expense was spared in restoring this amazing property.
The breakfast had everything you would expect, service was good and the ambience was comfortable and relaxed.
Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moniaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your visit to Aswan during New Year’s celebration.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for providing us with your positive comments on the service you received which will encourage us in our quest for excellence.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights (4 days) at the Sofitel Old Cataract Hotel in Aswan and have nothing but great things to say about the hotel. Having been just recently renovated the hotel is in fantastic condition both inside and out. Our Nile River Suite had a private balcony with a view of Elephantine Island and it's temples. The bed was fantastic though pillows a bit soft however the room was spotless as was the service. It is a pity that the property was virtually deserted due to the lack of tourists in Egypt right now however we will definitly be headed back.

Room Tip: Pick a Nile View Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Our guest satisfaction is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team this will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel was very difficult to sum up fairly! The combination of history, nearby temples, luxury and a beautiful Nile-side location with easy access to the 'real' Egypt on the doorstep, made a stay at the Old Cataract unique.

Best bits:

- A splendid Nile side location in Aswan. The hotel feels both in Aswan & a million miles away at the same time. I truly recommend a Nile view as this is what makes the location so special.

- The old buildings and Nile Wing have been refurbished with style and sympathy. The setting is unique and the terrace is splendid for breakfast and drinks.

- The pool is beautifully placed in the gardens near the Nile and a swim before sunset looking out over the ruins on the opposite bank of the Nile is truly memorable. Saw no mosquitoes the entire time.

- Our Nile Wing room was large and on the 8th floor had beautiful views over the river. There was a splendid balcony big enough for four chairs and a table. There was virtually no noise from any adjoining room or the corridor outside.

- I've also never stayed in a hotel with three layers of curtains which most effectively block the bright morning sunlight if you want a late start.

- The bathrooms are splendid (staying in Nile luxury room). Dual sinks, huge freestanding V&B bath (strangely no plugs for the sinks).

- The mattress was really good.... when compared to Sheraton's heavenly bed etc.

- The gym on the ground floor of the Nile Wing was quiet, had good equipment, a garden view, cold water & towels.

- There was free wifi throughout the hotel. This should be a prerequisite nowadays but many hotels still seem to try to charge a fortune! Well done Sofitel.

- The Nespresso capsule coffee machine in the room (including decaf capsules) was a nice touch and appreciated. There was also a kettle & minibar/fridge.

- Housekeeping were unobtrusive and quick to fit into our particular preferred regime. The rooms were well cleaned.


Other observations:

- The food was sometimes variable. The room service menu is limited but the hotel were happy to deliver some items from the restaurants and it was very pleasant to eat on the balcony. There were several instances of food being slightly / substantially undercooked. We remained well throughout! The standard of English also varied hugely and could be frustrating, though there were some very competent younger staff.

- Service to me felt overbearing at times. This was maybe due in part to being almost the only diners when tour groups were not staying at the hotel. In restaurants, or at breakfast, service was uniformly slow and slightly random.

- When tour groups arrived the hotel coped fine - the only implications of high occupancy were problems with space poolside & when occupancy was low the breakfast buffet disappears so you ordered items individually.

- Food is expensive, as would be expected. We chose not to eat in the 1902 restaurant, having been somewhat put off by being told the menu only changed around once a month. Also, with such wonderful outside temperatures & a European winter to look forward to we wanted to stay in the warm!

- With the possible exception of the drinkable local beer, alcohol is a very expensive. I was quoted corkage charge of LE250 (£25) to bring my own bottle to the restaurant. You may also want to utilise your additional allowance at the duty free shop on arrival.

- Silly little things were a little frustrating ...... eg the clocks in the rooms never showed the right time, or even the same time. Others had the same problem. The Bose systems didn't seem to have an iPod dock and for the life of me I couldn't get the DVD player to play a region 2 DVD. Sometimes glasses & cups were cleaned by room service; sometimes not.

As Aswan isn't easy to get to & the hotel's not operating entirely to world class standards, I feel it's somewhat overpriced. Rather than explore, if I'd just wanted a week relaxing at the slickest non-metropolitan hotel in Egypt then I may have opted for the Four Seasons in Sharm.

But with the refurbishment currently looking at its best and the hotel's amazing historical setting beside the Nile, I feel this made the Old Cataract worth at least one special trip! It was certainly a very relaxing week in Aswan.

Room Tip: A high floor in the Nile Wing is likely to offer splendid elevated views over the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofarsogood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for writing such an extensive review on your stay at our hotel.

Your constructive comments and criticism are well noted and the various departments concerned have been notified in order to take immediate action wherever necessary.

I am grateful to receive your comments which enable us to continuously improve the services we are offering and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered.

I appreciate you took the time to inform us on what you experienced in the hotel and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for just 3 nights in early September. We booked a Prestige Suite but they upgraded us free to one of their top suites. It was quite simply the most beautiful suite we heve ever stayed in with an amazing view of this really pretty part of The Nile from the balcony. The whole place just oozes elegance and charm and is complimented by the high quality of the staff, who are helpful and friendly without being overbearing. It's quite simply the most stunning Hotel we've ever stayed at and is a credit to the whole Sofitel Group.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Nile View and make sure you try the breakfast strawberry and guava smoothie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsspotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for your feedback.
Exceeding our guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

I have indeed shared your feedback with our team. Your comments will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

I look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is literally on the most magical spot in Egypt. The view and ambience are unparalleled by anything else you will see or experience.
This used to be an old royal palace so ofcourse the old building is exquisite and extremely well-kept.
Staff are friendly, rooms are very luxurious with advanced technology and careful attention to details.
Overall it's a charming place to stay at. It's really quiet and serene.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I was very pleased to learn you enjoyed your visit and that the recent renovation was to your taste.

I would like to thank you for your valuable comments and positive feedback, rest assured this will encourage us to continue our pursuit of excellence.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#4 of 22 in Aswan
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
1 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range: $132 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing