We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveler rating
1,200
193
57
38
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
193
57
38
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsagatha christieold cataractnile wingwinston churchillthe oriental restaurantnew wingold worldindoor pooloriginal buildingsteam roomhigh teaterrace restaurantdress codesteeped in historywinter palacestunning hotelthe river
Filter
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Wife & I were staying some time in Aswan & decided to take a look at Old Cataract for a possible few nights of luxury. Grounds are beautiful, but the positive impression ended on the lawn. We decided to try out the restaurant for tea & cakes before looking at a room.

After sitting for 10 minutes, a waiter arrived & asked if we were hotel guests. We informed him we were not, and were rudely told we were sitting in on a terrace reserved for hotel guests. He directed us to another terrace, and we relocated.

Twenty minutes of waiting on the second terrace finally produced a second waiter who said the area was "reserved" and we could not remain there. He then directed us to a terrace on a lower level. In order to reach the lower level we had to walk through the first terrace again, where the original waiter glared at us until we were safely out of his jurisdiction.

Once we reached the lower level we were presented with menus, and the waiter disappeared. After waiting 10 minutes for him to return, we decided we didn't want to pay $50 for tea & a dessert, so we left.

Needless to say, we lost our appetite to see a room by then and returned to our 1-star hotel, where at least we were made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: The hotel just reopened recently, so you may want to wait until they learn some manners before booking.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Pocestnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

I was so sorry to read about your experience with us and I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

As we value your comments, we would appreciate if you could give us a phone number or an email address to review with you what looks like a negative experience.

Looking forward to hearing from you

Sincere regards,

Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

A truly remarkable hotel which has been renovated with no expense spared. We were given a set of three rooms which were in the modern annex (formerly the new cataract hotel). The views over the Nile and the hotel gardens were magnificent, and the rooms were very spacious and extremely luxurious. The service was impeccable without being overbearing, and there was considerable attention to detail. Of course none of this comes cheaply, and the restauarant in particular, though of very high quality, was as much as one would pay in a top quality establishment in any western european city.

I would certainly recommend the hotel to others. If you have the money, the idea of whiling away a few days (or more) here during a European winter is very attractive indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuyBrussels_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

I am delighted to read your feedback about your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our high standard of services; it was really rewarding and motivating. We have a passion for our guests and we do our utmost to indulge them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Sincerely yours,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We went to Aswan for our honeymoon we stayed here one week in December 2011, and had a wonderful time, the room we stayed in was large, excellent, and the garden is wonderful and the smell from the flowers (especially at night) is breathtaking, the sun beds around the pool are extremely comfortable. The staff are very friendly specially the tow Hussein the big and small and Minerva in Alsaraya restaurant, the view from our room are fantastic.

Thank you to all the staff! and we hope we can come back soon!
• Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed Abdel Azi... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

It was an honor to welcome you at our property during your honeymoon and we are glad that your stay was enjoyable and unforgettable.

I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind and generous feedback which I shared straight away with my whole team. We genuinely try and make our guests' stays with us as personal and memorable as possible.

I thank you for mentioning the staff you've been in contact with as it is very rewarding to know that we have satisfied our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Aswan, very soon hopefully

Sincere regards,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

One of the finest hotels in the World in terms of Character and Location.
Service is not quiet there yet and Sofitel need to do more thorough training as staff pretend they understand you and have no real idea. Everyone greets you in French but most of them cannot converse in French. Prices are too high for Egypt though and they need to come down. £16 for a G&T and 40$ for breakfast is just not workable in Aswan. Eventually we were not charged for breakfast and if I had known I might have tried more things.Bargains can be negotiated as hotel has just opened and is nowhere near full.

Room Tip: internet in Egypt is always slow and non dependable. What the hotels can do about this I don't know. The rooms in the Nile Building are huge and although the building is ugly you overlook the Palace from your room so you have the advantage over Palace dwellers?
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardregatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamer L, Executive Assistant Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and I am truly sorry to hear about your disappointment. We have noted your valuable comments. Please rest assured that we try our utmost to fulfill our guests’ satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincere Regards,

Tamer Labib
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in newly-renovated wing. Upgraded to an amazing suite overlooking the Nile. The room looked like something out of a glossy magazine spread from CondeNast Traveler. Beautiful!

It was our anniversary week and I was greeted with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers at check-in, and a really nice treat of fruits, sweets, and champagne once in our room.

I wish we had an extra day to stay here just to enjoy sitting by the pool (but we had too much sightseeing planned - like a day trip to Abu Simbel).

Hotel's sightseeing tour prices were really high - luckily we found a local operator (Amr Tours based in Aswan) which provided excellent transportation to Abu Simbel, local sightseeing, and a full-day sightseeing transfer to Luxor.
Terrace restaurant was nice. Bar was also nice -

Room Tip: Newly renovated wing with a Nile view
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBY_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

I thank you for such positive feedback which I have obviously shared with my whole team and I am most pleased to hear that you came over to Aswan and enjoyed your anniversary with us. It is always a delight to hear our guests’ satisfaction in staying with us. Indeed our priority is to go beyond their expectations as we love to indulge and surprise them.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the near future.

Sincere regards,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews