We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathe taking and wonderful people.”
Review of AnaKato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AnaKato
Ranked #1 of 17 Aswan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My friend and I, really enjoyed our stay there. The lay out of the place is spacious with outside areas you can lounge around and take in the nile river and desert simultaneously. The room is cozy, bed is comfy, and you can enjoy a well pressured shower.
The hotel staff are very friendly, you tell them the time you would like to eat and the food will be ready at that time. You can sit anywhere you wish top, middle, or lower deck. The food is amazing, Egyptian/African style food. Great lentil soup, rice cooked in spices, potatoes baked with red onion, Kofta, seasoned grilled fish (favorite), grilled chicken (dry), nice bread, cheeses, and it goes on and on. Each sitting offered more than enough food.
Anakato, is a little drive into town but no worries you can arrange to have a driver. 30 pounds one way and 50 pounds both ways.
If you are looking for a romantic spot or just a place to relax this is definitely a place to stay. You can really enjoy the Egyptian night here.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for AnaKato
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

The pictures are accurate. Our hosts picked us up at the airport, and this very small hotel (6 or 7 rooms) is a short drive... from pavement to a small dirt road leading through the Nubian village and market. End of the road. Absolutely wonderful! The rooms are small, but we took two. The food was glorious! Served to us anywhere we requested. The staff: gracious, loving, funny. Management staff were BOTH helpful and very professional. From my upstairs room, leaning out the window to watch the camels arrive and depart . Nighttime on the NILE... Air conditioners and fans in all rooms. Yes, the cash payment is a hassle, and I would suggest credit card availability, but otherwise it could not have been more perfect! It is really a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jctraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrZodiak, General Manager at AnaKato, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Thanks for the great remarks, I would like to inform you that we now have credit card payment, also soon online payment on the website. We need your comments to guide us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Being that the Nubians have been dispossessed of their lands with the controversial Aswan Dam, one has to wonder if the posh Anakato is as authentic as they portray themselves to be. The advertisement focuses on the " authenticity " of Nubian village lifestyle, however, the hotel is quite posh for Egyptian standards, with a fabulous website and wonderfully printed napkins. In addition, the management, although very nice and welcoming, does have advertisement on mind. Here is our step by step experience at Anakato :

1) THE LOCATION

The hotel ( or bed and breakfast / eco-lodge ) is located in the village of Gharb Soheil. If you take the 150 Euro, all-inclusive package, there is a free pick up and drop off from wherever you are coming from in Aswan ( i.e. train station or airport ). The village is roughly 15 mins drive away from the city centre. Once you get into a tiny dirt road, that road is lined up with arts and crafts stores that are open to the tourists. It is a short line up of stores with the most fascinating bazaar items. At the end of that street, lies, the exquiisite, beautiful and colourful Anakato ( which means " Our home " in Nubian language ). The hotel is situated where the back part of it faces the wonderful Nile. This part of the Nile is quite clean in Egypt and it is a wonderful experience to swim in it, for the water is cool, fast moving and not stagnant, which makes it quite clean and clear. Tiny paddle boats are docked at the back for Anakato visitors to use.

2) THE HOTEL ( BUILDING ITSELF )

The hotel is truly stunning against the backdrop of the Nile and the great sand dunes behind it. It is done up quite colourfully and the halls and rooms are immaculately clean. If you walk in the narrow hallways, you can smell a wonderful fragrance of perfume or incense that is sprayed inside the rooms. The colours and the decorations on the walls are very unique. The hotel looks like a small house from the front, but once you see it from the back, you will see that it is multi-tiered with wonderful balconies and terraces. The furniture outside are decorated with colourful rugs and there is a very cheerful ambience to the place. At night, the hotel is stunning beyond words. The special mood lighting all around the hotel adds to its great appeal/...and I have to admit that it's quite relaxing and inspiring to sit by the Nile, under the moonlight, on the terraces that are illuminated wonderfully by the traditional clay lamps.

3) THE STAFF ( NOT THE MANAGEMENT ITSELF, BUT THE STAFF )

The staff is WONDERFUL! I especially commend the generosity, warmth and friendliness of the food and beverages staff such as Kimo and Shaban. The man who took us around on the boat on the Nile, to take us sandboarding and swimming, is called Zizzo and he is such a wonderful person to hang out with. The staff are extremely attentive and kind.

4) THE MANAGEMENT

Although the management was welcoming and kind, there seems to be a sense of superficiality about it, that obviously lacks authenticity. The manager Shaymaa is cheery and welcoming, but I couldn't help wonder as to why she kept on pushing for advertisement such as " Spread the news about us " etc etc. Also, we were accosted by one of the night managers who tried to charge my husband 175 Egyptian pounds for a a full body massage that he claimed to be " out of the goodness of his heart ". My husband paid up but the next day, we claimed the money back for after all, the Nubian massage is part of the all-inclusive package. I am very well aware that the hotel makes A LOT OF MONEY, for it charges in Euros. 150 Euros equals to 700 Egyptian pounds and this can get you a LONG WAY in Egypt, due to the relative low cost of prices for all things. In fact, 700 Egyptian pounds can afford you 4 DAYS ( food, beverage included ) in other very nice, eco lodges and bed and breakfast inns all over Egypt! (e.g. The El Fayrouz in Luxor ). So, do not be fooled to think that the Nubian village is lacking in money....for it is very much geared to tourists with money and are willing to give money. Anakato has beautifully printed napkins which says specifically, " Nubian Cultural House "...so the authenticity of actually staying in a Nubian village demises with Anakato. If you really wanted to stay and experience true village life, then you would have to bunk or grab room and board with the actual villagers in the area.

5) THE FOOD

The food was absolutely divine in Anakato. The main cooks ( Kimo and Shaban ) were amazing in concocting up the most traditional meals. The portions are HUGE and it was very difficult for us to finish the meals. However, all three meals were part of the all-inclusive package, with unlimited drinks ( not alcoholic ). The meals were prepared fresh every day, and it included delectable vegetable dishes ( such as okra stew ), tahini, halva, cheeses, fu'ul and of course, meat dishes such as lamb, chicken and grilled fish. We savoured and truly enjoyed the dishes greatly!

6) THE ACTIVITIES

The great thing about the activities is that there are lots of them...however, they come with a price. If you get the 150 Euro all-inclusive per night package, then you tend to get only 2 - 4 out of those activities. IN many ways, the website is EXTREMELY MISLEADING...for even though they say that the package is " all inclusive ", they only allow you to do 2 - 4 of those activities at the very most. When I first researched the place around a few months ago, the manager Shaymaa stated that I was only allowed to have 4 activities to which I agreed. Out of those 4 activities, they made a program for us, where a worker from the hotel ( in this case, we had the wonderful and friendly Zizzo ) to take us around his own village to show how the Nubians really live, sandboarding, swimming in the Nile, fellucca sailing and the entertainment night ( traditional Nubian songs performed for us by Zizzo, who also serves as the in-house musician ). The activities are really the highlight of the stay.....for it gave us a sense of authenticity to the place ( and not the hotel itself ). For instance, it was so fascinating to actually visit the village for you can see how the people really live. We got to touch pet crocodiles, take some amazing National Geographic style pictures, and relax for hours in the company of Nubians who gave us a lot of insight about their history, culture and lifestyle.

7) THE VALUE

I gave an average rating for the value simply bc my husband and I are extremely perceptive and aware of the prices in Egypt. 150 Euros should have afforded us all activities, without having the obligation to give baksheesh for I truly believe that if the management can charge that much, then of course, they can afford to pay their employees well. IN addition, the owner of Anakato is a very rich doctor who not only owns Anakato ( but has built Anakato 2 and is now in the midst of building Anakato 3, complete with a swimming pool ).....and owns multiple pharmacies all over Egypt. So, Anakato is very wealthy in itself. However, what makes up for the rather " fake authenticity " of the hotel are the activities that are provided...with that, the tourists themselves can make the best out of their holiday.

Would I recommend this to my friends ? I would recommend this to my many wealthy friends and colleagues who can afford it...and love the whole independent traveling thing. This place is NOT for budget travelers. It is a place for wealthy retirees, honeymooners or people who like to get introduced to off the beaten path activities in Egypt.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trixcentrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Ana Kato is a beautiful hotel, in an extraordinary setting. The Sahara at your back, the Nile at the front: it was utterly breathtaking.

My ultimate impression of the hotel is that this is a place for lovers, not for women travelling solo. This was definitely one of the spots where my travelling solo was very much an isolating factor. There was no way for me to meet other travellers here, with only 3 rooms. There is no restaurant per se; they tell you what's on for the day and you give a verbal selection, telling them what time you wish to eat. The food was beautifully prepared. I understand after the fact that Ana Kato has another building, with about 7 rooms in that section, but it is rumoured not to be as lovely as the smaller part. My room was just delightful, complete with (much needed) air conditioning. I would suggest you pack mosquito repellent; at night, being right on the edge of the Nile in a quiet bay area, they are very much in evidence.

There is not much option for walking about on one’s own; the Nubian village down the road was, yet again, another tourist place filled with the same constant barrage of “buy my trinkets” that I ran into in Cairo, in Luxor. The village pretty much shuts down when the last felucca leaves. But while it was operating, and while I was walking as a solo female...the usual entreaties to separate me from my wallet.

The staff at Ana Kato are charming and well meaning. The service is excellent, the Nubians living up to their reputation as lovely and welcoming. If you are looking for a totally romantic spot, best reached by a felucca down the Nile, with thoughtful decorating in traditional Nubian style, this is definitely the spot.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This hotel is a small hidden gem in the region of Assuan. Best reached by boat transfer ( needs to be organised with hotel manager) it is siutuated in a nubian village (Gharb Soheil) directly at the nile who in this region is magnificent and magical with bird islands, small beaches, sea grass, etc.
It's built in nubian style like a small castle decorated by Hundertwasser. The rooms are fairly small but equipped with refridgerator and air condition and built in a traditional nubian style. The bathrooms are built like cellar vaults and with simple sanitary equipment.
The staff is very friendly and committed to their work! The food is exeptionary! Typical Egyptian/Nubian food but on a high level. You get freshly squeezed juices, omeletts, very fine cheese and spicy foul for breakfast and fine fish, spicy chicken and traditional vegetarian dishes for dinner. All served on the big terrace which overlooks the Nile.
It is possible to book additional activities like sand skiing, a trip to Abu Simbel, Nubian massage etc. but in first instance it is a great place to just relax!
Not everything in this hotel maybe perfect but the personal charme of the staff and of the whole venue makes this a really magical place to stay in Egypt!

One important point for me is that with visiting this hotel you support the real people locally in Egypt and not the international travel agencies, hotel companies etc.etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Osiris1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

i was search about hotel in aswan to spent my vacation there and when i was look on the travel sites i saw hundred review for anakato i never belive that all this people recomended to same hotel in aswan and it's a small hotel and have no star , i feel that i wanna to go there to see what is the secrat that make all this review written , i send email as reservation and i go there and i find that it's not hotel it;s not by noraml place that anyone can go there to take vacation .i saw landscape and view i never saw in world , and stuff have there first dicision in there life to make any guest go to there home never stop laugh and love , they have no star but i feel that iam a queen and i stay in my royal palace , everything i want it i find it before even i think that i want it , i can't write anymore beacuse anakato need much more bigger , the only thing that make us so sad the our vacation is finish and we leave our paradise but we promise all the stuff there that we must to get back again ane we will stay in the same room no. 4 it's so great but the greatest is the beatiful charctare shymaa and shampoo there great couple in everything !!!!!!
i miss anakato

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights here before our cruise up the nile. Interesting hotel with lots of character. The entire staff at the hotel are Nubians and were all so friendly and arranged for us to do everything we wanted to do (camel rides, Abu Simbel, Henna Tattoo). Karim took us around in his boat up and down the Nile and dropped us off at various spots to visit and then picked us up after. I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking an interesting hotel with lots of character!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirll231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
2.6 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Aswan
3.3 mi away
Nubian Holiday House Aswan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AnaKato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AnaKato

Address: Gharb Soheil | El Noba, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Aswan
Price Range: $76 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AnaKato 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is an authentic hotel on the west shore of the river Nile of Aswan featuring the magnificent Nubian culture and by the way Anakato means “our home’’. It consists of 3 Nubian houses (Wer, Owy and Toski) characterized by the colorful decorations illustrating the Nubian civilization. Everything in the place is different! The amazing Nile view hugged by the desert gives you a great chance to isolate yourself from the daily hectic routine and just enjoy the tranquility and nature. Every inch in the place represents the Nubian culture; the walls, the rooms, the passage and the food as well . You will find countless activities to enjoy at the Anakato hotel ; a boat ride to discover the river Nile‘s mysteries, sand boarding, a camel ride, Nubian folklore, natural therapies like sand burial to cure various diseases such as rheumatism and rheumatoid arthritis and masks which will leave your skin silky smooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AnaKato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Kato Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing