We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an impressive site”

Temple of Horus at Edfu
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Day Tour to Aswan: Including Kom Ombo and Edfu Temples from Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction on what is the largest and best preserved Ptolemaic temple in Egypt began in 237 BC by Ptolemy III Euergetes.
Derby
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What an impressive site”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The caleshe ride to the temple is an experience to say the least! But when you first see the temple you can't help but be amazed at the sheer size of the place. As with all temples in Egypt it is essential to have a good guide to explain the history of what you are viewing. It's so good I've got to see it again, one of the best temples to see.

Helpful?
Thank Ianozrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    82
    12
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qaha city,Egypt
Level Contributor
267 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Almost the only completed and preserved temple in Egypt”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

You will take the HANTOUR trip to reach the temple, don't be afraid from shaking while they move. The temple is great and huge and it is well preserved and it is dedicated for god Horus, try to explore every coin of it in order not to miss any thing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good temple”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The coach that I used to get to the temple was actually not as bad as some of the comments below suggest. The horse was in good condition and the driver was a nice guy, although I may have just been lucky. The temple itself was in very good condition and most of the roof was still intact. There was not too much colour but nevertheless it is still a great temple to visit, excusing the fact that some of the coaches and horses that take you to the temple are in bad condition.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank zamalek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip from Luxor”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A day trip to Edfu was one of the most pleasant things I have done in Egypt. We went by private auto from Luxor. The trip was about a two hour trip. The temple is one of the best preserved temples in Egypt. The wall decorations are fantastic and easily recognized. We got there about 10:30 and the cruise boats had already left. Therefore, there were very few people and we could take our time and enjoy the temple in peace and quiet. Spent over two hours with our guide, Mohsen Al Barbry, who is one of the most knowledgeable guides I have met. We left Luxor at 9:00 AM and were back at the flat by shortly after 15:00. i highly recommend Edfu for a day trip from Luxor. I had been there once before when on a boat cruise on the Nile. There was not enough time to totally appreciate the temple then and there were too many people to experience the magnificence of the temple

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Currently off-limits”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The local kalash drivers have apparently taken to stoning coaches and taxis, forcing people to have to take their rides to get to the temple. Their horses are generally in terrible states of health and so these horse-driven taxis should not be patronised.
Anyone taking a ride is also likely to be taken to their "cousin's" shop and anywhere else they choose. Some of the carriages are also unsafe and wheels have been knwon to drop off, thrown the passengers into the road sustaining injuries which require hospitalisation.
N.B. If your tour operator advises against going and you still decide to go, your travel insurance may be invalid, making those possible hospital bills your own responsibility. BEWARE
This is all a great shame as the temple itself is fabulous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Horus at Edfu also viewed

Edfu, Nile River Valley
Nile River Valley, Egypt
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Temple of Horus at Edfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing