We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge imposing Temple”

Temple of Horus at Edfu
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.50*
and up
Private Tour to the Temple of Edfu from Luxor
More Info
$92.86*
and up
Day Tour to Aswan from Luxor by Bus
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Edfu and Kom Ombo from Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction on what is the largest and best preserved Ptolemaic temple in Egypt began in 237 BC by Ptolemy III Euergetes.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge imposing Temple”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Once you run the gauntlet of hawkers and get your horse and carriage ride to the temple and are inside the complex you first notice just how large the temple is. The statues of Horus on either side of the entry way make you think about the significance of this edifice. The temple still has some paint on the walls from the ancients, and the inner sanctuary is impressive. There are rooms upon rooms to explore and if you have a good guide the temple has secrets to share. We had a great guide and after his explanation of the temple we were left on our own for a bit to discover it's wonders for ourselves.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_Traveler-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    89
    12
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth the minor hassle.....”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Egypt was without doubt the country I finally became fully comfortable with haggling. Its unavoidable, so you either sink or swim. Once you leave the boats, its a 10 minute horse carriage ride through the town. This in itself was a nice bonus. Sometimes you are so temple fixated that observing the local culture is forgotten about.

Once you arrive near the temple, there is a small army of hawkers wondering "how they can take your money today Sir!" You have to admire their straight forwardness I suppose.
The temple itself was one of the most impressive I viewed on a fairly busy itinerary. It was one of the best preserved in Egypt. A combination of the dry desert climate and that fact that until about 150 years ago, the whole place was submerged in sand. The wall carvings are in great condition throughout and really pop out at you.

After the Temple of Luxor, this would be the highlight of any Nile Cruise journey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spartan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Jewel In The Sand”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Temple of Horus at Edfu (about 70 miles south of Luxor) is a little over 2000 years old with the oldest parts built by Ptolemy III, and so is from a completely different era to the temples at Luxor. It Is a huge, well preserved structure with most ceilings still intact, consequently it makes quite an impact.
An enormous Pylon, with its capital intact, displaying gigantic carvings of the hawk-god Horus is the impressive introduction to the temple.

Beyond is a gigantic courtyard with 18 columns and further along are more halls with columns and ceilings still showing vivid colours, a torch would be helpful in some parts of this area.
At the far end of the temple is a sarcophagus decorated with a model of a traditional funeral barque, a most impressive sight.
On one of the outer walls on the left hand side of the temple can be seen a memorial to British soldiers killed in service in this region, although incongruous it is still quite moving.

The complex is about a 20 minute walk from the river, but no tourist should attempt to walk. Edfu town was the least appealing place we visited in Egypt, dusty, dirty with dilapidated buildings and many locals just sat by the side of the road. Stray dogs scavenging for food, people crammed in the backs of ancient vans or trucks making their way about town, contrasted with some individuals in new prestige cars.
Transport is generally by a caleche, a small carriage probably pulled by an emaciated, badly treated horse, which is not a pleasant experience either.
Of course entering and leaving the temple site you will have to pass the avenue of vendors, who are even more aggressive than those in Luxor.

Overall a wonderful temple, well worth a visit, but be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanda-Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horse and carriage ride was fun”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped here on our Nile cruise on the Sonesta Moon Goddess. We were warned ahead of time that the carriage drivers are never happy with tips. Our trip included paymentvtocdriver and it was suggested we tip 10le. Driver grumbled, but oh well. The temple is a smaller one with lots to look at.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent temple in fantastic condition”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Don't be put off by the comments about the salesmen and the horse and carriage rides - this is a temple that is well worth visiting and it would be a shame to miss out on seeing it if you have the chance.
The temple was very quiet when we visited it and I could really feel the weight of all the history here. Very well preserved having been buried in sand for so long, with some of the original gold and blue paint still visible.
It was good to have a guide with us to point out all of the main features and the meanings of the impressive wall carvings.
Early Christians had defaced some of the walls and in some places the roof is black with soot from their fires, but this is as much part of the temple's history as everything else.
I really enjoyed this visit.
As to the horse and carriage (caleche) ride - I suppose it depends on your point of view and the driver that you have. Our driver was very polite pointing out things as we went and I quite enjoyed riding through Edfu town seeing everyone going about their daily lives.
I have to agree though that the salesmen outside Edfu were the pushiest that we had come across - waiting for us at the temple gates as we finished. But if you don't want to buy anything just ignore them. You get better at this as the holiday goes on!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeXplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Horus at Edfu also viewed

Edfu, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Temple of Horus at Edfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing