We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The end justifies the means” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Nasser

Lake Nasser
Book In Advance
More Info
$260.00*
and up
Lake Nasser Fishing Safari Trip with Lunch Included
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This artificial lake, which was created after the construction of the Aswan Dam, is more than 500 kilometers long of which 150 belong to the Sudan.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The end justifies the means”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The only reason to take this cruise is the visit to Abu Simbel and the Ramses temple. Having said that, it is too bed that our particular trip on the Movenpick Prince Abbas only allowed for two hours at the site. Our cruise was a return trip from Aswan. Because of lack of tourists, there was. I return flight from Abu Simbel available. We chose to return by boat rather than by bus. In hindsight I would have taken the bus.
Outbound there were only 32 tourists on the boat. Return had only 12. This year there have been only three sailings total. Brutal tourist economy. They need help! But don't go based on pity. Go because Abu Simbel ranks with Karnak and valley of the kings as egypt stop attraction. Way better than GiA pyramids.
Outbound cruise stopped at three other smaller temples which were good but not great. You will see more and better temples on the Nile cruise. Still, it is good to stop and tour a bit. The real gem, as mentioned, is Abu Simbel. We also did the sound and light show whichever as disappointing. Too much drama and the script was not informative - too dramatic.
Return cruise stopped at the same temples so we opted to stay on the boat. This made for a slow and boring cruise. But if you like the sun and need he downtime then you will enjoy the return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bethanddavetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"our houseboat safari on Lake Nasser"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Forget your cares,your contacts and your computer. If you love tranquillity, Big starry skies, Desert landscapes and relaxing on a comfortable small boat The African Angler Safari could be for you. We particularly enjoyed the tasty meals served on deck of the mother boat and wonderful long walks exploring the desert islands with or without our enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide Mohamed. In the day we would explore the creeks where we would catch glimpses of the occasional shy crocodiles and see and hear the beautiful birds in this area including flocks of pelicans. Each evening we fished in the sunset before wining and dining on the mother boat. Many thanks to Tim and Youssef for the way they organised everything and to Mohamed and his crew for looking after us so well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The African Angler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just the idea of an African Safari sounds fantastic.

Toss into it breathtaking desert scenes, exquisite sunsets, house boats and exotic species of sport fish and fishing and well......you have a slice of paradise on earth.

Tim Bailey is the brains behind the operation along with his wonderful staff of Nubian guides and crew who look after you on this trip of a lifetime.
This tailor made trip covers the water area of Lake Aswan in the south of Egypt away from the madness of Cairo. It is truly magnificent -

Sunsets, fishing, swimming, bird watching or just chilling with a quiet beer on the house boat as it travels to the next overnight mooring.
Oh, and if you enjoy authentic Egyptian food with a Nubian twist - well, you might just have landed in the afterlife.

Pharaoh's treatment at reasonable costs look no further than the African Angler.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev_Dogtooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heavenly cruise on the Omar el Khayam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My thanks to all the crew who made our voyage from Aswan to Abu simbel such a memorable trip. This is a fantastic boat and the crew were so helpful to the 14 passengers that made the trip. It is such a shame to see only one boat running and so little people visiting such a beautiful place in the world.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wadi al-subu temple, lake nasser”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sailing on the Omar el Khayam out of Luxor, we travelled up river towards Abu Simble
stopping off at various places of interest on the way, the most outstanding was Dakka
and Wadi al Subu temples on the west bank of lake Nasser. The boat anchored off
shore and we were ferried over to the shore, a short walk and then we were at the Wadi
al Subu temple which has two columns of sphinx approaching the temple pylons.
these sphinx were of great interest as they have human heads complete with headress.
There is a standing statue at the top of some stairs and then the entrance to the temple.
A camel ride of approx. 1 km and we were at the Dakka temple which is open and we
walked around the complex, returning via our ferry to the boat, an interesting day out.
do not go for a swim as there are crocodiles in the vacinity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Nasser also viewed

 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Lake Nasser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing