We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, with just a minor issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Giza
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with just a minor issue”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First the big stuff. Cairo is safe, and it feels safe.
The hotel was clean, the hotel swimming pool was clean, the food was good (we were only B&B), and the facilities - TV etc. all worked. The only main issue was the shower was rubbish - weak with an inconsistent temperature. This is noteworthy, as you really need a good shower in a hot country.

Room Tip: Great pyramid view - worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawDoc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    199
    128
    48
    43
See reviews for
138
148
66
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 8 nights, at the end if march 2013, i must say firstly, the rooms were very clean an tidy, lobby was clean, atmosphere was good with free wifi in reception area. Food was nice and interesting enough, only had a problem 1 day when a staff member did not know what half board meant so i had to resolve situation at the reception. Also room was not cleaned one day due to staff shortage. Apart from that overall a nice retreat from all the fun and hassle and bussle of Cairo, s good managed hotel,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellotherejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located near a big local shopping centre where it is safe to wander (dressed appropriately)so you are not limited to eating hotel food all day. Giza is a safer choice than downtown Cairo for western tourists at present and this hotel is not expensive for what it offers.
I did twin share here and the room was comfortable and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool and over to the pyramids. There was no jug or coffee in the room, though, which was a bit of a let down, given most hotels offer this now.
The hotel lobby staff were not very helpful or friendly, but everyone else who worked there went out of their eay to please us, which was gooood!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandramaybarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Once upon a time, I believe there was a time one can view the pyramids directly from the pool area clearly but it's now seemingly covered up by apartment & office buildings, as well as a highway & pollution.

Good points:

1. Free & fast wi-fi in the hotel lobby
2. Decent dinner at the restaurant
3. Mix between professional, friendly & helpful service with misses on communication, timeliness & follow-up
4. Quite close to the Giza Pyramids by car & other attractions
5. Pretty decent policies on phone calls
6. There's a camel by the pool for those who would like to shower right after riding it

No bad points except for point # 3 on an issue we had but it was resolved after speaking with the manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This my third stay in this hotel it became cheaper than 4 years ago. I was in a scientific meeting and I was afraid to return back at night so I decided to book in this hotel which I had a good experience of it. Believe it or not it was cheaper than before but with nice quality still on H.B basis. The rooms were clean. The food was nice, and most of all:the staff were friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drhodsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Grand Pyramids hotel so we could visit the pyramids and we were not disappointed. I got the room cheaply off a third party website so I wasn't sure about the quality of the hotel but it was your run of the mill American chain hotel. Big complex and rooms, clean pool, lots of loungers, big free breakfast buffet etc etc. My only complaint is that children can use the indoor heated pool for free but adults are $5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillips burgs sint maarten
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

great hotel and amazing i don't ask for more in this hotel ,i stayed there for 5 days ,i'd like to go back sure nice food and clean rooms ,hope eygpt will be good like before ,miss this country lots.
reasonable prices

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lili-1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.9 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
2.4 mi away
Amarante Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
1.8 mi away
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pyramids Hotel

Property: Grand Pyramids Hotel
Address: 53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Giza
#17 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Pyramids
Grand Pyramids Giza
Grand Pyramids Hotel Cairo
Grand Pyramids Cairo
Grand Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing