We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Pyramids Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in Oct 2012. A nice hotel with clean room, and free WiFi in the lobby.
We got a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. The room was spacious and clean, but not sound isolated from the hall or the outside.
Some mornings we were awakened by the smell of cooking meat or something like that, that probably came from the restaurant below. We think maybe the room service cooking was done in our building, because this smell would reach our room in the middle of the night as well sometimes.
The housekeeping was also varying. One morning they knocked on our door before 9 am, the next day we returned from an excursion at about 2-3 pm, and they had not cleaned our room, and the day after we returned at 5 pm and the room was still not clean! One would think that they managed to clean the room sometime between 10 and 3 when most people are out...
The breakfast was abundant of unhealthy goodies, but very little to choose from if you'd like something more sustainable like dark bread or regular cheese... So most days eggs, pancakes and croissants would have to do.
By the pool there is a bedouin tent where you can have drinks and shisha with "live" arabic music. This means a singer with karaoke music. Sometimes good, sometimes horrible. And you might as well join in the tent for this, as the music is so loud you hear it in your non-soundisolated room until 11 pm anyway.
On the upside, drinks and shisha in the bedouin tent were at least not overpriced like in some other hotels we've stayed at.
Also, one last horrible thing. The hotel offers a taxi service that they prefer you use. We never used this, as hotel taxis are much more expensive than the local taxis with meter. We befriended a taxi driver who hung out outside the hotel area, and had him drive us everywhere we needed for a reasonable price (we decided to give a fixed priced slightly higher than meter price (50 EGP will take you just about anywhere in Cairo), which gave us a reliable and happy driver, and still dirt cheap for us). We arranged with him to take us to the airport when we were leaving, and the hotel taxi service people barely let us go with him. They tried to force us to use their service, and we later learned from our driver that they had threatened him one day when he had dropped us off at the hotel, with pressing charges to the police for "stealing" their customers. We would never had gone with the hotel taxi service either way, but we were so upset when we learned this! We will never stay at the Grand Pyramids again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabbelurius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    199
    127
    48
    40
See reviews for
137
146
66
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Sept 2012, very beautiful hotel, food was ok, clean, however a couple of incidents happened that very extreme that had to do with customer service. First there is a bank there and ATM, when i went to go to get money out of it, it did not dispense money but later on charged me for it. when I went to the man at the bank he laughed at me and called me a liar. He was also rude to another lady. Not very helpful or professional at all. Also, when I went down to the bar to get my son a drink because it was so hot, the bartender was not giving me my change back until the other bartender told him to. He must have thought I was a dum tourist, Also the music at night sometimes kept my son and me up because it was so loud. Also, when you first step up to the hotel it is very dangerous, should be a ramp or something there, not very handicappe friendly at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have just returned from Egypt and felt that I just had to write a review for hotel company golden Tours.amazing service and experience with the drivers,im planned the rest of the stay with them. For a very reasonable amount of money i had a private car constantly with me ,!! The driver were very polite and very knowledgeable, funny, , and helpful . golden hotel tours is highly recommended and i will surely use it again in the future!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable.We were in the restaurant when a large group of people came in,they were walking round eating off thier plates with thier fingers and picking up food nibbling at it and then putting i back on the buffet DISGUSTING!!.No-one from the hotel batted an eyelid.The food was cold and inedible,we were a party of four and we were all ill after staying in this hotel.The stairs have not been cleaned for some time,food strewn on the floor.We went back to luxor and stayed at the Sofitel Karnak it is a brilliant hotel,very clean and HOT FOOD.We were half board at the Grand pyramids hotel,the restaurant is the pits and if you ask for butter,cold milk or a drink etc. be prepared for a very long wait.Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

the hotel is in a good location close to pyramids the pool is clean and great for a swim after a long hot day the rooms are clean it is good value for the money the travel agency in the hotel is grand pyramids tours mohhamed michael peter are the best u can count on them for all of your needs they picked me up at the airport and arranged other tours for me they are very profesional over all i would definetly stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed there with my friend, and it was a good accommodation, also the area is nice as it's near from the main street, we booked 6 nights package but we stayed in Cairo for 3 days then we went to Luxor for 2 days then we backed again to Cairo for 1 night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnReno307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

With the blessing of God my family and I were able to experience the best trip by far that we have ever been on. The success of our trip was in main part to the diligent work of golden hotel taxi ,from the hop they provided us with the best options and made all the work effortless on our part. The sites where excellent and very interesting. We recommend this company, all of us , and there were 3 of us, we had such a safe memorable trip that we will never forget the laughs the history and the kindness bestowed upon us by our driver farid thank you again for the quality work you all provide.

The Hotel is .. fabulous setting, lovely grounds, swimming pool and the food in the restaurant is really good. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and have all you need. The Hotel reception is ornate and was previously a Palace . The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
1.0 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pyramids Hotel

Property: Grand Pyramids Hotel
Address: 53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Giza
#16 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Pyramids
Grand Pyramids Giza
Grand Pyramids Hotel Cairo
Grand Pyramids Cairo
Grand Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing