We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Valley of the Whales (Wadi Al-Hitan)
  
Ways to Experience Valley of the Whales (Wadi Al-Hitan)
from $41.40
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
47
8
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
47
8
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale bones protected area magic lake open museum day trip small museum amazing experience fossils landscape fayoum skeleton safari desert visitors prehistoric cairo falls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 61 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2019

We did a long, but fun, day trip to see the Fossil Whales, Al Ritan, Al Fayoum in the western Sahara at Wadi Al-Hitan with Nahla from Toursbylocals & it was amazing. She knows the area very well. My photos describe it all much better than words. Enjoy !

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank David B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

This was a camping trip in the desert for us with a side trip to the whale bones. So firstly the journey from Cairo into the desert is tough, you’re going in a 4 by 4 across sand dunes and yes your driver is going to try to give you a hair raising tide - which we were up for but if you’re not, tell them!
The museum for the site is new and good quality, nice displays. The site itself is part of a large dried out ocean, so you’re looking at a Martian landscape is what it feels like. The silence is deafening. It’s very large and you feel minuscule. The bones have been rearranged after having been found in rock strata, and laid out to give an idea of size and number. This was apparently a former breeding ground for the creatures hence the large number of bones found.
That’s it, there’s nothing else. So if you’re coming all the way into the desert, you need to really want to see this, as that’s all there is.
That said, we did want to see it, and thought it was pretty cool! If you’re in Egypt and don’t just want to do the obvious stuff, might be worth your time.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank SophieB179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

wonderful place..
i was there several times...
you have to go before sun up...
you have to have sun block...
sun glasses...
and of course water enough to spend such a wonderful day...
the land is flat...

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank Ahmed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

so nice to see to feel to visit that area its date back for more than 1000.000 ago will get new experience

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank EgyptsTours-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

A place which many centuries ago was a part of the ocean is today a dessert .And driving thru the desert and visiting the museum is an amazing experience once should not miss. Had planned this safari with a night stay in desert along with a visit to the museum. The ride in 4x4 and unique experience of having your lunch in the middle of the desert is worth the money paid. The experience of the one who drives is much to be appreciated as there are no road signs or directions ,still these dessert champions navigate with their expertise. Driving on soft sand is not easy and any change in speed can get your jeep struck in the sand.
Our trip started from Cairo on a early morning .Our Guide Mina ,one of the best thing to happen to us, accompanied us. We drove in his car to the base camp, where our breakfast was ready. As we were vegetarians, Mina had ensured for the same -a spl bread similar to a pizza. Then our dessert guide and driver Mr Walid took us on the dessert safari in his 4x4 jeep which was stuffed with all the essentials needed for the ride. And the ride was amazing, especially when our jeep was made to stand on a sand dune almost 90 degrees to the ground. We were taken to the open museum which has a huge collection of the pre historic whales.Then in the middle of the dessert ,our driver prepared our lunch and we really enjoyed it. We did see the magic lake and modawra mountain on our way back.
The dinner and the overnight stay in the dessert base camp was a different experience altogether. As it was too cold for us in the open air, our Guide Mr Mina arranged for the tent to be shifted inside.
We left the place next morning after having our tea.
Thanks to our guide Mina (0020123995147) ,we had a great time.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank raghu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews