We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed December 28, 2008

It was the first time for my wife and my son (5 years old) to visit Egypt ... I wanted it to be a great trip. Four Seasons first resedence was our choice.
The Four Seasons First Residence was an excellent choice, it is really a 5 stars hotel ... From the lovely view of the Nile, the large, clean and well decorated rooms, the lovely and elegant bathrooms, the very professional and wonderful staff and of course the wonderful and tasty food.
It was really an excellent stay in that hotel and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travel-lover1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    87
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
151
203
43
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Like many North Americans, Cairo was a short stopover for us on our way to other parts of the country (Sharm El Sheikh being our primary destination; I have reviewed the Four Seasons Resort there under that property’s TA listing) – so this review isn’t as comprehensive as someone who stayed here for an extended period of time.

Booked one night for two rooms under the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts program for Platinum cardholders. This was an excellent way to go, and something that made our short stay absolutely perfect. Benefits included upgrades for all rooms, breakfast for two per room and a special property-based amenity – for here at the FS First Residence, two 50-minute massages per room (awesome after a 12-hour transatlantic flight!).

Our Cairo-based tour operators (Abercrombie & Kent Egypt) transported us from the airport to the hotel after a visit to the Egyptian Museum. Check-in was easy and extremely pleasant; all of our Amex perks were in order and confirmed. The only glitch was that they upgraded my traveling companion and me into a higher class of room with one king bed (we had requested two twins); once I made our desires known, they quickly changed the room configuration to accommodate our wishes.

I mention this if only to hi-light the stunning service of the FS team: Within the three minutes it took to change the room and for us to get there, a welcome card addressed to me had been shifted from the original to the new room (accompanied by bottled water and some fruit and cookies) – simply stated, I was impressed with the customer service we received and their nimbleness to react to the situation!

The room was lovely and came complete with a balcony overlooking the Cairo zoo. The carpeting in this place felt like it was chenille and it was an absolute dream to walk on! The bathroom was a European set-up with a regular toilet as well as a bidet. Standard FS amenities (L’Occitane toiletries, &tc.) completed the set-up.

After getting settled (as much as one can for only a one-night stay) we hit the terrace pool for some vacation cocktails and a dip into the beautiful pool (heated and wonderfully maintained) that overlooked the Nile river.

Our massages had been scheduled for 7p and we headed down to the spa for check-in. The men’s locker facilities were large, comfortable and very nice … I took a shower and a steam before sitting down to wait for my therapist. I was taken to a dark, candlelit room that had a floor-to-ceiling window that overlooked the Nile – and proceed to receive one of the best massages I have ever had. All made better since the treatment was complimentary via Amex Platinum!

We did room service that evening knowing that we had a full day ahead of us with a visit to the Pyramids and other parts of Cairo, as well as having a late-evening flight onward to Sharm.

Breakfast the next morning was nice – but wildly expensive (approximately $60 pp. if paying out-of-pocket). If possible make sure to book a room that includes breakfast because of this.

We took advantage of the formal bar opposite reception the second evening after we had packed up and were awaiting our transport to the airport. Beautiful room with excellent service.

All-in-all, a lovely property with terrific service. I have heard that the other FS in town (Nile Plaza) is a bit more attuned to North Americas (no direct evidence of this – just something that has come up in some of TA review), but our group was extremely pleased with our short stay at this property.

Definitely expensive (25% taxes added to base room rate for service and accommodation) – but a wonderful introduction to Egypt and a comfortable stopover for the next leg of our journey.

Enjoy your stay here! Happy, safe travels to all.

  • Liked — Spa, pool, location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CO_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed at the Four Seasons the Residence in Cairo From 8th November to 10th November 2008 prior to joining a seven day Nile Cruise from Luxor. This was the start of an eagerly awaited holiday and our first visit to Egypt. We were pleased to be upgraded to a deluxe room overlooking the Nile and the hotel supplied bottled water each day. The hotel is sumptious and the breakfast menu caters for many varied tastes. The reception staff were courteous and helpful as were all the staff we met during our stay.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening. It was very good and we had drinks in the Library bar on our last evening. There is a good shopping mall at the hotel which has many restaurants and long opening hours.

The hotel has a beautiful poolside area with a bar and loungers which we enjoyed and marvellous views of the sunset over Cairo. Staying at this hotel made our first visit to Egypt a memorable one.

  • Liked — The convenient location, helpful staff and excellent food
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Spent 5 nights here to celebrate my Husband's Birthday. I asked the Concierge to help me book a special restaurant and as soon as they knew it was Hubbies Birthday they sent a cake and card up to the room and everyone from the housekeeper to the staff in the restaurants kept wishing him Happy Birthday - for three days!!

This place is an oasis in the madness that is Cairo. It is immaculate. We booked a Deluxe Room, which was large and had views of the Nile. The pools were constantly being cleaned. One evening a gentleman from Housekeeping came to check the room and he walked up to the window and pulled out a cloth to remove the marks made by my face pressing up to the glass! I had to reassure him I had done it since the room was cleaned. Each night they turned the bed down and put a mat and pair of slippers on each side of the bed and changed the towels in the bathroom. The beds had very high quality cotton sheets on (well, it is Egypt)!

L'Occitaine toiletries in the bathroom with a big shower cubicle and powerful hot shower plus a bath and as with the rest of the hotel, a huge amount of marble and granite.

All the staff seemed to know who we were and they greeted you on the way to breakfast and when you returned from a day out. You are treated like Royalty. I was sitting at a table round the pool with my handbag on the floor when a member of staff appeared with an attachment that hung from the table with a hook for my bag!

The Thai restaurant was excellent and breakfast in the Seasons restaurant was very good. One evening we had a room service dinner and it was delivered on a trolley/table and the guy stayed to seat us and dish out the food. They never failed to surprise you.

In an earlier review somebody mentioned the lack of a flat screen TV and like him, you feel as though you are nit picking to mention it. There were English films on every night and several US shows.

The other useful thing they did was when we ordered a taxi to go somewhere, they would negotiate the price with the Taxi driver, which meant you were never ripped off.

If you are looking for somewhere special in Cairo, then this should fit the bill.

  • Liked — Immaculate. Fabulous levels of service. Would have been a great holiday if we had never left the hotel!
  • Disliked — Will make most other hotels appear grossly inferior
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Me and my husband stayed in Four Seasons FR end of September for two nights , in a premier room, before our Nile cruise with the Oberoi Zahra. As we expected, the hotel was first class, very clean and the service was excellent. Check-in was very fast and was done in our room and there was a delicious cake waiting for us when we arrived. I will surely recommend this hotel to whoever wants to have a no-hassle stay in Cairo and who wants to experience the Four Seasons luxury!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank davao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We spent 8 days at the Four Seasons First Residence, the staff at this hotel put many others to shame. They are extremely professional, polite and concerned about their guests needs, The rooms are large, well appointed and impeccably serviced. The restaurants offer great food and you can ask for any of the restaurants menu's in any of the restaurants. The Lounges both in the Lobby and the Library have excellent staff and are over accomodating, very friendly and engaging. I left sunglasses at the pool and they were returned without question 1 day later when I inquired, In a chaotic, dirty city this is an oasis of calm and clean that I would recommend to anyone travelling to Cairo.

  • Liked — Size of the room, bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington new zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Arriving from Luxor at 6am on the o/n train & realising - oh no booked the wrong Hotel - thought we'd booked the one on the other bank and then read in TripAdvisor that this hotel was the gaudi equivalent of the new 'Western' one on the other side - but no actually we were not disappointed, particularly the size of the rooms and the quality of the room service. Very good gym - one that realises the value of having a view rather than being stuck in the dungeon - and with s-o-t-a equipment. The only downer slightly about this hotel - the inclusive breakfast which was usually cold and a bit uninteresting. Now - getting around.. we didn't use the Tours organised from the Hotel having heard enough already about the history of Egypt and instead used a 'dedicated' taxi driver - Hosam - who actually found us. He hangs around outside the hotel and picks up tourists with his charming manner - we were quite ready to be charmed and driven. He does this with full knowledge of the hotel, he is not money obsessed (at least on the surface) but does like you to tell the concierge that you have had a good experience with him - fair enough - because the chances are that for a fraction of the cost of a tour you will have had a much more interesting and exciting day. We especially found him useful when going to Dashur Saquara and the Giza Pyramids (avoid the camel/horse rides). He calls himself 'Schumacher' - but will drive slowly on request! This is an expensive place to stay - but we considered it well worth the cost given the mayhem outside!

  • Liked — Convience, size of room, gym
  • Disliked — Expense, breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank poppyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
5.7 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.7 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Address: 35 Giza Street, Giza 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Giza
#1 Business Hotel in Giza
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Cairo, with breathtaking views to enchant you and ancient zoological and botanical gardens just outside your door. At our luxury boutique hotel, enjoy an array of authentic fine dining outlets, lavish spa and opulent meeting spaces, an adjacent designer mall and a casino. Just minutes away from the hotel enjoy the best of the city's arts, culture and shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo At The 1st Residence
Four Seasons Giza
Giza Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo At The First Residence Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing