We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first hotel in Egypt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cairo Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our first hotel in Egypt”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was our first hotel in our package tour of Egypt in November 2012 situated close to the Giza pyramids. We could see the pyramids on our way to check into the hotel in our taxi from Cairo airport. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel room is comfortable, clean and quiet, surrounded by gardens with a balcony in a single storey block of building. There are many blocks of buildings spread out in a garden setting providing a pleasant environment which is different from a multi-store hotel. Breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chong-wah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

All your comments have been forwarded to the concerned departments to know what they do right and what they need to improve and review. We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and Iliked our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    364
    232
    72
    49
See reviews for
263
316
95
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during December 2012.. The Hotel is absolutely fantastic with great rooms, however dont expect a view..Rooms are spacious with all possible amenities. Staff is very helpful and room service is quick. The hotel provides a lavish buffet breakfast. The in house Thai restaurant is awesome. Dont forget to try the signature movenpick icecream. There is a counter right next to the reception.The hotel has a very good swimming pool however couldnt try it due to the cold weather outside.
Very pleased with the experience and overall a good stay. Please note that Wi Fi is not free

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hormazpithawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.

We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel because we have stayed at other Movenpick properties around Europe and have been absolutely "Wowed" by the standards and quality that the Movenpick name represents. Sadly, this individual hotel was far from our expectations.

Let's start with the good things:

This hotel has a Breakfast buffet with an omelet chef which was great. Because of the small amount of guests, some of the food was stale and not edible but for the most part it was good, a large variety and we had the chef cook us eggs each morning.

The hotel has a Thai restaurant onsite with an actual Thai chef. The food was fantastic and we ate here every single night. The food was authentic and better than some of the food we ate during trips to Thailand! This restaurant and chef saved our trip!

The lobby was beautiful, it was every bit of a 5 star hotel. There is an ATM and a bank counter in the hotel for easy changing of money, very convenient.

In general the staff are very friendly, bored because they have nothing to do, but friendly. Out of roughly 275 rooms, perhaps 10-20 were filled at any one time. We frequently had entire restaurants within the hotel to ourselves.

The location was close to the pyramids about 5 minutes away. Not much else going on in that area, if you want to eat Egyptian, there is a restaurant about 10 minute walk (By foot, turn left when leaving the hotel entrance). Hotel security is good and the guards are nice. The location is a safe one if you are worried about the situation in Cairo.


THE BAD

We were really looking forward to the Cafe restaurant with the Pyramid view only to find out that it is "closed for construction", we took this to mean that there aren't enough tourists here so they decided to close it.

The pool was great, but freezing cold. The water temperature was 20 C (68 F), it was so cold we actually only swam once in the entire week. Disappointing. The pool loungers were old and dingy looking.

Wifi is $13 USD per HOUR. That price is shocking and offensively high. We went the entire week without internet because we were not about to spend that kind of money on something that should be free or at least reasonably priced.

The rooms were a big disappointment. Upon arrival, we found a few hairs on the beds and in the bathroom. The shower water pressure was good however there is no safety regulator on the water temperature. I got burned badly on my hands trying to get the right temperature. I have never felt water that hot, it was incredible. Same goes for the sink faucet. Be careful and don't let your kids around it, it's an accident waiting to happen. The bathtub was terrible because of the design. There is a glass separator (instead of a shower curtain) that only covers the first half of the tub, which means it was really easy to flood the entire bathroom when taking a shower.

The best way I can describe the hotel room would be a mixture of old and new with no attention to detail. Where the wall meets the floor would be dirty or have paint there from when they painted. Appliances from the room were yellowed from age. The outside terrace table and chairs were covered in dust, old and had paint splatters on them from when they painted them to try and make them look newer. Generally, I would skip over these small details because they don't really matter, however, this is the Movenpick and they hold themselves to a higher standard and as such, so will I.

The hotel room keycards were not reliable. Sometimes it would take 5 times inserting the card for it to unlock the door.

Because of the severe drop in tourism, the information located in the room binder (Restaurants and service information) is incorrect. This hotel needs to print out a revised one stating the "new" hours for all the restaurants and which days they are open as well as exactly what is available for guests and what isn't. This should be common sense, but as of November 2013 they are leaving the guests to figure it out for themselves.

The baggage handlers are aggressive. Even if you tell them no, they will physically grab your bags from you and not let you take them yourselves. I know Egypt is hurting right now and they need their tips, but don't physically yank someones bag from their hands if they tell you no.

We inquired about a taxi to the Pyramids for two hours and was quoted a price of 125 Egyptian Pounds (~18 USD) for the taxi to take us there and wait for us. I thought the price was high so I went back later in the day when the staff changed to inquire again and was quoted a price of 70 EGP (~10 USD), which we took advantage of. Food for thought.

Food prices were a bit high, but less then we have seen for other similar hotels. In general a meal at this hotel will cost you on average 60 EGP (~9 USD) without drinks. Water and Soft Drinks were about 20 EGP each ($3), so be sure to get some big bottles while you are out and bring them back to your room. The Thai restaurant is worth every penny. The "Italian" restaurant was not very good. We had pizza one day and it was terrible. We ate there once more and had a decent meal, but I recommend you eat Thai when you can, much better.

The hotel needs to renovate the bungalow rooms, which is what we stayed in. It looks like they are adding a new "Hotel" like addition with a new pool and that looks quite nice but the bungalows are old and somewhat tired.

Overall, the staff were generally friendly, the hotel doesn't fail in any one particular area, just lots of small details add up to a not so great experience. We expected much more from Movenpick and will not be staying here again when we return to Cairo, except perhaps to dine at the Thai restaurant! I recommend picking another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PDXDUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention


Therefore, I would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed there with my friends and liked the hotel,also attended one of the Egyptian wedding parties and the band was great.it's so close to the pyramids area which is the main advantage..the food was nice but the internet there was expensive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

All your comments have been forwarded to the concerned departments to know what they do right and what they need to improve and review. We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable


Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The location is amazing, facing the pyramids. Very quite and simple but fully with any facilities like internet, Wi-Fi, satellite like any other 5 star chain or Moevenpick chain. Very safe, specially these days in Cairo and you will be able to avoid the Cairo traffic. Nearby 6th October city its another advantage because you are closed to Mall of Arab (20 minutes by car) and Cairo Media city. The staff are very friendly in every where and I have been accommodated like a king, they give me the feeling that I am owner of the hotel. I am a member of Circle M one of Moevenpick program getting special discount in the room rate and F&B as well.
Special thanks to Miss Shimaa from Circle M reservation and Mr., Mohamed from Hotel reservation, Islam from Front office desk and Mr., Ali the duty Manger and the team crew of the Hotel. They assist me perfectly to have unforgettable vacation and special marriage celebration.
The new hotel extension will add value to the hotel and its guest.

Room Tip: The hotel in one floor Bungalows, any location will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Hussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
All your comments have been forwarded to the concerned departments to know what they do right and what they need to improve and review.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable.


Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,175 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I choose this hotel for the proximity to the Pyramids and the fact that I wanted to avoid Cairo central madness with the traffic. And for me workout. The only thing i regret was choosing maybe this hotel above other of the same price since it didn't offer everything you expect from a chain hotel like the Moevenpick.

The rooms were okay and very clean but they prepared them just after we check in. And in a hotel that almost empty to comply with a pre order room setting I don't think is too much to ask. We asked for a triple room and they told me they have but it was simply adding an extra bed to an already small double room. Still ok since my plan was not to enjoy that much from the facilities of the hotel but I was still surprise.

The other big issue was the fact that almost everything in the hotel had limited hours. Cafe's and restaurants were closed early, the panoramic cafe that allow you to have breakfast in front of the pyramids was rarely open and the view from the deck was closed. I understand that business is low now a days but you cannot limit your facilities according to your bookings in a 5 star hotel and thats unacceptable.

Internet for 15 dollars an hour its a ripoff but that was something that I already knew before hand. Still its also unacceptable for a chain hotel to provide those prices in the year 2013.

Regarding the current situation I would say that for tourist its perfectly find. I feel safer than other place and it was a very smooth trip for me. Can't really complain about any incident or saw any outburst at all.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1 and 2 are on the back of the reception and 10 is too close to the staff entrance. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.

Thank you for excusing us for the inconveniences that you have had encountered during your stay due to business situation.

Therefore, I would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel from canada early morning to being told "under no circumstances should we leave the hotel". It happened that we arrived at the time the pro morsi demonstration was being cleared from the square in giza.

We thought our 9 day tour was going to be a bust. The workers at the front desk did everything they could to assist us in finding a solution to our dilemma. In the end we were at this hotel only about 35 hours. The gift shop was made available for us to shop. Although somewhat stressfull we were eventually taken to the airport for a flight to aswan where we were able to connect up with our nile cruise. Sorry we were not able to enjoy the facilities of this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckymerida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Gues


First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
All your comments have been forwarded to the concerned departments to know what they do right and what they need to improve and review. We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable
Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
632 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Pyramids Hotel

Property: Cairo Pyramids Hotel
Address: Alexandria Road | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids)
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#6 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Pyramids Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Giza at the foot of the Pyramids lies the Cairo Pyramids Hotel. The hotel is the perfect starting point for sightseeing, relaxation and business meetings alike. With elegantly appointed rooms and suites, two swimming pools and a variety of bars and restaurants to choose from. Both the Garden wing and the newly opened Pyramids wing are offering guests a contemporary, convenient and comfortable experience. Just 35 kilometer from downtown and 51 kilometers from Cairo airport and with easy access to the new industrial areas around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairo Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids Hotel Giza
Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids
Cairo Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing