We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairo Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our base for three nights in Cairo. The bungalow layout of the rooms was different, and we quite liked it. The gardens are well kept, the pool & bar inviting, the staff friendly and the reception/restaurant area clean and modern. You can see the pyramids from just outside the hotel, so it's a good base for them and will be better if the new museum across the road is ever finished.

Where the hotel lets itself down is the food. The breakfast buffet choice is wide, but a bit ordinary. Room service is not expensive, but wearing when you have to treble check the order. It's perhaps a bit unfair to mention the renovation work on our last evening in the main restaurant, and that the hotel "club" we were directed to as an alternative was an empty room. All work was finished by the morning.

This apart, the room was comfortable (leading to a big oversleep one morning) and a good shower, once you had worked out how not to flood the rest of the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardandemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable
Best Regards.

Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have spent only one night on the hotel, it was not bad but still lots of things to improve,
the rooms was good and location also is very good, the dinner was not as good as expected, and also water bottles are very expensive and not offered during your stay as most of other hotels.
also you have to buy your own drinks while dining which is not good experience for me.
in front of the hotel the road was not good and there was a lot of dust to be cleaned
also the stuff needs some more training on guest relationship, for example the way they instruct guests is not good, (instead of helping me to get my bag out they told me I have to go back and take another long way with my bags while I ordered them to open the door for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MahmoudElkholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
Therefore, I would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction.
Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm judging this based on it advertising it self as being a 5-star hotel.

Location:
Very close to the pyramids. There is a roof top cafe with great view over the pyramids. However the location is truly bad. There is nothing in Giza. Hard to find stores and restaurants. Cant go or a walk outside as there is mostly roads and nothing to see. Live close to the corniche instead!

Service:
I hate when you get to a 5-star hotel and no one comes to get your bags and you have to wonder where to check in. When I arrive I want my bags picked up directly! Extremly bad check in service. Overall nothing special about the service. Not really the best staff.

Atmosphere and ambience:
Relatively nice garden-hotel. Especially nice for being in Cairo! Its a nice contrast. We had a business suite that was okey. A bit dated though, Extra plus for the beautiful flower bouquet in the room.

Restaurants:
We ate at the Thai restaurant once and I was very pleased with the food and the price. Live music every night was a plus. The cakes in the lobby were disgusting! I have noticed this overall in Egypt, they can't make french pastry. Breakfast was horrendous! Worst I've ever had. The food was old, croissants so dry you almost choked and there was so little food to choose from. Bad, bad bad!

Pool:
The pool was unheated and when I asked about it they said it was broken. I dont believe they ever heat it. Thats the kind of feeling this hotel gives. Lazy, unprofessional and not very interested in service.

Overall:
Not a horrific hotel but for having 5-stars, yes its baaad. Overall I have found Mövenpick hotels in Egypt to be dissapointing. The same for the one in El Gouna. I wont be staying at any Mövenpick in Egypt again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danii88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention
Therefore, I would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction.

Best Regards

Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in 2 interconnecting rooms and really, have absolutely nothing to complain about. The rooms were clean and comfortable, slightly outdated, but that's about it. The beds were big with big soft pillows. There was lots of hot water and the tub had one of those 1/2 glass covers that are a bit annoying as water gets out.

The included breakfast buffet was huge with lots of choices including made-to-order omelettes. The day we were to fly out early in the morning, they were kind enough to make us boxed breakfasts for us to take with. I thought that was super sweet of them.

There is a buffet restaurant in the evening as well as a Thai restaurant. We only ate at the buffet restaurant the one night and it was decent with an ok selection, though expensive. Thankfully they only charged us 1 adult price for the 3 kids as there were no kid prices, but I did have to ask about it. Drinks were not included in the supper buffet. There is also a gym and spa, as well as a kids mini golf though did not use any of these so cannot comment. The pool is quite large, though not heated so can be very cold, at least it was when we were there.

Wifi is available but it is expensive at 135 LE for 24 hrs if I remember correctly. Bottled water was also expensive at 20LE for a large bottle, expensive being a relative word as it's much cheaper at the markets or elsewhere.

You can set up drivers for the day to anywhere in Cairo and area as we did the one day to take us to the Museum, wait for us and take us back. Cost was 140 LE for 6 hrs.

There is no view of the pyramids from the rooms, but just steps out of the hotel, there is a great view.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay with no real complaints and can recommend it to families, couples, singles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,

However , Also we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you may had encountered during your stay with us , On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with the very beautiful landscaping, staff were very friendly and professional specially the reception staff, rooms were clean and tight, pool was okay, only the internet was expensive and not free of charge. we definitely recommend for everybody to enjoy what we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smsma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of April. While not high end, the rooms are spacious and clean. The surroundings are very relaxed and quiet for a major city and we felt more comfortable being a little way out of the city. There are taxis outside the main gate which took us in to town for about £5, much cheaper than the rate when we arranged through the front desk. This hotel was comfortable, especially the beds and was exactly what we, a family of 5, wanted. Breakfast was super, although it would have been good if the coffee shop and pizza restaurant had been open past 6:30pm, however, given how quiet Egypt was, compared to previous visits, I imagine they can't keep them open much longer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards
Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel may promote itself as a luxorious hotel close to the pyramides, but in the end it's just a cozy upper class hotel. We first chose the hotel with the idea that we could walk to the pyramides, but in the end the distance was to far, especially due to the heavy (chaotic) traffic around, so we ended up taking a taxi. The hotel itself consist of several so called terrace houses, meaning 5-10 rooms in a row with it's own terrace in the front. The rooms we're really clean and well maintained. In between the houses there was green lawns, that were also well maintained. There is an attachment being built next door with multi-floor buildings. The service at the front desk (which was strangely situated in the corridor of the main building) was good and professional without being anything extra ordinary. There was an italian restaurant in the garden that we didn't try out except for buying beer to drink at the pool next to the restaurant. The pool, that was big enough to have a refreshing swim,was surrounded with sun chairs. We tried out the restaurant in the evening. The buffet served contained both international as some local dishes so it suits everyone. It was good but a bit expensive, however, it's hassle free and you may need a peaceful place after a hectic day at the pyramides. The only negative things about the hotel was the fact that you had to pay extra for the wifi and then the service in front of the hotel. The corruption and bakshees seemed to have spread to the security personnel as they required "black money" from our taxi we'd ordered to pick us up. This because we hadn't ordered our car through the hotel. I also had the feeling that the porters tried to get bakshees only for their kindness that should be standard in a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MosseTurku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Cairo Pyramids Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
Therefore, We would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction

Best Regards

Inas Sultan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
0.7 mi away
Marriott Mena House, Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 42 in Giza
738 reviews
3.1 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Pyramids Hotel

Address: Alexandria Road -Al Remaia Street | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt (Formerly Movenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids)
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#9 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $50 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Pyramids Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Giza at the foot of the Pyramids lies the Cairo Pyramids Hotel. The hotel is the perfect starting point for sightseeing, relaxation and business meetings alike. With elegantly appointed rooms and suites, two swimming pools and a variety of bars and restaurants to choose from. Both the Garden wing and the newly opened Pyramids wing are offering guests a contemporary, convenient and comfortable experience. Just 35 kilometer from downtown and 51 kilometers from Cairo airport and with easy access to the new industrial areas around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids Hotel Giza
Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids
Cairo Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing