We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff are brilliant ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Giza
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The staff are brilliant ....”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

....but a 4 star rating the hotel is not. We stayed 4 nights in Cairo. The hotel entrance is lovely but the rooms, well they are not modern by western standards. I appreciate there is little money in Egypt with tourist numbers dropping, but I would suggest the hotel get rid of the peach and red colors and go more neutral.
Bad points:
*the shower. Mon dieu. Scolding one minute, ice cold the next. It didn't matter if it was 7am or 8pm. Ouch.
*The breakfast, this is more on the guests who stay, then the hotel. Whilst there is a large choice, the feral locusts who eat there, well just yuck. A group of Indians piled their plates up, threw food on the floor, touched the buffet with hands. I just couldn't eat it. Maybe change to a waiter/menu order system?
*the noise. We were on the 4th floor and could not sleep because of the noise. Double glazing is essential. We were moved to the top floor but still it was like sleeping on the road. Did I say sleeping, there was no sleeping.

Good points:
*friendly staff
*close location to most things
*comfortable beds.
*cleani-ish

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top, bring ear plugs and sleeping tablets. It's Cairo though, so the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    60
    31
    16
See reviews for
43
72
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent one night on our way to Luxor & made sure we stayed elsewhere on our way back! Lobby was dirty & smelt of stale cigarette smoke and the room & bathroom were equally bad. In the morning the room smelt foul because cigarette smoke came trough AC vents. Dinner was the saving grace as we were served a perfectly cooked fish but the buffet breakfast was horrible as was the service- tables were not cleared & plenty of food was littered on the ground. Service was ok but spoken English was a issue. Our recommendation - avoid at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rash86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

had a nice stay there with a nice balcony to see the Pyramides from the 6th floor. Nice breakfastbuffet and nice staff but they don't speak english so maybe we have to study arabe before going there. The taxi service rom the hotel is well organised to go to the airport or elsewhere, nice drivers they speak english. Many nice restaurants so close

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at the Horizon Pyramids Hotel March 2013. This was my very first trip to Egypt. I feel as though I made a very good choice by selecting this hotel. The hotel is very clean and and the service is very good,especially from the restaurant staff. Always helpful and made sure I had everything I needed. Room service was very good. Very prompt in bringing food after ordering. The food in the restaurant was delicious! But, the tour company in the hotel, Golden Pyramid Travel, was EXCELLENT!!! I cannot say enough nice things about these wonderful people! They took care of all my tours from start to finish. My driver was always on time and was great! They all looked out for me, as I was a single female travelling alone. They always made sure I was safe and went above and beyond to make certain my first trip to Egypt was a great one. And thanks to them, it was!! I was a bit skeptical travelling to Egypt alone, given the circumstances, but please believe, I never encountered any problem of any sort the 8 days I was there. This was one of the best trips I have taken! If you have ever wanted to visit Egypt, do it! You will not regret it.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor, and I heard noise from the traffic.But, it's Egypt, you get used to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in the Horizon Pyramids hotel last week from 20-2 till 23-2. Housekeeping was poorly; the glasses in the bathroom were never cleaned, the toilet flush had no force and we had great difficulties to get writh of a big poopy. There was blood on my blanket......

Coffee at breakfast looked like tea and tasted of nothing..... I need a good cup of coffee in the morning. Great disappointment.

On our day of arrival we stayed in the hotel for dinner. We would be picked up 45 minutes later in orde to see the Sound and Light show at pyramids area. We were ashured or food would come in time. We had 10 minutes to eat our food. 2 of us ordered Croque Monsieur which was cold. My sister in law has a gluten allergy and ordered a seafood salad. When the food came she got a plate of plain lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes. She was told that there was wheat in the seafood. Without asking or offering a substitute they gave her a plate of rabbitfood.

The hotel is very modern even minimalistic. I like a bit more oriental.

All in all very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
206 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in Horizon Pyramids Hotel in January this year. The staff were helpful and friendly, so different to other hotels that we encountered throughout Egypt. The Horizon even refused tips, which is very unexpected in Egypt. Our room was very nice and well equipped with a good bathroom which included a bath tub. The restaurant served good food. The reception staff went out of their way to be of service. The gift shop were open to bartering. I cannot fault this establishment. You know, Egypt was not a nice place to visit when we were there. The fear of revolt and consequent huge reduction in tourism rendered its people worried and desperate. We encountered so many unfriendly and dishonest people. Even our tour guide was dishonest. It was so different to when we visited 10 years ago. However, we felt very comfortable and safe at The Horizon Pyramid Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can access the free internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jockaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed 1/29-2/4/13. I can say we were very pleased with the Horizon Pyramids Hotel. We stumbled upon this diamond in the rough after four horrific days at a hotel in Cairo. When the taxi pulled up to the hotel; the outside appearance was very pleasing; once we entered we were greeted by the doorman whom directed us to the reception are. We booked online and requested an early check in. The receptionist advised us that our room wasn't ready and direct us to a sitting area where we could wait while our room was being prepared in which she said it would take fifteen minutes. While waiting for our room a waiter presented us with two wine glasses which contained punch. Before we could finish our punch the receptionist informed us our room was ready. The room was small however it was enough for my husband and me. Our room had a balcony with the Pyramid view. We ordered room service; not only were they speedy the food was delicious. I found the bathroom quite relaxing after a day of exploring. The seep tub and hot was very refreshing. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel. The price is right for all you get.

Room Tip: We stay on the 6th floor in room 602.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMParks_7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#24 of 41 in Giza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amarante Pyramids Hotel
2.7 mi away
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
3.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
#21 of 41 in Giza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Narmer Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aracan Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aracan Pyramids Hotel

Property: Aracan Pyramids Hotel
Address: 198 EL-Haram Street, Giza 12111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aracan Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the land of pharaohs where they built the pyramids and only 10 minutes away, Horizon Pyramids Hotel is there brand new and built proudly aside to this wonder, in which most of the rooms have a pyramids view. And only 20 minutes away from down town, you can visit the most magnificent sightseeing in Cairo. Not only that, it’s just 7 KM away from the world famous Egyptian Museum with its innumerable ancient artifacts and, of course, the ‘must see’ incomparable Tutankhamun death mask and other relics. Horizon Pyramids Hotel is a hotel that can offer you a new perspective on your destination and on the way you can see all things around you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aracan Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramids Hotel Giza
Aracan Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing