We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only stayed here one night and day after a week Nile Cruise plus 6 days in Hurgarda. What a beautiful hotel we were on the 5 th floor with views of the pyramids from our balcony. We had an exhausting day in Ciaro so we ordered room service which was delivered quickly and set out beautifully and was delicious - and not overly expensive. So we sat and ate our meal with the pyramids in the background - very special. Lovely breakfast - lots of choice. Helpful staff. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    1,017
    481
    171
    136
See reviews for
625
1,034
243
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our office in Cairo reserved for me at the Pyramids Meridien, i was worried it would be too old but the rooms at the 4th floor were just renovated and they feel like brand new. I really wish wifi was free of charge like most 5 star hotels nowadays. Food is very good. Most residents are tourists as it is adjacent to the pyramids but still good for business people working around this area

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Let me preface this by saying my wife and I are at the end of a 5 continent 4 month world trip. We have stayed everywhere from terrible home stays, to very nice home stays, to hostels, to a brand new (actual) 5 star resort in Dubai. So we have seen it all as far as accommodations! That being said Le Meridien Pyramids is not a true 5 star hotel in actuality. Do not get me wrong it is nice but if you are used to Ritz and other high end standards, this will be a let down. They appear to be planning a renovation for the lobby and restaurant which will help as the lobby especially is very dated.

In summary:

-Staff is very nice but quite unreliable. Had to ask multiple times for things to be done. You will also notice loads of staff standing around at any given time. Not sure what this is about.

-Wifi is free in the lobby but connectivity is pretty rough and speed is slow.

-Breakfast is plentiful but not amazing. It starts at 3 am which is convenient for early flights but some of the food looks as though is had been setting out since 3 am when we dined at 8 am.

-Rooms are modern but show some wear. Some rooms still have the old school big mamma jamma televisions and do not seem to be updated. Our room was a bit dirty on check in, toiletries were not replenished and house cleaning products were left in the room our second day.

-Alcohol IS AVAILABLE! I have no idea why so many reviews talk of this as a dry hotel! There is a bar in the lobby, a pool bar and in room dining featuring beer, wine and spirits! Pricey but not outrageous.

-Pool is truly incredible! Very very big. There are actually 2 pools and the sun deck is very large. Where else in the world can you lie in the water listen to the waterfall and gaze at the top of the Great Pyramid! One word of warning...our bar man's English was very limited. So discussing my wife's Gluten allergy and my desire to open a tab was impossible. He also tried to charge us more than the listed price for our drinks until I opened the menu and insisted that the daiquiri I ordered was 1 price rather than a liquor and juice which costs more... Just know before you order.

-Location is great, feel very secure and very close to the Pyramids!

All in all would recommend this place to others, but people should be aware that 5 star standards vary from country to country.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

There is absolutely no excuse for the poor staff attitude you encountered. I would like to advise you that positive remedial action have already been taken to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

I would also like to assure you that action has already been taken as a result of your comments. Staff in the Housekeeping Department have been reminded of their responsibilities and duties towards our guests, and of the need to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel has a great view of the pyramids. It is a short walk to the pyramids, but not particularly pedestrian friendly and really better suited to a short and cheap car trip. The hotel staff can arrange a taxi or tour for the pyramids. Overall a nice hotel and the best pyramid view you are likely to find at any of the area hotels.

They have the Starwood green choice program that allows you to decline housekeeping some nights in exchange for Starwood program rewards. I used the green choice on three nights, but was only given credit for one. The lobby wifi was very limited and really forces you into the lobby cafe for reasonable signal. Even in the cafe, the wifi was down for extended periods.

Room Tip: One of the main features of the hotel is the pyramid view, be sure to get a pyramid view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

There is certainly no excuse for the weak wifi coverage in the lobby, and I would like to assure you that I have spoken to the staff concerned, positive remedial action has been taken to ensure a similar situation, such as they experienced, does not recur.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days. The rooms were nice with views of the pyramids. The had everything needed and were clean. It didn't smell like smoke and I'm sensitive to that. The restaurant was lovely as well as the pool. It's a 30 minute ride from the airport, and maybe 10 from the pyramids. Cairo is in a disarray now, but an amazing place to visit. The main lobby is dark, and I believe this is a dry hotel. A solid 4 star!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

I would like to inform you that we do serve alcoholic beverages in all restaurants and bars.

You may also be interested to know that hotel’s public areas are about to undergo a comprehensive refurbishment program.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel has great Pyramid views from the pool and many of the rooms. Notwithstanding the position it is neither practicable or advisable to attempt to walk to the pyramids from the hotel. There is a very busy and somewhat noisy road in front of the hotel and other commercial premises that make walking unrealistic.

There are presently no shops whatsoever in the hotel so guests must rely entirely on in-house bar, restaurant and room service options.

There is however a convenience store about 10 mins walk from the hotel along the aforementioned busy road, when you see the prices for items in the store guests will understand the degree to which the hotel items are marked up.

When we arrived at the hotel a wedding was in progress and the band and dancing in the foyer was quite a spectacle. We went to the lobby bar to enjoy a cold drink and were pleasantly surprised that there was free wireless internet. Disappointingly however this was switched off by the following day and not switched back on during the remainder of our stay only the hotels usual expensive internet service was available for purchase.

There are only two restaurants, a buffet style and a Mexican and also a pool bar. The buffet was not exceptional catering to local and international tastes but not offering anything exceptional. Dinner was expensive for what was on offer. The Mexican restaurant was also unimaginative and far from authentic but a pleasant change from the buffet. There are one or two restaurants en-route to the convenience store about 10mins away but neither we visited serve any alcohol.

There appear to be two wings to the hotel, the older and a more modern extension with a spa. The rooms in the new wing overlooking the pool and pyramids were by far the best. Regrettably we were given a room overlooking the lobby but nevertheless with a Pyramid view and this despite being a Stanwood Gold member.

The hotel pool is superb and offers a convenient way to soak off the dust of a days sightseeing, there were ample sunbeds and crisp beach towels available and lifeguards on duty.

Generally the Hotel was clean and staffed with friendly and approachable staff although the furniture and TV n the older rooms was a little 'old'.

An unrelated tip - All travel companies and tour companies seem to gravitate toward specific gift stores - Carpet Schools, Papyrus, Gift Stores - insisting these retailers offered the best value and quality, in our experience these are hard sell outlets with over-priced items we couldn't wait to get out of.

Room Tip: A ground floor room with terrace overlooking the swimming pool with Pyramid views would be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joninjakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

I would like to assure you that each point you mentioned has been discussed with the personnel concerned, and the appropriate action taken, to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lobby is actually quite charming in an old-world way, but not if you're a non-smoker because the place is filled with it during certain times of day (mostly when there's an open bar - non alcoholic of course).
The food offered in the buffet was pretty standard - nothing amazing but no bad experiences.
The hotel itself is built with the intent of fitting as many rooms as possible in the building, so the rooms aren't huge and the ceilings are pretty low. We upgraded to a pyramid view room and the room itself was what you would expect from standard rooms in other 4 star hotels.
It does feel pretty great with the pyramids right opposite your hotel but don't forget that it's still the Cairo district and some days, the haze from the city actually blocks your view.
We've stayed in a few 5 star hotels within Egypt and there's definately better out there. However, once again, none beats it in views of the pyramids.
The spa was quite nice (for Egypt) and the massage therapist I had was pretty good too. Prices aren't that cheap though!

Room Tip: When in Giza, go for a pyramid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank When_pandas_attack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated.

You may be interested to know that hotel’s lobby bar is currently undergoing a comprehensive refurbishment program and will be opened within the coming 3 months. However, I would like to inform you that we do serve alcoholic beverages in all our hotel restaurants.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.3 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#7 Family Hotel in Giza
#9 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing