We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay if you are focusing on the pyramids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice stay if you are focusing on the pyramids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Giza is pretty filthy at this time, but once you get to the hotel and pyramid area, it is much nicer.

This hotel has the rooms you expect with a Starwood property, extremely nice.

The pool area cannot be beat, even without the pyramids it would be nice, but with the pyramid views, it is unreal.

The restaurant at the pool was not too expensive and had large servings of good food. (we didn't try the dinner buffet)

You would need to get the pyramid view though, I did not and my view overlooked Giza slums. (I did not want to open my curtains the entire stay) That said, the pyramids are not lit at night so I do not know if it is worth the extra money. (my parents paid the extra cash, but could not see anything after 7:15pm)

Great scene in the lobby as there was a different wedding all three nights that we stayed at the hotel which added a bit of culture to our stay.

The staff was exceptional.

The only negatives would be the views and the breakfast buffet ($20 was a lot of money for what they were offering every morning)

All in all we had a great stay though. Again, the staff was exceptional.

Room Tip: Pyramids are not lit so don't count on a great "pyramid view" after sunset. (plus the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I would like to assure you that each point you mentioned has already been discussed with the personnel concerned, in order to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    934
    443
    162
    127
See reviews for
573
944
219
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

A good base for stay in Cairo. We had a "pyramid view" room that is extra cost but not sure you need to pay more because once its dark, you see nothing - the pyramids are not lit at night. You can see them from pretty much all of the outdoor pool area and the bar. Lovely pools and breakfast is extensive. Room large and we had a balcony. Very close to pyramids obviously although you would be game to walk there. It's hot and busy and many many people hassling for camel rides.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

very crowded hotel 650 room! noisy and in our case overed book so we had lots of problems. manager not nice considering they call themselfd 5 star hotel. anyway good location with view to piramid no piramidS

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donchimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

There is certainly no excuse for the poor standards you encountered, and I would like to assure you that positive remedial action has been taken to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

It is my hope that these events will not permanently mar your opinion of our hotel and that you will return to us again, when I am sure you will remember your stay for all the right reasons.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Le Meridien was an oasis of calm in a chaotic city. Lobby is beautiful. Staff very attentive. There's a tex mex restaurant but we did not get to try it out, as we had booked a dinner cruise on the Nile. Did not have time to check out this Spa either. The pool has a gorgeous pyramid view, although being late night in November we didn't use it either.
Booked as part of a 2 day tour with Ramses Tours, which I would also recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a view to the east....pyramids off to the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travlntexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future for an extended stay.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I initially booked a room at the Le Meridian Pyramids to relax after my cruise ship was destroyed when it caught fire and I was left with no clothes or money for 3 days in Aswan - Le Meridian was a good choice.

Karim the head concierge was amazing - when I told him my story he upgraded me, sent me a welcome basket & even offered to have me stay at his house if I needed to spend more time in Egypt. Every day he was always asking if everything was ok and if I needed help with anything, which was a nice feeling after having to deal with false smiles of conmen & people trying to scam me for a buck for a week before arriving at Le Meridian.

The hotel is the 2nd closest hotel to the pyramids and the reason I booked was so that I could laze by the pool, ponder at the pyramids and drink beer - for this the hotel was perfect. The one thing that is stopping me from giving the hotel 5/5 is that the Food & Bev staff weren't as attentive as I'd hoped, being in a 5 star hotel. The buffet breakfast had a great selection of food though.

That aside though - the pool with the small waterfalls was enough to eliminate 85% of the road noise from outside and you can actually relax. The rooms had double-glazed windows too to kill the relentless noise from outside. The bedding in the rooms is out of this world - some mornings I found it particularly hard to leave bed!

Room Tip: MUST stay in the "Pyramid View" rooms - pay the little bit extra, you won't regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I would like to assure you that action has already been taken as a result of your comments. Staff in the Food & Beverage Department have been reminded of their responsibilities and duties towards our guests, and of the need to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

stayed for 4 days while visiting the pyramids and cairo museum. the hotel is in my opinion a good standard 4star, with a lovely pool and excellent food especially the Tex Mex which i highly recommend. we were originally put into a room facing the side/road which was very noisy, however after paying a small suppliment we were moved to a pyramid and pool view on the 4 floor
well worth it although still no tea/coffee making fac in room.
if u are visiting the pyramids and cairo make sure you get a good guide (which we did). there is awful poverty in and around cairo with children begging on the streets, there is lots of rubbish everywhere. although they apear to be trying to clean up the pyramid area. there are a lot of persistant, aggressive, hawkers and pickpockets. a guide should give you some protection. dont let me put you off visiting this great wonder of the world, it is still amazing. but be careful and plan your trip well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in Giza, close to the pyramids. Room was excellent with convenient temperature control, and well equiped bathroom. Bank in lobby for currency exchange and much needed change for tips. Buffet restaurant was well laid out and the food was very good. Room service was timely and the food arrived hot. The lobby bar is a nice spot for a drink and sandwiches. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Was very pleased with this hotel from top to bottom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJoeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.4 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
7.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Family Hotel in Giza
#7 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#9 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing