We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a tiny tweaks of disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed with my wife in the hotel for 7 nights. The room we reserved over the Internet was overlooking the construction site and was filled with the smoke. We requested to change the room and had to pay extra $25 per day, but it was worth it as the new room was located on the 5th floor - non-smoking floor and overlooking the pool and the pyramids. Everyday we had a new bottle of complimentary water in our room. The staff was very friendly. Several evenings in the row we had a chance to enjoy the wedding receptions in the hotel lobby.
The only gripe we had was that on the 2 separate occasions we caught 2 men smoking next to the elevator on the 5th floor, which is non-smoking entire floor. We informed the staff and they reassured us that they will resolve this problem, but a short time later that same man was still smoking there on the same spot and nothing was done about it.
Besides that, everything was great!
If you need a great tour guide, highly recommend Ahmed Hamed Yousif. His e-mail: ahmedhayo@yahoo.com. He will go extra miles for you and protect you from annoying street hagglers, advise you on the fair price of souvenirs and even help you to negotiate the price in your favor!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pools and the pyramids as the rooms overlooking the constructions site ha...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

There is absolutely no excuse for guests smoking on a non-smoking floor. I would like to advise you that positive remedial action have already been taken to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,814)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 2,814 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

From my experience of recent two stays I found the hotel quite good but there were irritations that should not occur at such hotel.

Newly renovated rooms are bright and well fitted. Food in the restaurants has good quality and service with the Tex-Mex quite fun. Swimming pools and terraces are very well done. TV’s in the rooms have only the usual free to air channels.

As to the small problems repairs were required to an AC unit which was not working properly, kettle not working in another room which was replaced quickly. Door key card failures on two occasions. Tea and coffee supplies not replenished.

Nice hotel but needs tightening up on room inspections and reception staff need to be a bit more switched on in resolving guest’s requests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Builder49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

There is absolutely no excuse for the poor standards you found in your room, and I would like to assure you that positive action has already been taken to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

I would also like to assure you that action has already been taken as a result of your comments. Staff in the Front Office Department have been reminded of their responsibilities and duties towards our guests, and of the need to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We came in a party visiting Cairo and the Pyramids, to have lunch. We were greeted by a mad band dressed as ancient Egyptians playing a trumpet, drum and bagpipes, giving The Grand March from 'Aida' their best attention! The staff were both efficient and attentive, guiding us to washrooms to freshen up, before seating us in a pleasantly laid-out dining room. The selection and quality of food was excellent, the waiting staff discreet but lightening fast, and at the same time our large group did not feel rushed in any way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The pool terrace overlooks the pyramids which is really nice. By sitting there you can watch the daily light show performed at the Giza pyramids.

The mexican restaurant serves amazing food, and so does the pool restaurant.The all-day dining was not impressive.

Staff are friendly in general. The spa experience was nice.

I've tried the salon as well, which is run by a third party, the staff were smoking there and it was disgusting, i don't recommend it.

The meeting room was extremelly cold or extremely hot, therefore not really comfortable. They allow smoking inside the meeting room foyer and you can't miss the smell as it spreads everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RimaBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

There is absolutely no excuse for the poor staff attitude you encountered at the Beauty Salon. I would like to advise you that positive remedial action have already been taken to ensure a similar situation does not recur.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel is comfortable, clean and convenient for Giza pyramids. However, on a walk just outside of the hotel and feeling quite safe, we managed to ignore the many taxi drivers looking for business but were caught out by a tall, well built, well dressed man who came up behind us, greeting us as friends, saying he had just finished his shift at the hotel, recognised us and if we looking for the market, it would be safer if he showed us the way. Chatting nonstop he guided us down the street next to the hotel, straight into his perfume shop. Within 10 minutes he had taken £100 off us for two bottles of scent........We felt threatened by this large man who never stopped talking and trapped in the shop we just wanted to leave. He does not work at the hotel. Beware! There should be a notice in the hotel regarding him.

Room Tip: Do book a pyramid view room on at least 3rd floor or higher
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I was most concerned to hear about the incident you experienced outside the hotel, and assure you that positive action has been taken to avoid a similar situation occurring.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent value and service for our brief one night stay while in Cairo. Most def. ask for the pyramid view and enjoy it. Although my husband and I did laugh that they had haphazardly stuck 4 by 4 inch stickers on the windows that somehow encumbered the majestic view of the pyramids. It seems letting us know that we cannot open the windows more then an inch took precedence. One item to note is that if you book a Club Level floor (forgot what exactly it is called) that you must be told there actually is not a club lounge. There are amenities such as free drinks, etc. that they will give you but the front dest does not tell you and it is worth asking the question directly. Buffet breakfast was huge and the poolside dining was pleasant. Same menu as the room service almost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3galsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I would like to assure you that each point you mentioned has been discussed with the personnel concerned, and the appropriate action taken.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just completed 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it all. The location is fabulous and our balcony room with a view of the Pyramids was magnificent. What a view! The staff were very accomodating, the food good and we found it a beautiful oasis from the dust and grime of Egypt.

My only recommendation is to fix the shower design problem and stop water flowing down the channel between the glass and the bathtub and all over the floor. It is disconcerting to step out of the shower onto a flooded bathroom floor. This has been mentioned in previous reviews and I would encourage management to fix it.

A great stay in a very good hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEFlyerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I would like to apologize most sincerely for the problem you experienced with the bathroom in the room that you were allocated, and I would like to assure you that remedial action will be taken.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.3 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
6.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#3 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#7 Family Hotel in Giza
#9 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $82 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Prestigia, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing