We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Essex, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stay at this Hotel in November 2012 for 3 days on a tour of Eypgt for 8 days. The Hotel was very clean and had an air of high style about it. We did feel that Hotel room beds were the best we have ever slept in. If we could have taken the beds home we would have !

The breakfast was buffet affair of the normal standard you would expect in a Hotel of it’s size.
The were staff friendly and helpful in the hotel and nothing seemed to much trouble.

Free WiFi was available in the lobby however none in the our hotel room sadly.
One good feature about this hotel the amazing view of the pyramids especially at night when illuminated.

One amazing think we did see at the hotel was an Egypt wedding. Before the bridal couple left the function room there would be woman dancers and men with large kettle drums.
What an amazing sight to see one we were not expecting !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tysonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    982
    467
    165
    130
See reviews for
597
988
230
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends in mid-February and had a wonderful time.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the view of the pyramids was amazing. At night when they have the light and sound show the pyramids are lit for a brief time and you can see them from the room. The included breakfast buffet good and just the thing to start the day. Be sure to take a banana or apple for a snack later. There was no free wi-fi in the room, but there was in the lobby area, The fee wasn't that high, but being from the US I am used to free wi-fi. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, General Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We arrived at midday from Sharm El Sheikh - we were met and transferred by a superb transfer/tour company SUN INTERNATIONAL. The hotel B&B stay & transfer were booked through Travel Republic accompanied by a request for a non-smoking room with a pyramid view. Despite both requests being on our voucher we were shown to a room that had neither. The Concierge then showed us a smoking room with a pyramid view but in an area under refurbishment that had the added aroma of fresh paint! While accepting that the price we paid may not get us the view, "non-smoking" should have been easy! Travellers should be aware that even in these troubled times and tourist "stay away" for Cairo, this hotel is doing little to make a positive impression on new clients. The management claimed that they had not received the requests from our travel company, Jumbo Tours, used by Travel Republic and identified in the small print on your Hotel Voucher - but the requests were clearly shown on our voucher and not "picked up" by the hotel reception!
Eventually after 2+ hours and much polite discussion the deputy manager allocated us a deluxe refurbished non smoking room with a pool view without extra charge. Even then we were told this was a favour.
From there on our stay was excellent in every way. The breakfast was superb - served from 3am-great choice and excellent service. The hotel cafe, pool cafe and Mexican Restaurant offer great value for money while rooms are cleaned and tidied very well. Baggage is handled efficiently and checking out is efficient. The Mexican portions are large so order one main between two.
Privately, we used SUN INTERNATIONAL to provide a tour to Memphis, Saqqara an Giza Pyramids & Sphinx. For £72 (£36 each) they provided a private car, driver and guide. Both of whom spoke very good English and had an excellent knowledge of Ancient Egypt. They were with us for 7 hours and kept the hawkers away!

We had no experience that related to the recent demonstrations. Memphis is inspiring. Saqqara mind boggling and Giza wonderful.

Room Tip: Before you arrive check with your booking company and the hotel to find out the quality of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, General Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

I would like to assure you that action has already been taken as a result of your comments. Staff in the Front Office Department have been reminded of their responsibilities and duties towards our guests, and of the need to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Was in Cairo for a few days in early January 2013 and stay at the Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa and it was excellent. The location is great and right downtown, close to everything. You have a view of the Pyramids and food was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank racinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, General Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013


Fabulous 3 nights ideal to visit the pyramids
I was very pleased with this hotel, it felt quality like a good chain hotel but not so anonymous you could be 'anywhere'. The restaurant in the evening and the breakfast buffet are excellent, we had such a lovely dinner experience that we returned for a second night with our new found holiday friends. The restaurant is modern and open plan but lighting and clever seating arrangement can make it seem quite intimate. The little pool near the pyramids seemed heated, a good thing in December and for the non swimmers amongst us it was pleasantly 'safe' but it is quite deep even in the shallows. The main pool was too cold for us to sample but it looked interesting as it has a bar in the centre with a couple of bridges over the water to get to it. We ate exceptionally tasty pizza here.
The hotel does has a quality feel all staff were smiley and friendly and gracious.
The Bank seemed to be open at all the times we needed it, they say it is 24hours and I'm inclined to believe them! The exchange rate was much better than the UK
We arrived at nearly midnight and I was s disappointed to realise that because the pyramids are not lit at night we had to wait until morning to see them...so much for my excitement over the pyramid facing view! However in the morning, I wasn't disappointed any more. My goodness they are bigger than you can possibly imagine. Depending on the way you room is laid out you may be able to see the pyramids from your bed, as we could. Be aware that Cairo gets dust haze and smog/fog so often the pyramids aren't always clearly seen and it is exactly the same view from the rooms as from the pool. So, is a pyramid facing room worth it? On balance probably yes, if you have never seen them before, if this is a return trip, possibly not. Our rooms were 3670 and 3672, I think, and everytime we mentioned them to staff we'd get a nod of appreciation and a 'very nice, new room' it does seem like there was a bit of renovation going on in the hotel but I wouldn't say our room felt brand new. Oh and the windows only open 2 inches even though they are huge picture windows, I hate that!
The only view of the pyramids is from the pool and those rooms that overlook the pool. Anywhere else in the hotel, you aren't even aware they are there.

Alcoholic drinks are expensive everywhere in Egypt and the hotel bar is no exception. I can also recommend the taxi service from inside the hotel. On 2 occasions we arranged cars with prearranged times and prices and each time the cars arrived on time and cost exactly as agreed. I can recommend hiring a taxi for say 2 hours and they'll tell you how much each additional hour will cost. That way you gave go shopping or to the sites and the car will wait for you.
On the whole we were very happy with this hotel it was a great entry point for our Egypt trip and I wouldn't hesitate if I needed to return here.
(another plus is that it is popular for weddings we saw 2 and were invited to watch, a great experience.)
I likes this hotel enough that I was worried our next hotel in Luxor would not live up to this hotel...fortunately I was wrong :) (see Steigenberger Hotel Luxor)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, General Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed B&B only and room very clean with great view of a pyramid. Excellent breakfast and buffet in evening good value. Weddings (with bands and dancing in the foyer) held at hotel both Saturday and Sunday nights which really entered us into the feel of Egypt. Would stay again. Perfectly situated for visiting pyramids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimPamRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My daughter is writing this review - she is 11. The buffet was great because it served food to suit all nationalities and observances. The room was a good standard clean room. The 2 pools were not heated but I still swam in them. The pool side bar was good too. We found the currency exchange at the main desk useful. A general all round hotel suited to business or family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gingetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#7 Family Hotel in Giza
#7 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#9 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing