We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where else is the room-view of one of the 7 wonders of the ancient world?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where else is the room-view of one of the 7 wonders of the ancient world?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at start of honeymoon tour of Egypt. What a great way to start. Lovely, modern hotel, room very comfortable and spacious. Of course, the view of the Pyramids is incredible and the main reason anyone should stay here but the hotel has much more to offer. Service is ok but not incredible - I think this is more an Egyptian thing than a company or establishment issue and so goes with the territory. However, the pool is large and has various depths and divisions including a bar area. The spa is excellent. We had a scrub and floating massage - best I've ever had, even better than Bath Spa.
Food is good in main restaurant although service is a bit slow. Breakfast buffet is immense - leave plenty of time for breakfast to try the options available (North African, continental, traditional, American and more). Tex-Mex restaurant does a decent steak. Didn't try the Lebanese restaurant but going on the others...
A couple of things in the room didnt work but were quickly corrected. Also, there was an armed contingent at the gates which was alarming at first when they quizzed our driver coming from the airport but is understandable given there is a relaxing of security since the revolution - it quickly became the norm...
Shisha bar also good...
Main detractor was local weddings taking place meant pool bar PA still loud after midnight...

Room Tip: Pyramid-view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    963
    458
    164
    130
See reviews for
591
966
227
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Beautiful hotel with spectacular views of pyramids in Giza. The pool has the best view, you can sun bake while lolling at one of the seven wonders of the world. Rooms are large with beautiful Egyptian cotton bedding, the shower was sensational. Breakfast very nice. Could not fault this property. Highly recommend if your visiting Gizas pyramids you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzimacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in Giza for 2 nights in May on our way home from UAE so we could go see the pyramids etc.. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly upon check in. The children were tired so we ordered room service which was very prompt and reasonably priced. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast which was average and had dinner at the Mexican restaurant, the portion sizes were large, the food was good, but the music was extremely loud. They even gave us some of their traditional desserts, complimentary.
We were a little taken back when they had a dog check for explosives around the vehicle before the steel cyclinders were lowered into the driveway so we could proceed to the front entrance and then proceed thru a detector to get into the lobby and a scanner for your bags. Security measures to feel safe.
The view of the pyramids from the swimming pool was amazing. The pyramids are a short walk form the hotel.

The drive from the airport was quite long due to the traffic. It was a little unsettling as we drove to Giza seeing the state of the surroundings and hoping that the hotel was not in the same condition which it wasn't.

Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a view of the pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cisco08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from a journey around Egypt that started with a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel!
Researching Cairo it became apparent that the roads are manic and very busy so from a location point of view in terms of seeing eveything in the city, something has always got to give.

We chose here pure and simply for the view of what for me is one of the most fascinating sites ever - the Pyramids of Giza!

On the day, it was about an hours transfer from the airport although the rep said it could be double that time depending on time etc. On arrival in the lobby area, it seemed like your usual city hotel - a business stop over style hotel - very impressive though. However, once checked in, you start appreciating what is on your door step and the views you are blessed with too. Food was good. Pool area was great. Price wise, what you would possibly expect from a city hotel, not cheap, but not over the top either.

Pool area during the day was very quiet. All the tours occur in the morning with plenty of pool time in the afternoon so we quickly found that the hotel was only at around 25% occupancy - which was great for us!!!

Must sees whilst here are - Cario Museum (I'm not a museum fan usually but this was something else) and of course the Pyramids. We also went to the sound and light show - a little cheesy but still a good show!!

Room Tip: Always always ask for a pyramid view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnwort
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed here for just three nights from Sunday 27th May 2012. Initial impressions were a bit off putting as we arrived in a very busy/bustling reception area with a lot of noise and quite loud piped music being played. The overall appearance however was very smart, and we were checked in promptly and taken directly to our room. Initial reaction to our room was not very good as we had just come from an immaculate hotel in Luxor to find our room here was smaller, the room windows were very dirty and the beds looked like someone had just got out of them! Perhaps the room had been got ready in a hurry? We did get a pyramid view room that we had paid for but the state of the windows to view them through was a litle off putting. To be fair, after the turn down service the next day, the beds looked much better and had been completed with pretty top covers that weren't there the previous day, although the windows remained dirty. We did however have to agree that the room was actually quite nice and comfortable. The hotel was otherwise very clean and quite impressive, staff friendly and polite, but there was a felling of being impersonal about it; although in certain areas such as the reception area lounge and the Harris Coffee area, the service was very good and attentive. Mohamed in the Harris Coffee area was particularly good and tried very hard to help when one of us was suffering an upset stomach, which was very good of him and much appreciated. The views of the pyramids from the hotel are lovely and the pool areas very pleasant. We also noticed a play area for the children which was good. The food that we ate there was good, and the choice at the buffet breakfast exstensive. A downside for the British amongst us is that when we asked if we could have tea and coffee service arranged for the room we were told that we could only order drinks of tea from room service, which is not very good if you want your cuppa at will, especially as we would have been more than happy to pay extra for this service, as we did at our previous hotel in Luxor. Overall though, if we were in Cairo/Giza again we would stay at this hotel again and suggest it to others, as long as you are prepared to suffer tea deprivation! .

Room Tip: Must book a pyramid view room, preferably with clean windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PartnersFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Staff was very unwelcoming and harassing after I mentioned my husband. I am a saavy traveller and only outed myself because this hotel has sought business from the gay community. It seems they want our money but can't (or won't) train their staff accordingly. Was denied a room, kept waiting for an hour, then denied SPG perks. Having driven 90 minutes there, felt between a rock and hard place...so I did finally get a room and stay there, despite wanting to run! LGBT people, yes Egypt isn't particularly gay-friendly...but it's particularly abusive to advertise to us and then mistreat guests. Spend your money elsewhere, and be discreet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tweardytorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

very enjoyable stay, all the staff are very friendly and very keen to help, we felt very safe even thought there was political problems in the city, both the pool are clean and we loved the spa

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.8 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Family Hotel in Giza
#7 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#9 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing