We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaw dropping & mesmerising stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pyramids of Giza

Pyramids of Giza
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.50*
and up
Private Half-Day Trip to Giza Pyramids with Camel-Riding
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps the most recognizable among the Seven Wonders of the World, the exact origin of these majestic pyramids continues to spark debate.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping & mesmerising stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went to Egypt & Jordan recently and couldn't wait to see the pyramids and must say I was not disappointed! They were just jaw dropping and mind blowing. It was a dream come true for us. As our bus approached Giza, these historic monuments loomed in the background and sent the blood rushing....Standing in front of them you couldn't help but marvel at the amazing architecture that they built so many years ago without any technology. The stone blocks weigh between 2 & 25 tonnes and are perfectly placed such that not a single sheet of paper can pass through them! We also went inside the chamber which was an experience in itself as you had to bend and twist a lot. It isn't for nothing that they are one of the seven wonders of the world. The site of the Sphinx was another highlight and not to be missed. These sights take you to a different world altogether and we r just soo lucky to have seen them.

However just beware of the vendors trying to sell or even 'gift' you souvenirs and just say 'La Shukran' (No, thank you) to keep them away. However, the pyramids should be on everyone's travel list no doubt.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GJazz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,400
    954
    287
    83
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Hills, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An Experience Not to be Missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a 10-hour layover in Cairo on our trip to Africa, and we were thrilled to spend the time visiting the pyramids and sphinx. We visited on a Friday, so there little traffic.

It has been a life-long dream of mine to visit the pyramids, and being there in person was absolutely amazing. I was nervous about going there after reading so many stories of visitors getting accosted by vendors. We never experienced this. Maybe 2 or 3 vendors approached us but quickly left when we weren't interested.

There is nothing quite like seeing the pyramids in person, and having the opportunity to walk all around them and even climb inside one was the experience of a lifetime. We drove out to the lookout for a camel ride at the end of our time at the pyramids, and the late afternoon light on the pyramids was breath-taking.

This was the best layover ever!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Givati8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat,oman
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“History in front of you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

These are the dreams of everyone to see. Kids loved it. Its not worth going inside the Pyramid, its just a stair going to the top. The beauty lies in watching them from the Panoramic view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deepakseru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
166 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Touch the history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I dreamt about the visit of pyramids. The Great Pyramid of Giza, the only wonder of the ancient world still in existence and it's definitely one of the oldest must-see structures on Earth! Yes, there're too many sellers and hawkers around. They distracting you, trying to push something all the time but you have no choice. That's how it is. But if you really want to see the pyramids I think it won't stop you and it didn't stop us. Just try to choose the better time for a visit - go there in the morning when it's not to crowdy and not many locals are there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ost-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Trip of a liftime, all my dreams came true"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Got to see it was amazing, You have to go inside if you go see the pyramids, its tight once you get in, but its worth it. I can't tell you how I felt after getting to the tomb area, it was amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DMDEAN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyramids of Giza also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Pyramids of Giza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing