We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is falling apart”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The hotel is falling apart”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three nights on two different occasions while traveling throughout Egypt. The first night was in a double room. The second and third night were in a single room. I had to relocate to another room because the sink in the first room literally fell apart. The bowl of the sink almost fell through to my toes as it separated from the counter. Thankfully there were two bent metal rods that had held it up - although they would appear to collapse on a moments notice. When I left for planned tours I had let the front desk know. They informed me I would have to be in the room for them to fix it (not sure why). I figured I had another night and would just make due with the sink. Provided it didn't fall to the ground it was usable. When I returned, I was locked out of my room and inquired at the front desk what was wrong. They had said housekeeping noticed the sink and that I would have to switch rooms. I felt like they were measuring me up - as if they were trying to determine if I did the damage. I was fine with anotehr room but wanted a room with a single bed. They did accommodate and found me a like room on the same floor. Had the sink broken on my toes I would have been in serious pain looking for a hospital in Africa. Thankfully that did not happen. The hotel staff is nice and for the most part, the rooms are clean. I gave the hotel a 3 star review because I paid $26 for the room after taxes in March '13. The low cost, friendly staff, flexible arrangements (they let me check out late at 2pm) and comfortable sleeping conditions kept me from giving this hotel a 1 or 2 star review.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or with a spouse, be sure to ask for a room with a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freekboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    45
    19
    25
See reviews for
30
49
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haemeenlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Also known as a Husa Pyramids hotel.
There is a mosque next to hotel so be ready to wake up at 05 am...
Don´t use the hotels own carservice, they will rob you. Guy has "friends that look after you and takes care of you", but they are all the same. They fooled us once by transforming the egyptian pounds to U.S dollars (a trip from the airport to our hotel should be around 30 pounds but when we got to the hotel the price was in dollars... We didn´t need his service after that) Use regular taxies, just negotiate the price before. From the hotel to the airport it should be around 50-70 EP.
Taxis are much cheaper anyway, 20-25 Egyptian pounds you´ll get almost anywhere in Cairo. Drivers don´t speak much english but print some photos from places you want to see and show them to the driver. Also take your hotels businesscard with you.
Non-smoking means that your room smells like an ashtray.

If you are a female, cover your knees and shoulders. The local men are polite but if you are looking for a attention you will get it even if you are decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok. Omar is very nice. He took me to see the pyramids after having a bad experience with a tour I booked at the airport. Ask for Omar. The restaurant at the top has a nice view, but food is not that great

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
416 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked for the Husa Pyramids hotel. They did sent us several advertising e-mails ahead of our stay, but forgot to mention that hey had changed the name. It took our taxi driver long to find it. Most of the staff obviously tried to do a good job. We arrived before check-in time and they could find us a room within 20 minutes The room was okay but nothing special, cleaning service was quite late during the day. At 4pm the room still needed a make-up.
The terrace with the view was also quite windy and you needed to look besides the mosque that is just next to the hotel. The mujadheen is not really disturbing in the morning when you are used to it. The hotel is still 1,5 km from the pyramids and the area has not much to offer. The restaurants in the hotel were on low service: only one open and half of the menu was not on offer. So as vegatarians it was pizza or pasta.
The pool area is also not so attractive as it is used as smoking area as well. Overall not so recommendable, but closeby to the piramids so also easy for getting out of the city during the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Giza hotels

Santa Clara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our taxi driver had a vey difficult time finding this hotel (the outside name is in Arabic and we only had the English name). Google maps also had the wrong location - we were only able to find it after pulling up a photo of the outside of the building from TripAdvisor.
The lobby was nice and inviting but the rooms left a lot to be desired. Our room was a bit musky and tiny and also looked fairly dirty. The location was pretty good; we did walk back from the pyramids - about a 30-40 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frozenocean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Like the previous reviewer, we were slightly worried by some of the dodgy reviews of the Husa on TripAdvisor. We were arriving at the airport at midnight and only needed somewhere to rest our heads for a few hours before a trip to the pyramids in the morning.

We were very pleasantly surprised. We were asked if we wanted a quiet room or a room with a view and chose the former. We were shown to room 807 which had obviously been recently refurbished and which was spotlessly clean.

Not an enormous room but space for two large single beds, a table and two chairs, a wardrobe and a dressing table. The bathroom had been refurbished too and was pretty much faultless, except for some remaining masking tape and some tiny splatters of paint from the redecoration. Excellent hairdryer and shower.

The beds were perfectly comfortable and we both had an excellent night's sleep.

The breakfast was probably the best we've had in a budget hotel in Egypt. A large buffet spread with an omelette station and a selection of both Egyptian and Western foods. Decent brewed coffee too.

There's even a small swimming pool which looked perfectly inviting.

If we had paid the rack rate of 95USD the hotel would probably have only merited a three star review, but as we picked it up for only 30USD it deserves full marks for truly excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FarleyFlavors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Given the mixed reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor, we were slightly apprehensive about this hotel and had no reason to be. We did stay in another hotel in downtown Cairo which was more expensive and found that our money went further in this hotel. Now it is still a budget hotel, but my standards for cleanliness were met. Our room was cleaned everyday and the hotel cleaner was very pleasant and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast was average and unchanging, but was decent and fed us every morning. The distance to the pyramids is great and were happy with our view from our room as well. We booked two day tours with the hotel tour center and although they quoted us prices that seemed expensive, Omar drove us both times and was courteous, friendly, punctual and even attempted to decline the second tip my husband gave him! This surprised us considering most people who offer a service will blatantly ask for a tip! So we insisted that he take it. Overall good stay for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
2.7 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
632 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pyramids Plaza Hotel
Pyramids Plaza Hotel
#35 of 41 in Giza
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Amarante Pyramids Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#25 of 41 in Giza
536 reviews
3.4 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel

Property: Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Address: 103, Al Ahram St, Giza, Egypt (Formerly Husa Gawharet El Ahram)
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002,renovated on 2014, the hotel is located at Pyramids' Avenue one of the most tourist areas, near the pyramids and the sphinx only one K/m,also hotel located in shopping area where you can found a variety from malls-coffee shop-restaurants-public transportation's. Gawharet Al Ahhram hotel offers 8 suites and 92 rooms full equipped. All of them with air-conditioning, satellite TV, internet service, direct-dial international telephone, room service 24 hours, minibar, complete bathroom, and laundry service-FREE WIFI in rooms and lobby. The hotel has lobby bar, indoor swimming pool, cash point, exchange money NBE bank, gift shop, rent car, beauty club, safe deposit box, fax and photocopy service. Also the hotel has two Restaurants, where you can taste a large, high quality and excellent international cuisine,Health Club. Hotel has a shuttle bus for pick-up and transfers (surcharge) 24/7 all the week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Gawharet El Ahram Hotel Giza
Gawharet El Ahram Giza
Gawharet El Ahram Hotel Giza
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing