We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the trip of my lifetime”

Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Pyramids Day Tour from Cairo: Pyramids of Cheops, Chefren and Mykerinus
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Best of Cairo:The Pyramids to the Egyptian Museum and Bazzar
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Private Tour to the Pyramids of Giza from Cairo Airport
Ranked #2 of 80 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest and oldest of the Giza pyramids, this colossal structure stands nearly 500 feet tall.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Truly the trip of my lifetime”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Breathtaking is the only word to describe the pyramids. The sheer majesty of their size and mysterious past leaves one in total wonder. Pictures just do not do them justice. Add the sphinx to the adventure and it's truly one of the trips of a lifetime. My only disappointment was realizing how VERY close the city of Cairo is to these monuments. I expected there to be nothing but desert surrounding them, but alas, the city is just a stone's throw away. We actually purchased tickets to go inside and it was humbling to be inside a structure of age and magnitude. There are other activities here as well; camels and a very unique museum. Well worth the trip. Travel dates were March of 2010

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aquarium-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,253
    276
    48
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, and incredibly endless in time.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Egyptians were great hosts and demonstrated that they are committed to help tourists have a great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ditorresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing structure, experience totally ruined by locals”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The reason I'm not giving this 4 or 5 stars is because the experience itself is quite appalling. The pyramids are incredible, and despite everything I would still tell people to go and see them if they are considering it - to be standing where they are is breathtaking. However, our less-than-2-hour experience there was almost ruined by the aggressive and horrible local vendors. We had experienced a few 'illegal immigrant street vendors' around major European cities like Paris and Rome, but they are a lot easier to handle - you tell them NO and they leave you alone. The people here absolutely harass you like you wouldn't believe, to the point where you want to sink into a hole and die. To make matters worse, we went in late July as we couldn't cancel our trip due to ridiculous travel insurance terms & conditions, and it was the worst time to go. As the place was dangerous there were no other tourists there, and I think at that time of day we were literally the only 2 tourists around the pyramids, so the vendors only had us to target. They are so aggressive, get angry if you try to keep walking, try and con you by saying it's 'free' then ask for money, and we even had a guy selling us water outside who tried to give us non-Egyptian currency in change. We were on a guided tour and the guide can't even do anything to stop it. It ruins what should be a sensational experience, and we left feeling really upset and stressed out, plus we'd inadvertently lost a bunch of money because it's almost impossible to get out of all of them. Even inside the pyramid, they rip you off. The entry fee had doubled due to the tourist situation, which didn't bother us, but when we got in they'd closed off the main door so we only had 5 mins in there to see one room. Then this one staff member offered to take a photo for us - you aren't allowed to take cameras in there but my partner had his phone - but as soon as he said that I knew he'd demand money, which he did. So even the staff are all corrupt. It is an absolute shame and should not be allowed to happen. We went to Jordan after Egypt and it was fabulous, they had Tourist Police!! WHY do Egypt not implement this?????

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelsterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
887 reviews
588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience to stand next to something so remarkable!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my 2nd trip to see the pyramids of Giza, as well as the Sphinx, which sits below and in front of the pyramids; unforunately there is a fene around the Sphinx which you can't get close enough to touch, BUT still beautiful to look at and takes pictures.

The pyramids are terrific and just amazing to look at, as well you can climb steps to go into 1 of them and take steps and climb a very small low passengeway to the burial chamber, at one point in the middle there is absolutely no oxygen, which is a little freaky initially especially if you are not expecting it, but it is very brief and you won't pass out from it, there is a small admission price to do this activity as well, as getitng in to the initial site.

If interested to ride or take a picture on top of a camel, buyer beware, this men try to charge you for everything, so expect to pay them a tip!

I highly recommend visiting these fabulous sites, take at least 2-3 hours to explore the whole area, and make sure you get you pictures between all 3 from the distance, if you ask anybody they'll know what your asking for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Pyramid”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tickets for this can be bought at the entrance to the site for an additional 100EP on top of the 60EP to enter the site itself. You get to go inside the Pyramid, as you enter you will be asked to give up your camera, phone etc. Once inside just a short way down the 1st corridor a hawker will try and show you the way to go and insist he isn't a guide but a 'watcher'! this is rubbish, they just want money. Move on and ignore him. You will need a bottle of water and a strong pair of legs and a good back to climb through the metres of shafts crouched over with your head to the side in 100 degree heat. It is worth it though, just to know you have been inside it makes you feel awesome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank davecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu) also viewed

Giza, Giza Governorate
Giza, Giza Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing