We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So coo!”
Review of Great Sphinx

Great Sphinx
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Sound and Light Show at Giza Pyramids including Private Transfer from Cairo
Ranked #3 of 79 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At over 240 feet long and 66 feet high, it’s a wonder that this mysterious sculpture was carved from a solid limestone block.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So coo!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is located with the pryamids but its located alittle aways from it, I don't remember much because we got to drive our car to it, so I am not sure if people have to walk or not. Driving the car isn't a normal thing, I was with a professional soccer player from a local team, and they gave him specail treatment. Lucky me. Anyways its a must see!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashdwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,771
    528
    137
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as big as i was expecting!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Sphinx is tiny compare to the huge pyramids just behind it! i can bet you that every picture you have seen of the sphinx does not do it justice you will see when you will go there... but its a must!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BriannaJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow doesn't do it justice”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a child I was always mesmerised by pictures of the Sphinx. I vowed that one day I would come and see it. Forty odd years later my dream came true and I actually got to to see this iconic sandstone sculpture and my dreams came true.

I was slightly disappointed that you cannot actually walk right up to the Sphinx, but the view from Khafre's valley temple came a close second in my ideal world.

Don't let the Egyptian children help you take your photo's - they will expect a tip for doing it. Climb up on the right handwall - if you are not too mobile walk to the end of the avenue and the wall is very low. You can then walk back.

Don't be put off visiting Egypt by the demonstrations in Tahrir square. Giza is some distance away. We went into Tahrir square when the demonstrators were congregating (wewent to see the Egyptian Museum) .No tour operator is going to let you go anywhere dangerous. It is not worth it from a bad publicity point of view.

This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to visit the site of the only surviving seven wonders of the ancient world (I know the pyramids are the wonders but the pyramids and the sphinx are normally spoken about in the same breath) whilst there are hardly any tourists.

Go in the winter whilst it is cold in the UK. Egypt needs tourists. When I went to see the Sphinx the number of tourists could be counted on one hand. Very very sad but at the same time it meant the views were not obscured by tourists

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank offonmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great to Visit”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great to experience the sphinx but just like a lot of Egypt watch out for the hawkers. Good to see the pyramids behind the Sphinx.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsSB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even Napolian could not defet”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The gurdian of the pyramids, sphinx stays there to keep an eye on the pyramids and to defeat any enemy

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank El-Tonsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Sphinx also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Great Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing