We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All fur coat and no knickers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It is an ostentatious hotel that is trying to be something, but failing miserably. Other reviewers have mentioned the scandalous £14/day charge for the internet. It is not even very fast. It looks like the hotel has seen better days. It has a fairly cold atmosphere. The restaurant is very average.The swimming pools are, of course, beautiful and impressive, but if you are travelling for business, it really does not meet muster. I agree with the reviewer that says that if you are working in Smart Village, you are better off at the Novotel.

Room Tip: Ask how far you need to walk to your room. Some are miles from the reception, which is great when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Paula, thank you for your honest feedback, we apologize for not making your stay with us memorable. It is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself and will take all the measures to meet your expectations next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 999 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed a great time I like landscape and all stuf so friendly the breakfast was very good and lunch also generally I like staying at this hotel this will be my favorite place if I have to go to Cairo again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Ms. Samia, thank you for your honest feedback, we apologize for not making your stay with us memorable. It is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself and will take all the measures to meet your expectations next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here now 4 or five times on business, working up at Smart City.
Go to the Novotel instead in 6TH October City.
Charge for Wifi at Movenpick is £14 a day!!
Food is average
sometimes I have had to walk what seems a mile to get to my room
this week i was in block 15 next to the basketball court and locals were playing there at 3 in the morning
moved to block 22 - room shabby, shower awful.
people are lovely of course but this hotel in in some dire need of TLC
some equipment in the gym needs replacing

Room Tip: go to the Novotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Dave, thank you for your honest feedback, we apologize for not making your stay with us memorable. It is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself and will take all the measures to meet your expectations next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The hotel is overall above average. The grounds and pool there are well maintained. For drings by the pool must be planned a long waiting time . If a manager has free layer you should better go to another of the four Restorands. The staff is always very friendly and compensates for minor technical weaknesses. Overall this is a good hotel that can be recommended. The price performance is far above average for Egypt especially Cairo. I now have lived 196 nights in the Mövenpick Hotel 6. Of Oktober City. The hotel restaurants were after so long still an attractive places. Nowhere in Cairo you can eat at this price such a top quality. As long as that does not change I will come back again and again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, I can highly recommend the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Mr. Josef, thank you for your great feedback and attention, it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After several complains noting improved. Hotel was almost empty, so a re-location to another room with warm water should have been the normal procedure.
Restaurant is good for Egypt. Wifi is very expensive for a hotel like this. In the Novotel its for free in public areas.

Room Tip: Take rooms at cluster 21 or 22, thats where the boiler is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued guest, thank you for your honest feedback, we apologize for not making your stay with us memorable. It is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself and will take all the measures to meet your expectations next time. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have organized Staff Meeting for my company at Moevenpick.. it was a great experience, the meeting room was good, the set up was really nice, the breakfast was somehow little bit but the lunch was really really good, with a bunch of variety for meat/chicken lovers and vegetarians as well!.. the landscape was nice too, over-all my team had a lovely day there.. i think i would choose them again for my second staff meeting ;) !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank 78M_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Valued guest, thank you for your great feedback and attention, it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great hotel, very warm and friendly staff.
Only negative comment would be about the mosquitoes.
The rooms are not spayed before the next guest checks in.
Great view from the hotel room and rooms come with a balcony so i am sure many guests leave the rooms open.
I was eaten alive.
Apparently mozzies are attracted to my blood type ??:-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Cairo M, PR Coordinator at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Valued guest, thank you for your great feedback and attention, it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
6.8 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,702 reviews
6.7 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
7.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 42 in Giza
718 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City

Address: 6th Of October District, Giza 12451, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Giza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#6 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Business Hotel in Giza
#9 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $80 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of Pharoahs. Situated in a green setting outside the city centre of Cairo, the Mövenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City is an idealic oasis for business executives and visitors to the nearby pyramids of Giza and the film studios. The most popular casino in the area is open 24 hours. Also, we provide a relaxing atmosphere for families with small children with the availabilty of our kids club, available during the day time. Also our valued guests can enjoy our Tennis and Football courts available for their fitness needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Giza
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing