We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure every day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you are expecting exceptionally consistent service then do not come to stay here. The team always try to do their best and always have a smile but I found the service was very variable over my last 12 day stay - you have to expect that every day is a new adventure. They are clearly capable of delivering a great service but every day there tends to be one problem or another. If you get frustrated by missing towels on some days, lack of hot water on some days, cold rooms in the winter months then this is not the place for you. However in the area this is the best hotel that Egypt has to offer, others are much worse. The layout of the hotel is spacious and attractive but check where your room is otherwise you could be in for a lot ot walking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the football training fields and near the main building unless you like a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razor164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for your honest feed back and we truly regret if we were not able to meet your expectations in any way. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we take all comments very seriously to improve our services in the best way possible. Unfortunately we were not successful in making your stay with us more memorable, and for that we truly apologize and promise that we will take the most appropriate action to your satisfaction. Once again please accept our sincere apologies and all we wish for is for another chance to try to change this experience. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wonder why there was a kettle when there were no complimentary tray of tea or coffee?
The bathroom's trash can was full!!!! They didn't clean it. There was no bathroom robes nor slippers.. It is supposed to be a 5 stars hotel and I'm a big fan of the Movenpick around the world, it surprised me that Cairo-media city's lacked such touches. Still, the location is superb.
And oh, the door lock was damaged!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for your honest feed back and we truly regret if we were not able to meet your expectations in any way. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we take all comments very seriously to improve our services in the best way possible. Unfortunately we were not successful in making your stay with us more memorable, and for that we truly apologize and promise that we will take the most appropriate action to your satisfaction. Once again please accept our sincere apologies and all we wish for is for another chance to try to change this experience. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the most luxurious of the so-called five star accommodations that I stayed in during my Christmas holiday trip to Egypt. The room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was roomy and contained all the necessary appliances and appurtenances which in Egypt apparently includes a bidet. The cleanliness level was high and there were none of the issues that I found disturbing in the other hotels such as curtains that didn't fully close, loose window locks, and a lack of tissues in either the room or bathroom.
It is important to note that many rooms are located in detached buildings that are extend a considerable distance from the main building which itself has no markedly different features to distinguish it from the others in either architectural or color scheme, meaning that one could easily get disoriented and wander off in the opposite direction of where one intended. This is not a crucial issue as the grounds are attractive and wandering about is quite pleasant but if for some reason you were in a hurry to be at a designated location at a certain time, then you might find yourself falling behind schedule with whatever consequences that might entail.
All in all it was lovely, seemed a long way from anywhere and had none of the hustle and bustle of a big city. The food was good although not spectacular. I don't advise a visit to the casino, which is limited to those with foreign passports that are checked, as the only thing more depressing than a casino filled with manic gamblers is a casino with dealers and croupiers at the ready and not a single player.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in one of the closer villas. It wasn't too important in the winter but in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moniker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for your honest feed back and we truly regret if we were not able to meet your expectations in any way. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we take all comments very seriously to improve our services in the best way possible. Unfortunately we were not successful in making your stay with us more memorable, and for that we truly apologize. Once again please accept our sincere apologies and all we wish for is for another chance to try to change this experience. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The person anywhere in disperete need to the hospitality ,the warm smile anywhere & the readiness for help because the stresses all around us make the people very agressive, selfish ,depressed & unhelpful . So if you want to take off from all these , you have to find a place where you can find what do you miss. Really I found these in the hotel starting from the reception team during the check in , the housekeeping ,the workers in the fitness department ,the waiters & their supervisors in the restaurants till the check out . I can' t the delicious taste of different meals which is well known in Movenpick generally.
Continue this warm HOSPITALITY

Room Tip: A room in front of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hala_din
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for giving us the chance of serving you. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we are delighted to know that we took part of your good memories while staying with us. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel definitely requires its star ratings re-checked. Reception staff were less than helpful and were ignorant even when approaching them. Restaurant staff were also complacent, plates were usually not cleared from tables soon enough and hot beverages not served except when requested. However, Concierge and porters were great at greetings upon arrival.

I stayed on 3 different occasions within a 2 week period and had 3 different rooms (Rooms 12006, 12012 & 12112). The larger the room number, the further it is from the Main Reception building. Rooms 12006 & 12112 were non-carpeted, has less bulky furniture, seem cleaner and most importantly fewer mosquitoes.

WARNING: During each occasion, there are at least 10 mosquitoes in each room. I even heard of another room with people killing up to 20 mosquitoes a night.

Location access of the hotel is rather remote with almost zero chances of getting your own taxi. However, you may rely on the hotel's appointed taxi service which charges "tourist-ty" prices.

Despite the bad experiences of the rooms, I applaud the chefs in the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast and Themed Dinner buffets are great.

Room Tip: There are some slightly newer rooms that are not carpet-ed which seem cleaner and brighter. Carpeted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neo2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for your honest feed back and we truly regret if we were not able to meet your expectations in any way. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we take all comments very seriously to improve our services in the best way possible. Unfortunately we were not successful in making your stay with us more memorable, and for that we truly apologize. Once again please accept our sincere apologies and all we wish for is for another chance to try to change this experience. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 30th December to the 4th January. We were two ladies on holiday to see the local sites. The hotel was large with great outside swimming pools (too cold for this time of year. ) The room was large and good. The bathroom was more a 3 Star than a 5. The staff were very helpful. The food was great- a large choice of breakfast and if you were in for dinner for £15 you could have a buffet, starter, main and dessert. There is always a chef on and will cook fresh food for you. I am vegetarian and this was no problem for them.

We chose this hotel because of the location- it is about 20-30 min outside of the busy city. But we traveled in daily to visit sites and museaums. We liked coming to a quieter hotel after the city to relax, read and enjoy the sun.

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking room- over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina S, Guest Relations Manager at Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Warm Greetings from Moevenpick Hotel & Casino Cairo Media-City.

I would like to express our greatest appreciation for giving us the chance of serving you. Please be sure that each guest’s opinion is very valuable to us and we are delighted to know that we took part of your good memories while staying with us. Thank you very much for your attention and loyalty to Moevenpick Hotels and please know that it is an honor for us to have such wonderful guests as yourself. We look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future and please be sure that we will take all measures to insure your satisfaction at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked this hotel for 2 nights.

Staff were excellent - Very helpful and attentitive.

I was shown to my room just a short walk from the reception area. The room was large, very clean, same with the bathroom. The food served in the restaurant was good.

The slightly annoying thing in this hotel was internet. The internet is chargeable - This is quite rare in hotels these days, also the wifi coverage in my room was very poor.

I would recommend this hotel for families with children who would enjoy the pool. The main city of Cairo is just a 30 minute drive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
6.8 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,663 reviews
9.6 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
7.2 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
695 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City

Address: 6th Of October District, Giza 12451, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Giza
#6 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#6 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Business Hotel in Giza
#10 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $81 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the land of Pharoahs. Situated in a green setting outside the city centre of Cairo, the Mövenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City is an idealic oasis for business executives and visitors to the nearby pyramids of Giza and the film studios. The most popular casino in the area is open 24 hours. Also, we provide a relaxing atmosphere for families with small children with the availabilty of our kids club, available during the day time. Also our valued guests can enjoy our Tennis and Football courts available for their fitness needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Giza
Movenpick Hotel Cairo-Media City Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing