We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,002)
Filter reviews
2,003 results
Traveler rating
1,235
522
140
53
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,235
522
140
53
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantold palacegarden winghistoric hotelhunting lodgemoghul roompyramid viewmontgomery suitegreat pyramidalfredomain buildingnew wingkhan el khalilimemphis toursno wifi in the roomsfelt very safean oasis
Filter
Updating list...
1,021 - 1,026 of 2,003 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

Historical old hotel, however don't kid yourself it's by no means 5 star any well heeled traveller would expect.
However it's a sanctuary, passed an enclosed security zone. Leaving behind mayhem and street chaos I've never experienced anywhere else.
Rooms are spacious and they don't like guys sharing a bed hehe, enough said.
However breakfast is well laid out and service is polite friendly and prompt.
The main rooms are in a part of the hotel that was built later and seems left in an unfinished state due to a lack of funds.
Poolside is very relaxing, however limited stock of imported spirits.
General problem of Cairo.
Hotel organised a private driver who took us around as many of the various sites we could possibly fit in, in 2 days.
Not only was he brilliant, he took care to watch out for and advise what to be careful of.
Plenty of which I will chat about in my other reviews.
Back to the hotel. Scroll through my photos of the streets and you'll understand why I call this hotel a sanctuary.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed in the new wing for 3 nights with Pyramid view. Splendid! We strolled over to the Pyramids, no guide. They try to arrange guided tours - not necessary. We spent 5 hours wandering around there without any hassles. We ate twice in the Indian restaurant and once in the Arabian restaurant - both excellent without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Go for the new wing with Pyramid view. These rooms are quiet and much cheaper than the old wing.
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Normi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2015

What a fabulous hotel! the pyramids in the background. The food is very good. Beds are not comfortable though. Service is excellent! Wifi is available in the lobby; not in the rooms. The pool is very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms viewing the pyramids!
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

The grounds of this hotel are lovely and well kept. The rooms were clean . There were 4 restaurants on the premise which we ate at- no need to go out of the complex. We had Egyptian food twice- great mezzas and one night of Egyptian food.The breakfast buffett was satisfying.
As other reviewers have stated be sure to bring euro coins or dollar bills for the individual showing you to your room, the porter and housekeeping which all came in quick succession upon our arrival. We stayed in a newer room with a view of the pyramid however I expected an Indian style room with charm.Staff will show you original suites that hosted famous guests- but once again be prepared to tip.The hotel lobby is busy and the internet is better in the newer lobby.No internet in the rooms. The gym was nice- the young women working there was very pleasant. It is open from 8-6 daily.

The pool was huge and very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Marriott Mena House, Cairo, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.
Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you

Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

We were in the pyramid view new wing, great views. Check-in was a bit slow despite already having reservations and being the only ones checking in at the time (they had to do two runs to find available rooms???)... Was placed on first floor... Didn't want to switch rooms again later since we were only there one night. Breakfast was buffet and it was OK.
Check out however was fast and pain-free.
Wifi was slowww and so many people sitting in the lobby trying to use it.
Overall good place to stay for one night. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews