We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple the best hotel in Cairo”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This review is a little late, better late than never, huh? I was at the Mean House Hotel back in the first week in April, 2014. In all honesty, I would have never booked this hotel in a thousand years. Memphis Tours booked it for me. My guess is Memphis Tours has a special rate with the Mean House. I'm so glad they did book a room for me, thanks to Memphis Tours I enjoyed an experience that I'll never forget. My room had a view of the Pyramids, at night I could see some of the evening's light show, beautiful. Do a tour of the place, it's a architectural wonder, just beautiful.

The history of the hotel is an amazing story unto itself, the Cairo and Tehran conference in 1943. The guests who have stayed at the Mean House is regular Who's Who of world known personalities. All of that aside, the rooms, the service, the restaurants, an unbelievable good breakfast, loaded with too many items to choose from and also, made to order eggs any style you want.

I think the greatest surprise was the Egyptian people themselves. Honest and truly good hearted people, not a fake face they put on for the tourists. I was having problems getting cash from an ATM, one of waiters or caretakers offered to lend me some money, and he wasn't joking, he was for real. You will not regret your stay at the Mean House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butchiephoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Mr. butchiephoo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Mena House on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments Our endeavor is to ensure that all our guests needs are well looked after and they have a memorable time with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

CRAZY prices for a nice hotel , it is nice but too expensive .. with the money you pay to this hotel you can have a stay in another nice hotel and the only thing that will be missing is seeing the pyramids through your windows

1  Thank melfaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

You will get no better view from a hotel than the one a pyramid facing room gives at the mena house hotel, a real mix of modern meets old. The food was excellent, the staff could'nt be more helpful and friendly, all in all, a wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrjolly1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Ms. Mrjolly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Mena House on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments Our endeavor is to ensure that all our guests needs are well looked after and they have a memorable time with us.

I am happy to read that we exceeded most of your expectations and my team joins me in welcoming you back to Mena House Hotel.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Excellent rooms, food and amenities.
Friendly staff .

stayed here with my family and I was impressed with the hospitality of the staff and location of the place itself.

Will I stay again...YES definitely!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank RK-Kaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Fox,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.
Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's classy, timeless and you can still feel a touch of the colonial flair of yesteryear, when it was visited by the likes of Prince Albert and Winston Churchill. Definitely ask for a room with pyramid view, and a balcony. If you are lucky, you can even see a light show at the pyramid, when it gets dark, because you are so close by.

Walk the grounds of the hotel, it's quite a paradise in the desert. Also eat at the Indian restaurant inside the hotel, it's one of the best, we thought the Vindaloo dish was delightfully spicy! Check out the old fashion bar with old guns hanging on the wall used for hunting over 100 years ago.

Trust the concierge for all your activities, they are knowledgeable and friendly. Just remember to tip, like getting thru the rest of Egypt.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a direct view of the pyramid, not a side view when you are standing on the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Mr. Canberto,
Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Such words of motivation for the entire team will only help us to strive for excellence.

I am delighted to read that you found services all across the hotel exceptional and we were able to look after you with great care. These words coming from a well travelled guest like yourself will definitely help all our team members to give more than their 100%.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.
Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Good stay but could be so much better.

Love the old Mena House, it's proud stature in all it's glory. Twinkling lattern lights to sights of the pyramid. Staff were attentive and friendly.
Rooms are large and bathroom are of a decent size too. Splendid hallways with sofas & chairs & tables littered & decorated all over the hallways of the hotel.
The hotel isn't full like most places that we had been in Egypt. It is a difficult time in Egypt at the moment. The lounge bar isn't a Thai restaurant anymore just serving Thai spring rolls. The breakfast spread is pretty amazing. The international restaurant & in room dining serves pretty good food.
It's a good hotel but not great but probably the best hotel on Cairo.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank PrimroseHill219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Mrs. Hill,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The views from Mena House of the pyramids at Giza is amazing. If this is the main reason for your visit then what better than to watch the light show from the comfort of your room and look out at the same view as the sun comes up. Good choice of restaurants so you don't have to leave the secure grounds at night. Lovely sense of the building's Colonial past.
Yes, it is a bit tired in places but the faded grandeur is appealing in itself.
I agree with other reviewers that wi fi was limited but this seemed to be the norm in many parts of Africa

Stayed: September 2013
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Keys,


Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
686 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
1.0 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range: $140 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing