We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See pyramid from your room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“See pyramid from your room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed at the Mena house while visiting Egypt. Our stay was perfect. The rooms are very nice and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast every morning while looking to the pyramid. We were greeted with a welcome drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    380
    89
    27
    21
See reviews for
292
515
130
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Walking in, I felt like I was home. The staff was overwhelmingly kind and gracious. The room was spotless and it had a nice large bathroom. In the bar/restaurant was a beautiful view of the great pyramids. What a joy. I love their hand cream, I even asked for more when checking out. I have used it all up. If anyone is planning on going I would love another bottle!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captvikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Captvikki ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Mena House on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments Our endeavor is to ensure that all our guests needs are well looked after and they have a memorable time with us.

I am happy to read that we exceeded most of your expectations and my team joins me in welcoming you back to Mena House Hotel
Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed in Mena House for 3 nights last week and it far surpassed my expectations! I'll keep it short and sweet:

We took a pyramid view room and it was amazing! The room was large with a small sofa and a balcony too. The hotel itself is beautiful and inside a gated area, the staff is wonderful. They even have a bank inside the hotel just in case you need an ATM or have to convert money. The only minor flaw was no Wifi unless you pay for it, but hey you're here to see the Pyramids, not look at your phone right!?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Rahul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Mena House on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments Our endeavor is to ensure that all our guests needs are well looked after and they have a memorable time with us.

I am happy to read that we exceeded most of your expectations and my team joins me in welcoming you back to Mena House Hotel
Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Mena House Hotel. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and the hotel made a special cake for us and sent it to our room which was a lovely surprise. This is our second stay at the Mena House. The rooms are very clean and modern and the hotel itself is beautiful and unique. The staff are exceptional and are always very helpful, polite and friendly. Mena House Hotel remains our favourite hotel in Cairo. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhandNour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mrs. Nour,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Such words of motivation for the entire team will only help us to strive for excellence.

I am delighted to read that you found services all across the hotel exceptional and we were able to look after you with great care. These words coming from a well travelled guest like yourself will definitely help all our team members to give more than their 100%.

We look forward to welcome you back at our palace at the pyramids
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Hotel set on the right side for the pyramids, offers a service from a bygone era. The new rooms are simply superb. Room 496 suite on the third floor offers unparalleled views of the pyramids. Having been closed due to a strike for 15 days we were the first too arrive. We were welcomed by all staff, who were at our beck and call 24/7. Worth the visit.

Room Tip: For two rooms take 494 and 496.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_C433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Marc,


Thank you so much for taking the time to write about Mena House on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments Our endeavor is to ensure that all our guests needs are well looked after and they have a memorable time with us.

I am happy to read that we exceeded most of your expectations and my team joins me in welcoming you back to Mena House Hotel
Thank you

Tarek Lotfy
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAIRO,ALEXANDRIA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

the strike just finished today as the government solved their problems so they return back to serve at the hotel but the problem was that obroi chain left the hotel as they refused to pay to the government which owns the hotel and they are looking now for new company who accept to be the new director of the hotel after oberoi.

Room Tip: the palace rooms more larger the swimming view rooms are so nice the south side rooms are more qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FATIMA-SOLIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MenaHouse1869, Director of Sales at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
The management of Mena House Hotel, is glad to announce that the hotel is now back to full operation and we look forward to welcome our guests.
For reservations, please call Mena House Hotel
Telephone 0020 2 33773222
E-mail reservatinos@menahousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

BIG BUMMER!! My husband and I showed up for our 1 night stay at the Mena House on Saturday April 19th only to be greeted by security who would not let us through the gates because all workers are currently on strike. We were lucky enough to find a room at the nearby Moevenpick, however please DO NOT BOOK THE MENA HOUSE HOTEL at the moment until this strike is sorted. We had no idea and luckily we had a driver who spoke Arabic, found out what was going on and quickly found us an alternative. I'm sure The Mena House is an otherwise lovely place to stay but for NOW, look elsewhere. On another note, the pyramids and Cairo are worth the visit so don't let this hotel strike defer your visit; there are other choices nearby if staying near the pyramids is important to you. My advice is to visit Cairo NOW! Few tourists, amazing history, wonderful people and delicious food.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank marcia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
0.8 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
7.4 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
7.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing