We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zabojad Exploring Egypt”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Altorf, France
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Zabojad Exploring Egypt”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Mena House Hotel is among Zabojad Favourite Hotels in the World. Zabojad was visiting the Pyramids and appreciated the night light show. His stop became marvelous besides the exceptionnal sigths of Pyramids due to the Hotel Services, View and Taxi Driver Salah. My Stay in Egypt will be engraved in my memory for a lifetime after staying a Mena House Hotel.
Perfect and Highly recommended to anyone visiting the Pyramids !
Happy Sharing-Happy Inside

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frederic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    412
    104
    30
    26
See reviews for
336
560
145
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newberg
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent our last night in Egypt here after touring the Giza plateau. We did get a room in the older part of the hotel which is gorgeous and opulent and no hotel in Cairo can beat the view. The staff is kind; we had a good drink in the bar. The owner of the jewelry store showed me the marble cooling hallway and gave us a good dinner recommendations as we wanted to eat on the Nile. Wish I had more time to choose something beautiful from his wares. The restaurants on the facilitiies are highly rated as well but we only had the one night. Easy check out.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acooley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We originally had two rooms booked for our family in the newer building at the hotel but after eating lunch in the palace we opted to upgrade to rooms with balconies overlooking the pyramids in the palace. Cannot imagine a better way to wake up and go to sleep than with a view of the pyramids. Daily treat of fresh flowers and sweets in our room. And a rare thing...actual brass KEYS to our rooms instead of a card! Hotel also arranged our driver, Medhat. HE WAS AMAZING!!! We got to see and experience more than we could have imagined and never felt unsafe. Everywhere that we went, people were very welcoming of our blonde American family!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justgyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a beautiful view. It's fit for royalty and from what we know royalty do stay there, not surprisingly. I has a great location by the pyramids especially if you are aiming to see the sunrise at the pyramids. Service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falasafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libreville, Gabon
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and, during better times, would make for an excellent retreat within the Cairo metropolitan area. When I was there it was VERY empty, with some construction ongoing, but the level of service was still quite high. Multiple excellent restaurants are on site and you can't beat the view!

Room Tip: A pyramid view is, in my opinion, definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Me and my wife had great 2 nights in this amazing historical hotel, double room with 1 king size bed, BB base. the view in front of the Pyramids was great, all in all room was clean and good enough for us. Service was very good, food quality amazing, food and beverages in the breakfast was poor comparing to a 5 stars hotel. we didn’t try the pool as it was raining, employees were striking because of a problem with the hotel owner but to be honest and fair we didn’t feel any problem because of that.
hotel is very close from the Pyramids, you only need to walk "in group" for 100 M.
i might go again if i have time.

Room Tip: choose room in the 2nd floor main building in front of Pyramids, room 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mena House hotel in a Pyramid facing room. The hotel is exquisite, the rooms are spacious, comfortable bed, decent sized bathroom and furnished beautifully. Overlooking the pyramids sets the scene of this hotel. It is quiet, you feel in your own world in the hotel as it is crazy out in the street. The only disappointment with the hotel was the food in the main restaurant overlooking the pyramids. The restaurant located near the pool the food is very good but only open during the day.
We would recommend this as the place to stay when in Egypt.

Room Tip: Ask for a pyramid facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
652 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing