We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome view of the pyramid”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awesome view of the pyramid”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Well appointed hotel in Giza Egypt. Nice clean bathrooms soft linens and very sumptuous breakfast included in our booking. We really got a very good deal with our tour company.Prominent dignataries stayed in this hotel. They really care about the safety of their guests cause in the evening they close the main gate and no one could enter unless you are booked with them. And when you wake up in the morning you will see the pyramid by your window. Good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emeraldprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    407
    102
    30
    23
See reviews for
319
554
138
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was warmly welcomed to this unique hotel. The hotel is lovely with panels of carved wood, arabesque, everywhere. I was given a beautiful, large suite, with an amazing view of the Pyramids. It was like waking up in a dream looking from my balcony at the Pyramids in the hazy distance. The staff was helpful and very kind. They really did everything to make my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujub1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent service at The Mena House. The staff are great and you could not ask for anything better. The hotel itself is amazing, steeped in history with all the modern comforts you could wish for. I strongly recommend for International travelers.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean, luxurious , for budget travelers it is advisable to select a pyramids view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gamal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic history - changing from royal lodge house to hotel in 1886 and hosting guests as esteemed as Sir Winston Churchill and Field Marshall Montgomery - but, if possible, it is better today. We spent 3 nights in this gorgeous hotel at the end of our 2 week honeymoon touring Egypt. Now, it may sound like we can afford such luxuries easily, but we really can't. Our honeymoon was definatly a one-off extravagence. We booked over a year in advance and managed to get our room (originally a gardenview room) for less than £300 for the whole stay, so there are deals to be had if you go slightly out of season.
We arrived at this gloriously decadent hotel and once we had ripped our eyes from the magnificent view of the Great Pyramid (the base of which is 700m from the hotel's front door!!), we were in awe of the decor - which includes a 3m wide chandlier over the outside of the front entrance, a cushioned ceiling-ed bar and enough marble to sink a thousand ships.
The staff were beyond fantastic. Even the security guards were welcoming and our receptionist was ready to tend to our every need. As it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a Pyramid view room (and they aren't kidding! It towers over the main hotel building, but the rooms are slightly tot he side, so nothing is obscured) and we were given a greeting 'suprise' or free champagne, a table centre of roses and a 'honeymoon cake' - 3 layers of differing chocolate moose!
The food in general was great - the selection second to none, both during meal times and for room service - however, the prices were at a level that befitted the hotel - although it was totally worth it!
The 40acres of gardens are immaculatly kept and are eqipped with a pool (the largest ourdoor in Cairo), croque lawn, bar, outdoor restaurant and so many fountains. To say this place is 5* is an understatment. We went out of season, so the place was about 1/2 full, but we still felt like we were the only guests. To give you a taste of just how good the staff are here, take one of the lowest positions - the towel man at the pool. As soon as you arrive he sets up a pair of loungers (with the parasol positioned to your liking), takes any drinks or food orders and then goes back to his station. On our final afternoon we witnessed his devotion to his job. A german gentleman came to the pool and got the same treatment, then dived in for a swim. When he got out it obvisouly dried himself with his towel - before he turned back around, a dry towel was laid across his lounger and the man offered to take away his wet one. Over the next hour the same gentleman went for severeal little swims and everytime he got the same - in the end we even started to just dive in and get back out to test the man, but he showed no change in smiley, attentive attitude. Another example, whilst just wondering around and exploring the main, older part of the hotel during one afternoon, the 'room manager' (as his name badge proclaimed), stopped to ask if we needed anything. On learning we were exploring, he whisked us away down a quiet hallway and unlocked possibly the most gorgeous room I have ever been in. The suite, complete with 2 bathrooms, it's own drawing room and a private balcony with a prime view of all 3 pyramids, was the room Churchill always stayed in during his visits to Africa. He showed off what we later learned was the most expensive suite in Cairo with quiet pride and let us roam around (supervised of course). He then ushered us down an even deeper hallway, to the room saved for Field Marshall Montgomery - decorated with sumptuous cushions and possibly the best bed head I've ever seen (a 2m high, gold plated sunrise) and an even better balcony than Churchill got. We'd never have been able to afford these rooms, but as no-one was using them the man was proud to show us there best rooms. As we exited, he grinned and directed us down towards the main level and continued his work.
Every member of staff we encountered was fantastic - from the waiting staff in all 4 restaurants (especailly the hilarious maitre d' of the indian restaurant) to the room service crew were full of smiles, 'good days', helpful advise and a quiet manner. They made our stay complete.
In overview, the facilities are top-notch (pool, spa, gym, more eateries than your average small town and gorgeous grounds), the staff are beyond wonderful (even at 2am) and the setting coundn't be better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The gardens are beautiful but if you can afford it, pay out the little extra for the pyramid view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We only overnighted at the Mena House, but had wished we'd had the opportunity to stay longer. We were on a cruise that visited Port Said and then Alexandria and rather than the 3 hour shlep back and forth to the ship we decided to stay overnight. The hotel has a great history and it is wonderful to wander through the older section of the hotel, it harks back to a more romantic era. The accommodation is good and very clean. We opted for a "pyramid view" room and were not disappointed. It is a great location for the Pyramids and Sphinx, as well as easy access for the Light and Sound show in the evenings. The hotel pool is enormous and in a lovely setting. Breakfast was HUGE and all you could want. We booked with Alex City Travel and they organised it all for us! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Go for the pyramid view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LasolasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just returned with my family from our second visit to the Mena House Hotel within the past 12 months. The minute you step into this unique, historical hotel you are blown away! The lobby and reception areas are simply 'stunning!'

We stayed in the Palace Suites for a few nights with our two children, aged 11 and 7 years. The rooms are luxurious, spacious and immaculate, but the best bit was the spectacular view of the pyramids from our balcony - 'Breath-taking'. The more modern rooms surrounding the massive outdoor pool area are also lovely, with exceptionally beautiful well-maintained gardens. The pool area is spotless. With an amazing poolside service, fresh towels and comfy sunbeds.

The staff are all very friendly and attentive and make you feel very special. There is always someone available to help and they all speak excellent English.

Something for everyone for breakfast and the staff cannot be more accommodating, offering omelettes and poached/boiled eggs. Due to us leaving at 4:30am to catch our flight home, the concierge made up a take away breakfast selection for us all. We ate in the main restaurant and in the Indian restaurant. We were not disappointed - very tasty and as usual an amazing service.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel to everyone. We have already booked our next stay at the Mena House Hotel for August and we can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clontarf, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent service at The Mena House. The staff were great and you could not ask for anything better. Location of The Mena House was perfect. The history of this house is so amazing. They have a gallery of photos of when it was established and visitors who have stayed here in the 1920's. You must see the old part of The Mena House, with antique furniture and of course more photos. Even though I stayed here for 5 days, I was treated First Class everyday. I recommend staying at The Mena House when you visit Egypt .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
632 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing