We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very impressive hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time here. The service is exemplary, the rooms clean and well-appointed (ours had lovely views of the pyramids) and the main restaurant is just stunning in every way. The quality of the food at breakfast was as good as anywhere I've ever eaten. One evening we ate in the Indian restaurant - very, very good - and otherwise in the main restaurant which has a good variety of choice. We all loved feeling very pampered by the amazingly experienced front of house team.

We would return to Cairo simply to stay here again -it was that good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotsofkids48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    395
    96
    29
    23
See reviews for
307
533
136
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for a few days before doing a Nile Cruise. The setting is superb with views over the pyramids. The staff are friendly and helpful.Food is very good with a main course costing between approximately £12 and £16. Drinks were more expensive with a beer costing £5 and a coke £2.20. However a complimentary bottle of water for each person is placed in the room each morning. My mother is coeliac and cannot eat gluten and the staff made her gluten free bread for breakfast. It was our wedding anniversary and they made us a beautiful cake. The hotel has towels by the pool so you don't need to take your own. We had two children with us who both loved it too, especially the Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: It is lovely to get a room with pyramds views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The lobby is stunning, like an early 20th Century movie set. The bar overlooks a pyramid. How cool is that to sit at the bar sipping a beer and looking at a pyramid? Plus, the bar had awesome service. Definitely five star. Very efficient and helpful. And the beer came with snacks, very tasty snacks. Nice service, reasonable price (I came from Sweden, very reasonable by Swedish standards).

The customer service interface is excellent. Seemed as if they wanted to take care of everything...but not so much. When I missed the historic tour time while I was checking in, they told me they would set me up an individual tour, which never happened. The front desk said that the pool closed at 5 because of the light, but it was open when I went down and stayed open until sunset, an hour later. Finally, I wanted to buy a 30 minute internet code. Wanted to upload some pics and take care of a quick business issue. After hunting around, they didn't have any 30 minute sessions to sell me and told me I would have to buy a whole day. Really? A five-star hotel sells the whole day for the price of the 30 minute to satisfy the customer. Very lame.

Rooms were very nice. Clean, comfortable, well maintained.

The pool is BEAUTIFUL. Definitely worth a plunge, especially after a long ,hot, dusty day.

The hotel has five star, definitely with gorgeous lobby, but the customer service needs to actually follow through to a five star level.

Would I stay there again? Absolutely! Loved it and highly recommend it. Can't beat the view or the service at the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB6Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow, We were impressed from our room with a few of the pyramids to the halls with so much history. We had a giant room with a porch that faced the pyramids and Giza's wonders. It was the last stop of a two week trip that went from Alexandria to Aswan. We rested up there dinning of the local restaurants that the old palace had to offer. A great variety to choose from nightly with the traditional and best looking belly dancers around if you chose that restaurant. Or you can get fresh pasta at the more american style restaurant with alcohol of course order the high end or it will be a little watery.
The security is tight and you are real safe on the grounds of the hotel and golf course. The course is manicured nicely and is a great place to relax you have to pinch yourself to realize your golfing under the Pyramids and the Spinx. That will stay with me forever along with the sights and sounds I've taken from such an exciting crowded place. Nice place to escape Cairo.

Room Tip: Old part of the palace or view of pyramids from new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

You will never stay in a better hotel, service and attention to detail is second to none.
The rooms are first class, the food is great. Attention to detail is excellent. Pool is giant and the bar service at the pool is fast and attentive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice hotel with the best accomodations. Beautiful and elegant.
Very nice restaurants and the best service. You can see the piramids right there from the hotel... you are right beside them!!
We had a wonderful stay...

Room Tip: I would ask to have the pyramids view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeciliaG668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The history of the Mena House, kings of Egypt, and many European countries, Montgomery and Churchill, Carter, Begin and Sadat, and recently Obama, flows through the old palace. The rooms and halls full of antiques, lit by lamps weighing tonnes, with yellow bulbs from two centuries ago whisper tales of ghosts, famous and private, come to share the magic of the pharaohs, long buried in the pyramids, so close you want to reach from your balcony to touch them.
We visited because my wife had promised her father to stay there, he having praised it as a decadent haven from his intercontinental travels.
The view from the bedroom (specify pyramid view, or one in the palace, if you can afford it), on your first morning is just jaw dropping, two pyramids rising in the early light.
There should be more than the two restaurants open in the main palace. But sadly there are too few visitors. Enjoy the mixed Egyptian/international breakfast buffet - try the Egyptian dishes, some were wonderful, and there is always far too much fresh fruit. The 24hr international restaurant has a fine variety, with daily specials. The smaller Indian restaurant has a short but interesting menu, well realised. Both have keen enthusiastic attentive staff, keen and interested to serve, seemingly from a time long gone, but with a modern humour. One little example, at breakfast one day I had scuffed my heel, and left my sandals under the table, going barefoot to choose a plate of fruit; by the time I returned to the table a waitress was waiting with ice in a napkin for my heel.
The modern pool in the garden is a haven within the haven, but with noises of Giza in the distance, a reminder of the contrast between the peace of the Mena House, and the everyday lives of millions of Egyptians. Service is just as keen, and discrete.
There are some new event venues for weddings and functions, with a glorious mirror pool for photo opps, with the great pyramid reflecting in the water behind you, great wedding shot,or even a honeymoon shot.
The surrounding streets, and the pyramids, are sadly not now places for unaccompanied visitors, who will be pestered incessantly. It seems a guide, and any local companion, acts as "owner", whose rights will not be challenged.
March is a good time of year to visit, although as Europe froze in the late snows, the temperature soared into the 30s.
Our guide Yasser was hugely informative, with a masters in history, and a great curiosity about values and politics in the UK and Europe, and a fine photographer of his clients in front of various famous scenes.
Egypt is suffering, and desperate for visitors. We never saw a hint of trouble.
Just do it! Go for a few days. Chill, luxuriate. You won't regret it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuff_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing