We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed in the Garden wing so had a view across the gardens to the pyramids; couldn't see them when we arrived at night, but there they were in the morning! Breakfast is in the beautifully decorated dining room, and is one of the best selections of breakfast food I've seen - the stewed fava beans (called Foul, but not tasting foul!) are typically Egyptian and quite delicious (make sure you add all the accompaniments to it for the full experience). Staff were friendly and helpful, and our evening meal in the Moghul Room Indian restaurant was superb.

I've read some negative reviews about the rooms, but this certainly wasn't our experience. The tea/coffee making facilities were some of the most intelligent I'd seen (no need to plug the kettle in at a spare socket in the room - it was already wired in to the little shelf in the unit), and every time I thought I could do with this or that, it was there in the room. Good shower and bathroom too. Couldn't fault the place and would very happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Pyramid view rooms in the Garden Wing have great views; a 5 minute walk from the main hotel building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saesnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    407
    102
    30
    23
See reviews for
319
554
138
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can't understand the negative comments about this hotel - we found it to be excellent. The location cannot be faulted if your travel target is the Giza pyramids - there is an excellent view of them from many of the rooms (see photo). We also found the standard to be high and the service faultless. The change of management at the beginning of 2013 (from Oberoi to the Egypt Tourist Board) might eventually lead to a fall in quality, but there is no sign of this yet. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed here for three nights at the start of our Egypt trip, using one day to see Cairo and one for the Giza pyramids, Memphis and Sakkara. Our local guide was apologetic about Memphis and Sakkara, saying that she didn't know why we wanted to visit them as "there is nothing here." It is true that compared with other Egyptian sites there is not a lot to see - just the reclining statue of Ramses II and the alabaster sphinx ar Memphis and the necropolis and the stepped pyramid of Zoser at Sakkara - but there is a lot of history here. However, if your time is limited, restrict yourself to Giza. Our day in Cairo took in the Egyptian Museum, the Citadel and the Mohamed Ali Mosque, and the Khan El Khalili Bazaar. I suppose the Museum is a "must-see," but to be honest, the others are not really anything special (and the traffic is horrendous!). Once the Museum moves out to Giza (project currently stalled because of the political uncertainty in Egypt) there will be little reason, in our view, to include Cairo in your itinerary. When that project has been completed, my advice would certainly be to stay at the Mena House Hotel and cut out Cairo altogether.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pyramids
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel.. but the staff seems bias to asians, giving big spacious tables to caucasians/arabs while family of 5 were stuck in small table for 4.. big spacious rooms with beautiful view of pyramids..

Room Tip: facing pyramids,, all rooms are great facing pyramids..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Mena House in early February for 3 nights, in a third floor room of the Garden wing - with the best view of the Pyramids any traveller could wish for. The room was spacious, with comfortable beds, clean and very quiet. It overlooked the lovely gardens and ornamental pools. Staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. One evening at dinner, on our wedding anniversary, the staff presented us with a chocolate cake to share with our travel companions. They sang and danced around us, so that make it a very special celebration - thanks to our tour leader for organising that for us, and to the hotel staff. We enjoyed the food at two of the restaurants, and how lucky to have breakfast while watching the morning light over the Pyramids!
If you stay in the Garden wing there is a short walk through the gardens to the main hotel building where the restaurants are located, and there is no cover if it is raining or cold. For those with any problems with walking there is a very cheerful fellow from the staff who offers a lift on a golf buggy type vehicle.
Agree with other reviewers that this is a wonderful hotel in a very special location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erskine10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night in this hotel on business trip combined with some sightseeing. The location is brilliant, there is no hotel closer to the pyramids. The rest was pretty average. My room was spacious and clean, but the interior appeared pretty worn out and had the standard of a good Europen 3 star hotel. Some of my colleagues had updated rooms which were nicer, but the black hardwood floors reveal pretty quickly wether those have been wiped recently or not - hence the average rating for cleanliness. There was nothing wrong with my room, but nothing really special about it either, especially if you think about the Oberoi name tag and the room price. The garden and pool were ok. If u can, try and get a room with the view on the pyramids, this should be quite enjoyable and is probably a good compensation for the other shortcomings. Breakfast was really poor, one of those buffets where you stick to toast, jam and butter. If I would ever go back to see the pyramids, no doubt I would stay here again simply due to lack of alternatives, but in my opinion it is quite a bit away from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fusentaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you go to Cairo (Giza) and would like to see the Pyramids, this is the best place to stay at. It is a luxury well worth the money spent. Unfortunately, in the past couple of years, order and provisions of a civil society has weakened around tourist sites, specially in the Pyramids area. The vendors, horse drivers and camel drives freely roam around looking for the next victim. To get away from all of that and get into the sanctuary of this hotel complex is a real transformation and pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank West Vancouverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel, having perviously stayed there a few years ago. It is still wonderful. We stayed in a pyramid view room which was just fabulous. we arrived at the hotel at 2am and so went straight to bed. Upon waking, we opened the curtains and saw a pyramid, and then, blow me, there was another one. My friend was totally astounded and thrilled, not only by the view but by the kindness of the staff.
The first night we ate in the Indian restaurant in the hotel and had the most delicious meal. The lovely waiters even took mine back because, despite them thinking it was a mild curry, my lips were on fire. They added something and brought it back and it was even better.
The following night we ate in the International restaurant and came across the nicest waiter ever.
I swam in the beautiful new pool at the back of the hotel. It is tiled with dark blue tiles that give it such a lovely, warm feel. The water was lovely, the towels big and plentiful and the banana split
gorgeous.
This hotel is so worth staying in. I can't wait to go back; it is luxury unadulterated and sooooo close to the pyramids it's ridiculous. You can walk to them from here.
Please, go and stay, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: A pyramid view room is quiet, overlooking the front of the hotel and 2 pyramids. A non pyramid view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camphillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
632 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing